BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hell and Gone

Average Rating 5
( 4 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    Recommended read

    While I don't go in much for thrillers, I enjoyed reading this particular one. There were some very good details on covert warfare operations in general, and US military operations in particular. The author is probably ex-military, I guess. The details of a terror training camp in Africa were also chilling, and nicely done. Despite the abundance of characters (twelve guys on the mission to stop a suicide bomber from detonating a nuclear bomb), I can distinctly picture most of the men as individuals. The book kept me engaged throughout - it's nice to see a thriller that emphasizes teamwork, rather than one macho hero(ine) saving everybody's day. On the whole, a recommended read, especially if you're a thriller fan.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    Excellent Thriller

    Hell and Gone by Henry Brown is a top-notch military thriller. The author takes great care to create characters that are believable and unique. Normally I can get lost in a book with many characters, but the characters in Hell and Gone were introduced in such a way that it was easy to follow. This is a realistic story about a teenager recruited by a terrorist training camp for an attack, and a group of elite ex-military men sent to prevent the use of a nuclear suitcase bomb strike upon Israel. Great writing creates scenes so well crafted that I felt like I was in a strange land in the middle of the action. One of the parts of the story I found most interesing was the the author's descriptions of the physical effects on the men following a firefight. I think this author's work can compare with any of the more famous thriller authors today. I am very pleased to recommend this book to anyone that enjoys thrillers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Henry Brown's timely take on stopping a suitcase nuke plot, from the face-to-face, human, tactical combat point of view.

    There are plenty of thrillers available that deal with threats that concern all of us in this age of terrorism. Some are even semi-realistic. None I have read, however, get down to the grunt-on-the-ground level like this little novel.
    If you're looking for sexy encounters, or just plain sex, you need to look elsewhere. Just as in real life combat operations, there's no time or opportunity in Brown's narrative for a lot of rolling in the hay. Likewise, I was pleasantly surprised by the vernacular. The language is salty in places, but does not belabor the story.
    Only a handful of the characters go beyond a "type" into any sort of sharp definition. This I find realistic for a situation where a bunch of relative strangers are thrown together in desperate times to beat the odds. Also, some of the simple "types" are so well sketched that most of us can "recognize" them from our own lives. One of the more detailed characters had my teeth grinding every time he appeared in the narrative. If it was the author's intention to draw a character that some of us can recognize as being a waste of oxygen, while the character draws breath, he did it well. I know I was superimposing another name and face from the real world on this particular character.
    The weaponry details, tactics and mutual support aspects of the story were as well done as I've read in any novel. There are no super men or women in "Hell and Gone", just some flawed people going into a supremely dangerous situation with their eyes open. Some are not capable, whether morally, physically or intellectually of performing perfectly, or even of doing the right thing. Sounds like life to me.
    I can heartily recommend Henry Brown's "Hell and Gone" to anyone who wants a timely thriller about imperfect humans thrown together into face to face combat for some reasons right, and some wrong.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    In the tradition of ¿The Expendables¿ and ¿The Dirty Dozen¿, Han

    In the tradition of “The Expendables” and “The Dirty Dozen”, Hank Brown delivers rock solid military action with just a hint of techno-thriller. Brown paints “Rocco’s Retreads” with a sold brush that emphasizes gritty, realistic action instead of a troop of invincible soldiers. The fighting is brutal and intense; the characters are recognizable and empathetic. The language of the book is noticeably less crude than one might expect from this type of military fiction, which makes the book that much more enjoyable. The plot is straightforward, and complications derive from perfectly natural mission-creep rather than complexly contrived circumstance. Brown stays on target and develops his characters and story without resorting to vulgarity, graphic violence, or gratuitous sex. This is a book about experienced soldiers on a dirty covert op; the writing is well-rounded and professional. I enjoyed reading this story, and immediately went looking for the author’s blog (do a quick search for “two-fisted blogger”). Henry “Hank” Brown is definitely an author to watch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1