Customer Reviews for

Hell House

Average Rating 4
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

A Phenominal Story!

If you like horror stories, then this is a book to read! But to warn anyone who cannot handle truly extreme stories for various reasons, then I would stay away from it. Sections from this book become very intense and deep in discription. The describes the house in so m...
If you like horror stories, then this is a book to read! But to warn anyone who cannot handle truly extreme stories for various reasons, then I would stay away from it. Sections from this book become very intense and deep in discription. The describes the house in so much depth, that it could give some people the chills. There are also some parts the author describes that would be rather disturbing to some individuals. But in all, for horror lovers everywhere, this story is a must!

posted by Anonymous on August 14, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Melodramatic nonsense

This book was ridiculous melodrama. It wasn't scary, even in a "gotcha" or cold chills way. It was honestly too silly to be scary. If I didn't know otherwise, I would think this was a parody of a haunted house story. If you're looking for genuine chills, check out The L...
This book was ridiculous melodrama. It wasn't scary, even in a "gotcha" or cold chills way. It was honestly too silly to be scary. If I didn't know otherwise, I would think this was a parody of a haunted house story. If you're looking for genuine chills, check out The Little Stranger, Ghost Story, or The Haunting of Hill House. Don't waste your time or money on this baloneh.

posted by 716885 on January 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2002

    A Phenominal Story!

    If you like horror stories, then this is a book to read! But to warn anyone who cannot handle truly extreme stories for various reasons, then I would stay away from it. Sections from this book become very intense and deep in discription. The describes the house in so much depth, that it could give some people the chills. There are also some parts the author describes that would be rather disturbing to some individuals. But in all, for horror lovers everywhere, this story is a must!

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2000

    'Hell House' is a classic

    'Hell House' is a classic example of a great haunted house novel. The characters are good and react to each other realistically in every situation from calm moments to situations involving extreme paranormal behavior. Matheson doesn't pull any punches when it comes to the extreme and violent nature of the evil entities in Hell House. Overall, it is a good, traditional haunted house novel. But, be warned: The events that take place in Matheson's Hell House are very extreme at times and may be a little disturbing for people looking for just a quick horror novel to read. In any case, if you want all the scares; violent attacks from spirits, seances, mediums channeling evil forces and a gigantic old house which all that I have listed, and more, takes place, read this book.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Melodramatic nonsense

    This book was ridiculous melodrama. It wasn't scary, even in a "gotcha" or cold chills way. It was honestly too silly to be scary. If I didn't know otherwise, I would think this was a parody of a haunted house story. If you're looking for genuine chills, check out The Little Stranger, Ghost Story, or The Haunting of Hill House. Don't waste your time or money on this baloneh.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Expected more

    I was just too curious and had to read this one. Evil is brutal and vile, in this book it is confronted and you must slog through all the brutal and vile details to appreciate the story. All in all a good read but difficult to not feel repulsed by the goings on. Which of course is the point.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2013

    Wow. Hell House stands the test of time. By far, the best haunte

    Wow. Hell House stands the test of time. By far, the best haunted house story I’ve ever read. Matheson was at his peek and delivered a terrifying tale filled with realistic characters and shocking descriptions. Loved every page. So he nicked a lot from Shirley Jackson, but he did so with style. Easily one of the top ten horror novels ever written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Hell house is scary!!!!!!

    I loved this book . I have the movie the legend of hell house so i wanted to read the book that it was based on. The best haunted house book ever written . Richard matheson is brilliant.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    I am a huge horror movie and horror book fan, I just loved being

    I am a huge horror movie and horror book fan, I just loved being scared. However, this book didn't do it for me. There are parts that are definitely creepy, but I expected more from it. I could've also done without some of the sexually explicit parts of the story, I thought that was just gross and unnecessary but I guess that's what freaked most of the readers out. It's a toss up, if you like horror books you may like this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    GREAT FUN AT HALLOWEEN

    Much better than the movie - a good supernatural thriller.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Scary as sh$t!

    I found this book in an old collection my father has and was interested by the over view on the back of the book. The book starts to go slow, but as soon as they enter the house the action picks up. Very good book, but not tje best for a personwho has just found intrest in horror. The book makes you look deep inside your self, down to the deepest corners you never knew existed. A lot better than I Am Lengend though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    HELL HOUSE

    I never knew there had been a book and not just the movie. If you liked the old move read Hell house. GREAT

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    Highly recommend.

    The original movie, in black and white, is a great scare; follows the book quite well. This story has always been one of my favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    A Horror Lover's Must-Read

    Was blown away by this book the 1st time I read it. Somehow lost the 1st copy I'd had, so I bought another. Foolishly let someone borrow it, & it looks like I'm not gonna get it back. I hope this time I bet to hang on to it for awhile! This is one of the few books I can read repeatedly without tiring of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    A good read

    I enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Forget This Rip-off

    If you hear a humming noise whenever you pick up this book, it's just Shirley Jackson turning over in her grave. "The Haunting of Hill House" makes this book look like the bargain bin rip-off that it is.

    "Hell House" is a big "Ho hum" from the beginning: stock characters, predictable plot, and mind-numbing prose. In contrast, Shirley Jackson's book will make you want to sleep with the lights on. . .if you can sleep at all.

    Save your money, forget this pale imitation, and go straight for one of the best ghost stories ever written: "The Haunting of Hill House."

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Good

    This is a good book well written and quite creepy in some instances but if you dont like reading horror i do not recomend this book i am 14 and i got a little creed out reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Fun to read!

    I enjoyed most of it, but not the parts which blasphemed.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Fun to Read

    This book is a lot of fun to read. It has a great pace that always keeps you guessing. I really like how everyone goes in the house on purpose knowing what they are doing. The characters are also well developed with completely contrasting points of view. You could sum it up by saying this is a great guilty pleasure and a fast read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    "Came out of the blue"

    I had just been introduced to this author and knew he was a horror writer, but i had no idea how scared i would be while reading this. It is the type of story you have to let yourself get lost in...then the true horror will manifest itself through your imagination and this author's truly gifted writing! Very cool!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ho hum

    This book was written in 1971 and regarding as one of the scariest books of it's time, so I must really be desensitized because this book was not very chilling. I think there was one part in the entire book that I said "Awesome!!!" which is not the proper response in a book of horror. So this book was going to get two stars for the story, but the true horror was not the story. It was the grammatical mistakes. I know it must have been done during the transfer to electronic format, but that is no excuse. So be warned.stay away from this book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Predictable

    This novel is typically haunted house and has been overdone.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8