Customer Reviews for

Hell on Wheels (Black Knights Inc. Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Definitely in my "favorites" list....

My Review:
Yes, I'll admit it. I absolutely did bawl with ugly wrenching sobs at one point in this book and yes, that does mean this book is just that good!! For those of us that love romantic suspense along the lines of Cindy Gerard, Christy Reece, and Tara Janzen, th...
My Review:
Yes, I'll admit it. I absolutely did bawl with ugly wrenching sobs at one point in this book and yes, that does mean this book is just that good!! For those of us that love romantic suspense along the lines of Cindy Gerard, Christy Reece, and Tara Janzen, this is a brand spanking new series for you that you are GOING TO LOVE!!!

In this first book, we get introduced to the Black Knights, Inc. They are a black-ops contracting company that works out of Chicago under the guise of a custom motorcycle shop. And yeah, you guessed it, these guys all ride seriously souped-up motorcycles. *sigh* They're extremely bad-ass AND they ride hot bikes. This is my fantasy series!! Thank you Julie Ann!!!

Grigg and Nate have been best friends and tied to the hip since joining the Marines. They were a sniping team...Grigg, the spotter; Nate, the shooter. They got out of the Marines together 3 years ago and joined the Knights. But they were sent out on a mission that went horribly wrong and were captured and tortured for three days. Three days which Grigg didn't survive. The book opens with Nate and Grigg's little sister, Ali, right after he's told them that Grigg died. The family and Ali have no idea what they are really doing...they think they just work building motorcycles.

Within a couple of months, Ali realizes that something is very wrong. She's being followed and was even attacked so she high-tails it to Chicago to get Nate's help. It soon becomes very apparent that there's a whole lot of something else going on here and that it probably ties back to Grigg somehow. There has always been chemistry between Ali and Nate, but there are 2 problems there....Grigg told Nate to NEVER touch his sister, and Nate is hiding a horrible gut-wrenching secret about Grigg's death. OMG, I dare you not bawl like a little baby when it's revealed what really happened. OMG....poor Grigg and poor Nate. Gut. Wrenching.

Nate is one of those guys...he never says much and he sure doesn't share his feelings. I really loved him especially when it came out exactly "why" he doesn't ever talk around Ali. He just turned my heart to mush. Then there's Ali...LOL...that poor girl needs to get a tougher stomach, but after she's through getting sick...you can throw anything at her and she hardly flinches. She's tough. Grigg taught her well.

Then there are all the other members of the Knights. I can already promise you, this series is on my auto-review/then auto-buy list. I have an ARC of this on my kindle, but I WILL be going out to buy a print copy for my permanent bookshelf. Yes, it was truly that good!!

Honestly, I couldn't tell you the last time that I was this excited about a start of a series. I love these Knight boys....and Becky. Damn, this is a great start!!! Off to go check out the deets on book number 2, In Rides Trouble, out next month.

I received a complementary copy of this book in return for an honest review.

posted by SmittenWithReading on August 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

8/5/12

8/5/12 Pretty good start to a new series. The "h-e-double hockey sticks" and the vomiting got a bit much. No one spews THAT much unless they have a stomach virus.

posted by clr7483 on August 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Ok

    Ok read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Great twist I did not see see coming. Well written and I loved t

    Great twist I did not see see coming. Well written and I loved the characters. Can't wait for the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    4.25 stars:  HELL ON WHEELS is the first instalment in Julie Ann

    4.25 stars:  HELL ON WHEELS is the first instalment in Julie Ann Walker’s adult, contemporary, romantic Black Knight Inc suspense series focusing on a group of former Navy SEALs, Black Ops, ex military men and the women they love. With their base of operations fronted by a motorcycle repair shop, the men of Black Knight Inc –a covert government defense team- do the dirty work behind the scenes when terrorism and threats to National Security become real and mean. This is Nate Weller and Ali Morgan’s story.
    The focus of the storyline is Ali Morgan’s safety and finding the people who have been haunting her daily life since the death of her brother Grigg while on a secret assignment in the Middle East. Gregg’s death has weighed heavily on both Ali and Nate but none more so than Nate who feels responsible for the death of his best friend and ‘brother’. When Ali arrives at Black Knight Inc with a tale of being stalked and followed, Nate makes it his mission to protect his best friend’s little sister knowing that his heart was lost to the woman years before. But someone else is willing to take her out to hide a secret he doesn’t want anyone else to know.
    Julie Ann Walker writes an amazing storyline of suspense, mystery and action. The relationship between Ali and Nate begins as friends to lover but along the way Nate will push Ali away believing she holds him responsible for the death of her brother.
    The sex scenes are hot, sensual and a release because the sexual tension between our leading couple can be felt throughout the storyline. The storyline is told through a combination of memories, flashbacks and present day where we will discover the truth behind Grigg’s death and the fall out of a war that no body wants to lose. The secondary characters are colorful, heartbreaking and exuberant and, there is a building story between Rebecca (Black Knight’s mechanic) and Frank “Boss’ Knight-the leader of BKI. If you want a storyline that will make you cry, Hell on Wheels is a great start to what should be an amazing series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    An enjoyable book

    The book holds your interest, start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Holy Buckets----

    What a great read. Ms Walker tells an excellent story, I laughed and cried and definitely want to read more in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Shaun

    I spit it out gepross i spit it in my hand and say my little pony

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    I bet

    Those are evil poisonous donust

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Saun

    Wait my little pony one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Hush

    Yeah?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2014

    I discovered this author after too many months of passing the Bl

    I discovered this author after too many months of passing the Black Knights titles by. Suffice it to say I am chagrined. Because Hell on Wheels is superb (I read Thrill Ride for a contest and it was a random selection sent to me.). This is book 1 of the Black Knights series and wonderfully sets up this covert operation of men who are working under the radar of just about every other group. Posing as motorcycle designers and assorted types, they head into dangerous territory when the mission requires. Usually they make it home alive. But not always. Nate Weller survived his capture and torture, but his best friend did not. And what Nate "Ghost" had to do haunts him to the moment our story begins. Worse than Grigg's death is that Nate's always been there for Grigg's baby sister Ali Morgan. Now the mystery of that capture - and who was behind it - has Ali under surveillance, and on the run from attempted assassins. Naturally, she turns to Nate, only to stumble onto the Black Knights operation and become embroiled in a desperate and deadly fight to keep secrets from coming out. High powered politicians, deadly killers, and a passion that sears are the highlights of this novel. It is even better because of the terrific worldbuilding Walker has done in creating this operation, and also for the terrific, and varied secondary characters, including the sub-plot of Frank and Becky's romantic turmoil. There was humor, but there was also some of the darkest and most gritty suspense I've encountered in a romance and it is crafted perfectly by Walker. You cheer for the characters, and you also cry with them. But I assure you, you'll love this book. Now, I have to get back to reading Book #2 of the Black Knights!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The back of your neck is trying to tell you something...are you

    The back of your neck is trying to tell you something...are you going to listen?

    Well, of course you are. Your a woman walking down the street and was taught by a very overprotective brother that when
     that sixth sense kicks in, you listen to it. Especially when just a few months ago you got the news that your brother just
    passed away and you know for certain he didn't die from working on his bike.

    So what do you?

    You go to the one place that doesn't make sense....her brothers outfit the he joined after the Marines. The place where
    her brothers best friend Nate Weller lives....a Chicago Motorcycle shop called the Black Knights Inc....Inc being something
     other than a Motorcycle shop! When she finally gets the nerve to go up there to ask help she sees that this has got to be the
    last place on Earth that she should be in....but with that mugging only last night and that sense that someone has followed her
     Nate Weller is going to be her knight in shining leather to help her out!

    Nate Weller has done some things in his life that he's not proud of....decisions that he made that he wishes he could take
    back but knows that life isn't that nice. Especially when life hands him Ali Morgan, his recent deceased best friends "little" sister.
    Ali is beyond being little and for a Kindergarten Teacher she packs more strength in her little petite body than he could in his 6 abs
    or more!! He knows that he must keep his unsaintly hands off of her, but when he hears that someone is after Ali....more to the point
    wanting Ali "deleted"....he's going to have to suck it up and help her through this and his own demons as well. Once he puts that
    men who want to harm Ali behind bars (or under 6 feet of clover) he'll leave Ali alone and be content with his own life.

    He just wishes that Ali would cooperate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Sexy

    Hot, hot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jen Book provided by the publisher for review Review

    Reviewed by Jen
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    Growing up a military brat (my father was in the Army), I’ve always been fascinated with romance books featuring members of the military. So, when I saw this new series I knew I had to give it a try. And as a debut author, Julie Ann Walker shows much promise with this book and series.

    What we have in Hell on Wheels is the set up of the Black Knights series as well as the love story between Nate and Ali. Because it’s the first book in the series, there is a lot of setting the stage which sometimes overwhelmed the love story. And there were a lot of characters to wrap my head around. When I thought I’d finally gotten everyone straight, someone new would be mentioned. I know this has to do with the world building, but so many of those introduced weren’t necessary at this point and could have been gradually worked in later in the series.

    My other pet peeve in this story was the head hopping. For me, the fewer heads we visit, the better. But in addition to our hero and heroine, we also were privy to the thoughts of both bad guys and at least 2 of the supporting folks in the Black Knight organization. And of course, this harks back to the world building aspect and setting up book two.

    So, this book is about Nate and Ali. They’ve known each other for years and unbeknownst to the other, they’ve each harbored a crush on each other. However, Nate is Ali’s brother’s best friend and the brother warned Nate off when he noticed the interest. Years later, Nate is back in Ali’s life to tell her that his brother is dead. They share a passionate, yet grief filled, night and go their separate ways. But when someone seems to be stalking Ali, she turned to Nate for help. And then all hell breaks loose.

    I was totally drawn into the story. There are lots of twists and turns when it comes to figuring out who’s targeting Ali (not for the reader, we know pretty early on… but more the mystery as the characters). The action scenes, whether it was a flashback to Nate’s military career or a car chase were written with so much description that I felt as if I was there. The spark between Ali and Nate burned up the pages. However, I did get tired of some of the repetitive internalization that Nate kept going through. His “I’m not worthy” attitude did start to get old after a while.

    That said, it was a very solid debut and I will be looking forward to reading more books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Great First of the Series

    Suspense,machi, love, excitment. Everything needed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Loved

    Loved the story and all the characters, can't wait to read the other books in this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Very engaging read.

    This was the first book I have read by Julie Ann Walker but has not been the last. I enjoyed this book very much. It had a great combination of humor, sadness, action, and last but not least hot steamy & encounters. I cried and that doesn't happen very much at all. I was glad that I picked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Loved it

    I like a good suspensful book with a love story tied in. A fun read from beginning to end. I can not wait for beckys and franks story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Thrilling romantic suspense

    This was a tense, gut-wrenching thriller with an equally tense romance. Nate "Ghost" Weller is such a tortured character and I totally felt for him as he dealt with the push and pull of love and guilt. Ali Morgan is the damsel in distress with a core of steel, which I loved. This book was very well-written with the kind of detail that makes you hold your breath at times the action is so gripping. I look forward to the other Knights' stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Book is So overwritten -----I cannot get into this book--ther

    Book is So overwritten



    -----I cannot get into this book--there are so many run on sentences and descriptions of things that people don't even care about. Ali is not a very good lead in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    My new favorite author.

    If you want a romance with your action adventure, this book is for you. The characters are great. The story keeps you on the edge of your seat. And damn the sexual tension is hot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8