Customer Reviews for

Helen of Troy

Average Rating 4
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Ms. Harris' Honors English

'Helen Of Troy' was an outstanding book about the Spartan Princess, Helen. The book starts with her running away from Sparta with her lover, Paris, prince of Troy. Menelaus, her jealous ex-husband, attacks Troy a in a many years war. Finally, after many deaths of famo...
'Helen Of Troy' was an outstanding book about the Spartan Princess, Helen. The book starts with her running away from Sparta with her lover, Paris, prince of Troy. Menelaus, her jealous ex-husband, attacks Troy a in a many years war. Finally, after many deaths of famous fighters Achilles and Paris, the smart witted Odysseus builds a wooden horse. The Spartan warriors hideaway in the horse and then sack Troy in the cover of night. In the attack all of the royal family is killed, except Helen who is taken back to Sparta. 'Helen Of Troy' was truly an literacy adventure. I would recommend this fabulous book to anyone who wants to enjoy a good read, a historical adventure, or wants to brush up on their Ancient Greek knowledge.

posted by Anonymous on December 15, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Interesting History, Terrible Novel

There were both good and bad things about this book. For starters, it was very well researched. While reading I felt very much immersed in ancient Greek culture. The way the author portrayed ancient Greek religion was excellent. These were not just old myths and legends...
There were both good and bad things about this book. For starters, it was very well researched. While reading I felt very much immersed in ancient Greek culture. The way the author portrayed ancient Greek religion was excellent. These were not just old myths and legends people found interesting to share with one another, they were actual beliefs, and the author treated them as if they were real (just as the characters would have believed). I really appreciated that. Historically, I learned a lot about the Trojan War, and the legends behind Helen of Troy.

As well researched as this book was, however, I felt it lacking as a novel. The story was a bit dry and boring at times, there were a couple of things that I felt were left unresolved by the end of the book, and at times the dialog seemed to be extremely anachronistic. Overall, I think she would have been better off writing a text book on ancient Greece, rather than attempting to dramatize it.

posted by StacieRosePittard on October 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2007

    Ms. Harris' Honors English

    'Helen Of Troy' was an outstanding book about the Spartan Princess, Helen. The book starts with her running away from Sparta with her lover, Paris, prince of Troy. Menelaus, her jealous ex-husband, attacks Troy a in a many years war. Finally, after many deaths of famous fighters Achilles and Paris, the smart witted Odysseus builds a wooden horse. The Spartan warriors hideaway in the horse and then sack Troy in the cover of night. In the attack all of the royal family is killed, except Helen who is taken back to Sparta. 'Helen Of Troy' was truly an literacy adventure. I would recommend this fabulous book to anyone who wants to enjoy a good read, a historical adventure, or wants to brush up on their Ancient Greek knowledge.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2007

    Review of Helen of Troy

    This book Helen of Troy was outstanding! I have never been so interested in reading a book that was so long(over 600 pages). This book was different. I was interested in the book all the way through until the very end. It was very sad in some parts, but it was also happy in other parts. It is rare for me to find a very long book that I am interested in to the very end. In this book, Helen, said to be the most beautiful woman in the world, was married off to Meneleus when she was only fifteen years old. She was never really happy with Meneleus, but when she had her daughter Hermione she was able to bear with her husband for a while. Later on, when she glimpses a sight of the visiting Trojan prince Paris, she instanting falls in love with him. They then elope away to Troy. The first section of this book is mainly about Helen being in Sparta and all the events that happen in Sparta. This first section is very interesting because it is about Helen and how she was trapped behind the walls of her castle and not alowed to go into the village. This is, in a way, like a foreshadowing of her eloping with Paris because she was trapped for so long, and she wanted to be free. The second part of this book is about her life with Paris. It is also about the Trojan War, how it was started, what happened, and the outcome of the war. This book makes the reader feel like they are actually experiencing the war themselves. The descriptions of the characters in this book are very well written and clear. It makes the readers almost attached to the book because the characters seem so real.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    A Must Read!

    This book was extremely amazing. Every aspect of the book sucked me in and I did not want to stop reading it. It portrayed such a great image it was like I was in the book. This book is very discripitive and is masterfully written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2007

    BEAUTIFUL...AMAZING...COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN.

    This is the book that got me started on Margaret George. Her other books were always met with hesitation based solely on the fact of their sheer bulk (almost all approach 1000 pgs). So when I saw this relatively slim 600-page volume, AND it is one of my favorite subjects, I could not resist. So far it is my favorite of the George novels (I don't know! They're all superb!) and is by far my favorite telling of the story of troy. I would have liked to read a bit more about the myth's storyline, both before and after the time actually covered here. But otherwise I have no complaints.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    Best Book I Have Ever Read

    I am an avid reader and i could not put this book down once i got it! i would very highly and strongly recomend this to everyone. it was breath taking, and the author did an amazing job of keeping you on the edje of your seat

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    The story of Helen and Paris come to life in this amazing book!

    I have read all of Margaret George's books and enjoyed each one, but this was my favorite. George captures the essence of life in the ancient time of the Trojan War. This book takes us on the incredible journey of Helen and Paris and the havoc they bring on their beloved city of Troy because of their passionate love affair. I was sorry to read the last page and finish this wonderful novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2007

    A unique telling of the Trojan War.

    I enjoyed the fact this novel was written from the first person point of view. It made the events that happened more personable because you were viewing them through Helen's eyes. Margaret George wove in historical details that blended perfectly with the descriptive text. This book was hard to put down due to the constant plot twists and 'drama.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    Helen of Troy is the best book that I have ever read in my life. It is about a women named Helen who is the most beutiful women in the world who was married to man named Menealus. But Helen did not love him. She later on falls in love with a man named Paris he was from Troy. Helen then runs away with Paris. If you want to know more about this story you should read it. There is lots of action and love in this story. Over all Helen of Troy is a very interesting story. You can never tell what happens next. I like this story because it has some interesting fact about the Greek mythology and about there god that they served.Also, it shows some of there rituals that they did for there gods. I incourage people to read this book it has some real live things that we have today in our lives. Greek history rocks. Some of the characters in this story are people like Achillies, Hector, Priam, Paris, Helen, Odysseus, and a bunch of other Greek hero's. My favorite heroin this story is Hector because he never gave up hope for Troy,he kept on fighting till the end and that Hector loved his people very dearly. Hector is Parises brother. Crealy, Helen of Troy is a very exciting story. I'm very thankful that the arthur who is Margaret George wrote this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2007

    Couldn't put it down!

    WOW! This book really captivated me. A real work of art!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2007

    Ancient Myth Comes Alive

    This is an excellent retelling of the Homeric legend of Helen, whose flight from her husband in Sparta to Troy with her lover Paris sparked a war. So many familiar names are here: Achilles, Agamemnon, Odysseus, Clytemnestra, Elekra, and many more associated with Greek tragedies and sagas. All are brought to life with their strengths and flaws, giving a human face to this story from an era lost in the mists of time. The gods show up, but subtly, in the levels of human consciousness that seek to commune with a higher power. Regrettably, their personalities are less appealing than the humans who worship them! An excellent story, that takes the reader to a long-lost time and makes it real.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2006

    Incredible!

    Once again Ms. George has not failed to disappoint. I could not put this book down..Helen's own story, in her own words. Fabulous!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2015

    Fantastic read

    Have read every book by this author and Helen of Troy every bit as entertaining as the others. The characters are fleshed out nicely, the scenery richly described, and Margaret George's knowledge of antiquity clearly shows. You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2014

    Love it!

    Love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    One of the best books I've ever read. I'm a harsh critic because

    One of the best books I've ever read. I'm a harsh critic because I studied Classical humanities in college, but the author did an amazing job of making mythological people seem real. I dreamed about it, I thought about it when I wasn't reading it, and cried at the very end because it was so touching.. Beautifully written, and with great attention to detail. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Wonderful

    I cried for about 20 minutes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    bad site good book

    I can only tell you what you already know. Your web site is designed to make everything you sell pop up over and over while you try to navigate the site. The free things are hard to navigate for and again the offers of books to buy pop up. I only come to your site if I cannot find it elsewhere.
    Robert O Nicholas
    The hook is self is very good like allof her books have been

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    Cool

    Quaintcy cute

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    Highly Recommended!!

    Loved this book. I am an avid reader and this book is one of my favorites. Margaret George does a great job of really bringing Helen to life. I honestly didn't want this book to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another great by Margaret George

    Margaret George is my favorite historical fiction author. I have never been disappointed by any book she has ever written, and this is one of my favorites. It is obvious of the time and research that she has put into the book. The characters seem to come alive and the world in which they live is so vivid that it takes no effort to imagine what the times were like. In this book, George does an amazing job with the Helen of Troy story. It is an amazingly quick read full of lush details and such strong characterization that you can almost feel the pain or joy of the characters. The love between Helen and Paris is portrayed beautifully. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    An Emotional Read

    A touching novel. Margaret George writes very well; all her characters are living, breathing humans. I immediatly became attached to Helen when she was first introduced. Though I know of her story, I still wanted her to live a "happily ever after", however, I knew it would not be so. By the end of the novel, I became so emotional that I cried. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical fiction or romance. This is a must-read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3