Customer Reviews for

Hell Is Real (But I Hate to Admit It)

Average Rating 4
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Was ok until.....

    When the author states that you can't successfully share Christ with someone until you have built a relationship with them, he lost me. He even said if you are thinking of sharing your faith with a coworker or neighbor who you do not know well, DON'T
    I could not disagree more. Sometimes that person next to you on a flight or on the train during your commute has been placed next to you specifically for you to share Christ. They may have been asking God to reveal himself to them and along you come in answer to their prayer. I'd rather have someone tell me to mind my own busoness than to find out I was the one who was to share the Gospel with them and kept silent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Very Good - Should check it out!

    This was not what I had thought it would be but better. Brian Jones gave me some great ideas to be a better Christian. Thanks Brian!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Humorous & light-hearted yet serious & challenging

    In the wake of Rob Bell's controversial book "Love Wins", a plethora of books have appeared clamoring to answer the question "Does Hell exist?" Most of these books take us back to the Bible and answer the question in the affirmative. A new book from Brian Jones is no exception. What is different about his book, however, is apparent from its title: "Hell is Real (But I Hate to Admit It)". Jones uses a healthy dose of humor and personal candor as he tackles this ever-troubling topic.

    Jones shares his story of secretly disbelieving in Hell for his first four years as a pastor. When he realized his error and confessed his secret sin, he was met with bewilderment. Why confess a doctrinal shortcoming? "Pastor, we were worried there was something more serious going on!" was how many took his news. This is indicative of the sad state of affairs in the church today and part of the reason Jones has given us this book.

    His book is written in a simple, straightforward style. He explains the Bible's teaching on Hell, but more than that, he gets into the question of why it is that he and so many others wanted to believe there isn't a Hell. He then finishes the book with a call for "apocalyptic urgency" and a straightforward witness to the lost around us.

    He doesn't dismiss social concerns but calls the church to be more forthright in its evangelistic fervor. By the end of the book you aren't surprised to learn that he was fired from the Princeton Theological Seminary bookstore for being too evangelistic. Jones has a passion for Jesus Christ, and it shows!

    This book is accessible and at times humorous. And more importantly, it won't steer you wrong. It might just spur you on toward a more serious view of evangelism. If we really do believe there is a Hell, shouldn't that belief burden us all with "apocalyptic urgency"? Brian Jones thinks it should, and I have to agree. Read this book and be challenged. You won't regret it.

    Disclaimer: This book was provided by David C. Cook publishing. I was under no obligation to offer a favorable review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Challenge Your Beliefs

    Once a month, Brian would take a spiritual retreat and go off to a monastery to pray, journal, walk in the woods, and then leave late in the afternoon. One day he received a spiritual revelation at the monastery. God connected with him and impressed on him that his life as a pastor was a charade, as he wasn't preaching the whole Bible, particularly about Hell. To challenge God's words about Hell, like "Russian roulette," he opened his Bible randomly to see if what God was saying was true. To his surprise, everything he opened up to related to Hell. This led to conviction, repentance, and the writing of this book.

    It seems fair to say that at least one time in many of our lives, we thought of God as a loving God who wouldn't punish anyone in hell. However, we fail to acknowledge that He is also a holy God of justice and punishes unrepentant sinners with eternal death. He cannot allow sin to enter His holy presence. Even mankind wants justice when someone has committed a crime against them. Where do we get this sense of justice?

    Brian Jones, in his book, Hell is Real (But I Hate to Admit It), starts out with six 'logical' reasons why he didn't believe in hell. I am sure many of us can resonate with his objections.

    Brian challenges us, based on the teachings of Jesus, to witness as though people's' eternal lives depended on it, because it does! He examines reasons why Christians avoid talking about Hell. His book is also a compilation of how-not-to and how-to methods of reaching those who don't trust and believe in Jesus. Most of the presentations are based on his own experiences. The subject headings help ground you in his style of writing.

    Initially I felt the author dwelt too heavily on just avoiding hell. But as he progresses in the book, he balances out the urgency of bringing people to the Lord because He wants us to live with Him eternally in relationship. So if you seem to get bogged down part way through, keep going to the end of his book. You'll be glad you did!

    What Brian doesn't mention is that eternal fire was initially prepared for the devil and his angels. But in Mathew 25:41, we see that He does send those who are accursed to eternal fire also. A sobering thought-one to spur you on to reach people for Jesus! So don't fall for today's media controversy and ideas that Hell isn't real. Peoples' lives depend on it!

    Many people have heard John 14:6, "I am the Way, the Truth, and the Life; no one comes to the Father but through Me." There's another powerful Scripture that deals with Jesus in Acts 4:12, "And there is salvation in no one else; for there is no other name under heaven that has been given among men by which we must be saved."

    This book was provided by Audra Jennings of The B&B Media Group, Inc., in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Eye-opening and engaging look at eternity

    Hell is Real (But I Hate to Admit It) by Brian Jones is an eye-opening response to Rob Bell's Love Wins. Jones was a pastor for several years but never actually believed in the existence of hell. His years in seminary and conversations with other pastors led him to believe that a loving God would never send anyone to eternal damnation and torment. An experience in prayer forced him to search the Scriptures to research what Jesus really had to say about the matter, and he was shocked to discover that he was really and truly wrong. This discovery gave him "apocalyptic urgency" to save everyone around him, often with less than successful results because of his methods. Jones first wants readers to gain that same sense of apocalyptic urgency to save those they love, and then give them the tools they need to do it successfully. He uses Scripture to shake up readers' sense of God and eternity. His words of blatant truth feel like a sucker punch to the soul, and anyone who reads the book will be hard pressed to remain unchanged by the last page. Jones' advice to teach people about Jesus is completely counter-intuitive to what most Christians have been teaching for years. Don't separate yourself from the world, make yourself an interesting person by learning about different subjects and hobbies so you can have a real conversation, and most importantly, develop a relationship. If more Christians read this book, it will change the often painful, yet true, popular image of Christians as insensitive, judgmental, and elitist. All of this could be hard to swallow by another author, but Jones is engaging and self-deprecating, making the book an enjoyable read, as strange as that seems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great sense of urgency

    This book is a work of art, where the author is not shy on giving us all details about why hell is real, supported by innumerous biblical passages that he referred inside his text.

    He tries to answer four basic questions, in a total of 12 chapters. His questions are: If Hell is Real... Why Don't I Believe It? Why Am I Afraid To Admit It? How Can I Get Serious About It? How Can I Help Others Avoid It?

    So he tell us his story, how come he did not believe in hell until four years after becoming a pastor, when through reading and studying he concluded that hell is real and he started an apocalyptical urgent campaign to spread the word, without sugar-coating the message.

    For me it shows clearly that if we care about a non-Christian friend, we should be willing to take the risk of losing a friendship than allowing this friend going to hell for not telling him the naked truth about the salvation plan of our God.

    I recommend this book to the permanent library of any serious Christian reader who is concerned about salvation of non-Christian people.

    This book was written by Mr. Brian Jones and it was published by David C.Cook in August, 2011 and B&B Media Group were kind enough to send me a copy for reviewing through their blogger book review program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    this book is the wake up call I've been needing

    Challenging and transparent, Brian Jones' "Hell is Real (But I Hate To Admit It)" spells out in no uncertain terms the who, what, where, when, why, and how of Hell. All the while, Jones acknowledges that for many of us, the reality of what this means for people we know and love is a difficult pill to swallow. The best part about this book, though, is that he doesn't stop and leave you there. Whereas other works have come up short right at the point where you're saying, "Ok. I get it. Now, what should I do?" the last few chapters help you work through the practical implications of how (and how not to) share your faith with the people who need to hear it. This is foundational stuff and I'm looking forward to seeing the people of our church read this book and start living out their faith with a renewed sense of urgency. Thanks, Brian, for speaking the truth in love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1