Customer Reviews for

Hell Island

Average Rating 4
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Loved the Short Thrill Ride

Hell Island is another great read of Matthew Reilly. Yes, it is a bit short but for those who don't know, such a Anonymous, he was asked to write a story for a promotional gig. Believe he also mentioned that he was asked for specifically for something short and sweet th...
Hell Island is another great read of Matthew Reilly. Yes, it is a bit short but for those who don't know, such a Anonymous, he was asked to write a story for a promotional gig. Believe he also mentioned that he was asked for specifically for something short and sweet that could be provided to some group of service men who they wanted to provide good reading material too but didn't always have the time to invest into a complete book. So kudos to Reilly for providing a short action packed reading that still falls along the lines of his writings.

posted by OldEnglish on April 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Short story

Too much money for a short story.

posted by 9035814 on December 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    Loved the Short Thrill Ride

    Hell Island is another great read of Matthew Reilly. Yes, it is a bit short but for those who don't know, such a Anonymous, he was asked to write a story for a promotional gig. Believe he also mentioned that he was asked for specifically for something short and sweet that could be provided to some group of service men who they wanted to provide good reading material too but didn't always have the time to invest into a complete book. So kudos to Reilly for providing a short action packed reading that still falls along the lines of his writings.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Short story

    Too much money for a short story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    $7.99 for a novella?

    Why on earth would I pay $7.99 for not even half a book. This is absurd. By comparison, not that James Rollins has two novellas for sale, each for 99 cents.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Fast and Fun

    A short story loaded with Reilly's trademark over-the-top action. It's a bit short for the price, but any Scarecrow story is a good story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    POOR SHORT STORY

    I WAS MORE THAN DISAPPOINTED IN THIS "BOOK". IT WAS NOT EVEN CLOSE TO THE 110 PAGES REPRESENTED. IT WAS A FAKE CONJURED UP WITH HUGE MARGINS PICTURES AND DIAGRAMS AND EVEN THEN COULDN'T MAKE THE PAGE COUNT APPROXIMATE A "BOOK". iT IS CLEARLY SOME KIND OF PROMO PIECE FOR THE AUTHOR BUT HAD THE EXACT OPPOSITE EFFECT ON ME. i'LL NEVER BUY ANYTHING HE'S WRITTEN IF THIS IS HOW HE TREATS HIS READERS. I INTEND TO ASK B&N FOR MY MONEY BACK AS WELL

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Another Great Read By Matthew Reilly

    Ever since I read Area 7 while deployed to Iraq back in 2004, I've been hooked on Matthew Reilly's gift for great storytelling. I would definitely recommend any of his works to anybody wanting a good action packed story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Slhjjg

    Is this story good?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Good novella!

    I thought this was good as a short story (novella), the author took a chance with a few of the details in the story, but I think they worked out. That said, the piece was far too short to be considered a proper novel. All in all though a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Total Ripoff

    And from a total BIGOT!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    typical for this author

    The story reminded me of other stories by this author. The problem is the size of the book. 120 pages for $7.99 seems wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    It's very short but if you can't get enough Scarecrow it's worth

    It's very short but if you can't get enough Scarecrow it's worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Good

    The story was very good; fast moving and easy reading. Teenage boys would love the action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Hellclan territory

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    Awesome book for a short story, faced paced and action packed from cover to cover.

    Awesome book for a short story, faced paced and action packed from cover to cover. If you have read any other Matthew Reilly books, this is of the same caliber writing. If you have not read any of Matthew Reilly's books before, this would be a good one to start with to see if it is your type of book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Good story

    Good story as expected from Matthew Reilly, however, the book is way too short.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    OK book. TOO Short for the money.

    I thought the book was interesting, although I am also not into US vs US theams.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Big Tease

    I was sooo ready for another Matthew Reilly Scarecrow adventure! I was, however, extremely disapointed to discover that I paid for a Scarecrow teaser that left me somewhat angry. If you are going to sell something, make sure you sell a whole book and noyt a teaser!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    Complete Crap

    This is the second book by this author I have read and they both have elements of the US government/military trying to kill other US military units. From the synopsis of his other books this seems to be a trend. To add insult to injury the leader of the Delta Force Commandos is Gordon. This happens to be the name of one of the two Delta commandos who sacrificed his life in Somalia to save Michael Durant. I can look past the bad military tactics/information, but to willingly and continuously slander members of the US Armed Forces is deplorable, and frankly a little trite after the first three times.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Action and More Action

    As a reader who enjoys the Shane "Scarecrow" Schofield books, but doesn't particularly enjoy Reilly's other books, I found this novella to be great fun. It's a very short, very fast book, with Reilly's trademark relentless action and no real character development to speak of (but that's not why we read Reilly, is it?) A great intro to Matthew Reilly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2007

    Took a while to get.

    I've been trying to get this book at a reasonable price for quit some time since I live in the States and is really only available in Australia. With that said I did like this quick read by Reilly. It's only 115 pages but I've been read all of Reilly's other books so I had to pick it up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5