Customer Reviews for

Hell House

Average Rating 4
( 134 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

A Phenominal Story!

If you like horror stories, then this is a book to read! But to warn anyone who cannot handle truly extreme stories for various reasons, then I would stay away from it. Sections from this book become very intense and deep in discription. The describes the house in so m...
If you like horror stories, then this is a book to read! But to warn anyone who cannot handle truly extreme stories for various reasons, then I would stay away from it. Sections from this book become very intense and deep in discription. The describes the house in so much depth, that it could give some people the chills. There are also some parts the author describes that would be rather disturbing to some individuals. But in all, for horror lovers everywhere, this story is a must!

posted by Anonymous on August 14, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Melodramatic nonsense

This book was ridiculous melodrama. It wasn't scary, even in a "gotcha" or cold chills way. It was honestly too silly to be scary. If I didn't know otherwise, I would think this was a parody of a haunted house story. If you're looking for genuine chills, check out The L...
This book was ridiculous melodrama. It wasn't scary, even in a "gotcha" or cold chills way. It was honestly too silly to be scary. If I didn't know otherwise, I would think this was a parody of a haunted house story. If you're looking for genuine chills, check out The Little Stranger, Ghost Story, or The Haunting of Hill House. Don't waste your time or money on this baloneh.

posted by 716885 on January 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2000

    'Hell House' is a classic

    'Hell House' is a classic example of a great haunted house novel. The characters are good and react to each other realistically in every situation from calm moments to situations involving extreme paranormal behavior. Matheson doesn't pull any punches when it comes to the extreme and violent nature of the evil entities in Hell House. Overall, it is a good, traditional haunted house novel. But, be warned: The events that take place in Matheson's Hell House are very extreme at times and may be a little disturbing for people looking for just a quick horror novel to read. In any case, if you want all the scares; violent attacks from spirits, seances, mediums channeling evil forces and a gigantic old house which all that I have listed, and more, takes place, read this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    GREAT FUN AT HALLOWEEN

    Much better than the movie - a good supernatural thriller.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    HELL HOUSE

    I never knew there had been a book and not just the movie. If you liked the old move read Hell house. GREAT

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    A good read

    I enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Fun to read!

    I enjoyed most of it, but not the parts which blasphemed.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Fun to Read

    This book is a lot of fun to read. It has a great pace that always keeps you guessing. I really like how everyone goes in the house on purpose knowing what they are doing. The characters are also well developed with completely contrasting points of view. You could sum it up by saying this is a great guilty pleasure and a fast read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Scary as sh$t!

    I found this book in an old collection my father has and was interested by the over view on the back of the book. The book starts to go slow, but as soon as they enter the house the action picks up. Very good book, but not tje best for a personwho has just found intrest in horror. The book makes you look deep inside your self, down to the deepest corners you never knew existed. A lot better than I Am Lengend though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Pretty interesting start

    Pretty interesting start but then it got a little slow. After that it got better and the climax was just fantastic!!! :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Great book from 1971

    The story still holds up today. Very scary and creepy. Wonderfuly written. Might make you sleep with the lights on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Scared Me Stiff!

    I read ghost stories from time to time and this one is a nerve wrecker...would recommend this for the originality and the incredible story plot; just stay put when you read...got me nervous and I had to put the book down many times..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    Awesome

    Great story with lots of suspense. A great haunted house story. The ebook needs to reviewed more carefully, there are electronic errors on almost every page. This author is a new favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    Always a thriller.

    A page turner from the start to finish.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2005

    Something different for a change

    This is a really easy book to read, and is quite enjoyable. Definately something to look into with a fresh perspective on the whole vampire thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3