Customer Reviews for

Heist Society (Heist Society Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 689 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(466)

4 Star

(135)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

posted by theReader278 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Had to give a star...

Skipped around wayyy to much and i had to reread parts of the book

posted by 11115994 on May 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Well...

    I borrowed this book from a friend and it was alright. I stopped reading it in the middle though cause it bored me but not a bad read. I don't quite recommend it. Hope this helps!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    Highly readable and quite fun

    It's a very easy read, and I loved the heist hijinks, but it wasn't extremely complex. It was kind of like one of those action movies where you kind of know what might happen, but you enjoy watching it unfold anyways.

    Overall, its a fun read for a young adult who enjoys a lighthearted crime tale with a female protagonist.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    nice read with a good plot

    nice read with a good plot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Rating: 4 The Low Down: Katarina ¿Kat¿ Bishop has decided to

    Rating: 4




    The Low Down: Katarina “Kat” Bishop has decided to leave the family business for high school. She wants to feel like the opposite of a thief, like a normal teen. Even though she has to create a backstory and scholastic history to get in, she is determined that will be the end of the dishonesty. However, only three months into her first term, she finds herself hauled in front of The Colgan School Honor Board for putting the headmaster’s Porsche on top of the school fountain. Which she absolutely didn’t do.




    Now Kat is at the closest thing she can call home, hearing that her father is in danger because of some paintings he stole. But when Kat finds out that there was no way he could have done it, she is determined to locate the paintings herself to prove it. The only thing that stands in her way is the thief they were stolen from and Visily Romani, the most notorious thief who doesn’t exactly exist.




    Best Thang ‘Bout It: This was kind of like Oceans 11 for the Young Adult set. Kat has a crew that she pulls together and they plan the most elaborate scheme to steal back some paintings. And these paintings, by famous artists, have been stolen themselves at least a couple of times prior to that.




    Kat’s conflict between wanting to experience a “normal” life and leading the life she has always led makes the story more than just your typical “caper” story. It adds depth to it.




    Ally Carter is one of those authors that I love to read because I know what I am going to get with her: lots of humor, a subject that’s interesting (thievery/art/organized crime this time), great characters, locales, twists and turns, and a bit of romance. They are by no means cookie-cutter stories like a Nancy Drew tale, but solid, exciting and inventive.




    I’m Cranky Because: I know this is a series, but the potential romance between Kat and Hale was VERY slow building. Maybe I am just being impatient. Harrumph.




    To Read or Not To Read: Absolutely.




    Heist Society by Ally Carter was published February 9, 2010 by Hyperion Book CH.




    Genre: Young Adult Fiction Thriller Romance Series
    Ages: 11 and up
    You Might Want to Know: Nothing of note

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Good read

    This is a very good book, but i still like her other series better. Ally is an amazing writer and she keeps you turning page after page into the late hours of the night. I would recomend this book!!! Especially if you are already an ally carter fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    This book is definitely fast paced. You better pick up on detail

    This book is definitely fast paced. You better pick up on details really fast if you do read this book. You may get confused at points but then it all straightens out. This is basically about young Katarina Bishop getting kicked out of her prep school because she was framed of a crime, though everybody else is unaware of the framing part, but she basically gets kicked out in order to help her father out because he is being accused of a crime he did not commit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Wow

    I really liked this book its the first one i bought for my new nook and i really enjoyed reading it!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    "Heist Society" Review from Nat

    This book was fast paced and exciting! It is a great book. Totally worth time and money. Recommended to fans of any spy books. It got a bit confusing at times but otherwise a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Very addicting

    So far I am really liking the series but want to see more developement with the characters like in the Gallagher books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Like a movie

    '

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    Reads like a movie!

    Was a very easy, very quick read. I felt like I was watching a heist movie like Oceans 11 or equivalent. Humor, mystery, intrigue, and just a small hint of romance to keep you turning the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Exciting

    Its good! O got this book not on the nook but at a book fair at my school and i think its the same but the one not on the nook is exciting and fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Haven't read it but...

    I have read the Gallagher Girls series and it was great. I think that it it a great book based on the sample.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    Heist Society- Correction!

    Sorry, the sequel is a "Uncommon Criminals" NOT "Uncommon Suspects"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Cute and Clever

    I took a step away from the genres I've been reading recently (paranormal and dystopian) to read something a little different.

    What I liked: 1) Hale's antics - he was really clever and always making me laugh. 2) Kat's crew of teenage...miscreants? Hooligans? I'm laughing just thinking about them all. You can't help but want to be a part of it! 3) I love books that make the bad guys the good guys. I mean, books shouldn't technically want to make you turn to a life of crime, although Kat's not "really" stealing...but I'd like to live this book. 4) The title and the cover are both really cute! 5) I liked how light the book was. It wasn't heavy on the emotional baggage, so it made it easy to understand, and enjoy.

    What I didn't like: 1) I really wanted more details. The heist was on a strict deadline so I understand why everything moved quickly, but the story felt a little rushed.

    Overall thoughts: This was kind of a teenage version of Ocean's Eleven. It was a fun, quick and easy read. I've got the next book, Uncommon Criminals on my TBR list, and I am planning on reading it pretty soon. Heist Society is definitely a nice book to break up your reading list if you are reading a lot of emotionally intense books! This is a fun series to get into, and I am looking forward to reading more about Kat and her future criminal activities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A very good read !!

    I enjoyed reading about Katarina Bishop's interesting family of thieves and how her courage and bravery helped her do the impossible of robbing a very famous art museum but not for personal gain which is what I admire about Kat. She is not the typical thief for personal greed which gives the reader a sense of respect for her. I recommend this book to people who enjoy movies such as Ocean's Eleven because its a great kicker especially from the viewpoint of tough girl such as Katarina Bishop herself !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Carter does a fantastic job pacing the story progression as well as the character development.

    When I went to the library last week, Heist Society was facing out on a bookshelf, screaming my name. So what does every good book nerd do? I checked it out.
    First of all, let's talk about the cover. The cover has a girl who looks very Audrey Hepburn a la Breakfast at Tiffany's. With knowing the synopsis of the book, well I was definitely intrigued.

    Carter tells the story of Katarina, Kat, Bishop. Kat is young at fifteen, trying to find herself in this large world, attempting to step away from the family business. Did I mention that her family business is thievery? She has enrolled herself into Colgan School, an all boy's elite private school that has opened their doors to females. Kat is the first, and with being accused of stealing the dean's car and expulsion, she may also be the last. Kat may be a thief, but she's not a petty thief.

    Enter Hale. Excuse me, I meant W. W. Hale the fifth. Hale has framed Kat, resulting in expulsion, to bring her back to the business that she was trying to get away from. Hale explains the nature and urgency of going back to the thief life - to save her father from one of the most dangerous men out there, Arturo Taccone. Taccone is accusing Kat's father of stealing priceless paintings from his own collection. This misunderstanding, added to a few complications, leaves the job to Kat.

    Did I say a few complications? Because I really meant many, multiple, tons, A LOT. With the help of Hale, Kat has built an unconventional society. Kat is a strong character and an interesting female lead. Kat is complex, brilliant, and also your average fifteen year old. She is like a puzzle that I want to figure out. She's a thief, but she has these morals. One thing is for sure, she is very loyal. It's mind-boggling to try to imagine how Carter came up with this character.

    Let's talk about Hale for a minute. He was also born into a not so normal family. Where Kat is used to a cunning life of stealing and stealth, Hale was born into a life of riches and luxury. Hale is a good balance to Kat's character. He may have been introduced into the life of thieving through Kat, but there is a great moral compass on him. Besides, he is Kat's knight in shining armor, which always adds an extra point to the dreamy male lead factor.

    Carter does a fantastic job pacing the story progression as well as the character development. Carter takes you through different parts of the world, following Kat on this world adventure. I felt the thrill of the chase of the clues, fearing for Kat's life when something would go amiss. I thought it was similar to the excitement that I got when I was watching Ocean's Eleven, except a young adult version.

    I loved this story so much that I went out and bought the sequel, Uncommon Criminals, the next day. My review on that will be posted soon.
    I definitely suggest this book. If you love adventure, world travel, and a touching young romance, this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Exciting Summer Read!

    This is an exceptional book that has some really great perspective on the life of thieves. It was fast-paced and well written, but lacks in character descriptions. The only character I could really picture in my mind was Gabrielle Bishop. A lot of things were left unsaid; Such as Hale's first name. Can't wait to read the sequel?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Good

    Not a lot of climax but it was fantastic anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    Meh

    It was pretty good but who does Kat end up with and who ends up being visily romani???? I also thought that this book was very confusing it kept jumping around it would have been better if written in first person i think. Overall pretty good would hav given it three and a half stars though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7