Customer Reviews for

Hell Gate (Alexandra Cooper Series #12)

Average Rating 4
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of Her Best!

This is one of the best in this series. Very complex and wonderful twists and turns. I'm in love with these characters.

posted by wolfrun on April 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hell Gate

HELL GATE begins with a shipwreck loaded with human cargo. One of the dead has a connection with a local politician (his lover has the same tattoo). Are they truly related or is it a coincidence? Alex Cooper an ADA and two NYPD detectives try to connect the dots. I have...
HELL GATE begins with a shipwreck loaded with human cargo. One of the dead has a connection with a local politician (his lover has the same tattoo). Are they truly related or is it a coincidence? Alex Cooper an ADA and two NYPD detectives try to connect the dots. I have just started reading this series, but I must say that Linda Fairstein does a great job with her research and descriptive narratives of New York City architecture and history. I found this as interesting as the story itself. The camaraderie between Alex and Mike (one the detectives) is enjoyable, especially when they are always betting one another on the answers to Final Jeopardy. Although, this story wasn't as thrilling as some of the previous ones, it was still a good read.

posted by grumpydan on April 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    One of Her Best!

    This is one of the best in this series. Very complex and wonderful twists and turns. I'm in love with these characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Alex Cooper's back and better than ever

    Linda Fairstein shines again in her latest installment of the life and times of Alex Cooper. Those of us who know Alex from her previous adventures will be ecstatic for this one.
    Ms. Fairstein gives us a mystery/thriller that could be taken off the front page of any newspaper or the headlines of any TV news magazine. Alex finds herself knee deep in victims trying to be illegally smuggled into the US and criminals who always appear to be one step ahead of her. But in addition, there's an underlying crime where young girls while looking for a better life find themselves at the mercy of human traffickers. Linda once again brings us her expertise and knowledge as she takes her readers on a journey of legalese and cop speak, a journey down the darkest alleys of human suffering. Her dialogue while eloquent can also take on a gritty edge as she takes her readers on that journey. Her starring characters of Alex, Mike and Mercer still wow us and while familiar, still surprise us as we get more in depth looks into their lives with each new adventure.
    Be prepared to be furious, to be saddened, and sickened by this intensely riveting novel. It will be a wild ride for the senses and emotions. It will appeal to all Alex Cooper fans as well as hard core mystery lovers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    highly recommended

    excellent book! great read anytime!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Great Read!

    From the opening scenes on the beach to the exciting conclusion, this newest book from Linda Fairstein doesn't disappoint. I always enjoy learing about the history of New York while being entertained by a great, well-crafted mystery. The continuing development of the relationship between Alex Cooper and Mike Chapman is a plus, and it's obvious Ms. Fairstein knows intimately how the criminal justice system works (or doesn't work!). I thoroughly enjoyed this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Linda Fairstein knows how to weave a mystery around lots of interesting NYC facts!

    I love ready Linda Fairstein's books. I learn so much about NYC and its surrounding areas that I never knew before. She finds a way to write a first rate mystery and educate you at the same time. What more could you ask for? It's always fun to read her books, and hard to put them down once you've started.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series

    Linda Fairstein is a wonderful author and her Alexandra Cooper series is great! I always look forward to this series; Fairstein's books have likeable and believable characters and the plot is never disappointing to me. Hell Gate is no exception. In my opinion, Fairstein gets better with each Alexandra Cooper book! Hell Gate is suspenseful and I became so involved wanting to know what was going to happen that I could not put the book down! If you have not read the entire series, I would definitely recommend starting with the first Alexandra Cooper book. You will not be disappointed. I hope Fairstein gives us many more books in the Alexandra Cooper series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    linda keeps you interested for more

    great book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Terrific

    Another in a series of terrific mysteries; one of my favorite authors and heroines.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Her best

    As usual Linda keeps your interest. It is one of her best yet. Besides the great story that takes place around Gracie Mansion she makes you want to go see the view of Hells Gate from the mansion grounds. Also tells you some of the history of the mansion, Alexander Hamilton's Grange, and another mansion in Harlem. The villains are the most powerful men in the city.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Linda Fairstein Again Provides a Facinating Read.

    I can never wait for the paperback to come out. Within days of the new release I have to get Miss Fairstein's books. They never disappoint and are well worth the purchase. If the answer is "The best writer of suspense fiction taking place in historical setting in New York City", the question is"Who is Linda Fairstein"?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great read from Linda Fairstein . . .

    I always know I will enjoy myself with the latest offering from Linda Fairstein. These books are so masterfully crafted with well-woven plots that keep you glued to each page from beginning to end. One question that comes to mind, though, is why the author keeps referring to the type of relationship that Alex and Mike share? . . it almost makes me squirm to think it would develop any further and ruin these stories. It didn't help Kay Scarpetta and Pete Moreno to take it a step further in Patricia Cornwell's books. It is possible to have a platonic relationship between men and women who are well-respected colleagues. Keep giving us these great reads, Ms. Fairstein, but nix the romantic angle to Alex and Mike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2