Customer Reviews for

Hell on Wheels (Black Knights Inc. Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Definitely in my "favorites" list....

My Review:
Yes, I'll admit it. I absolutely did bawl with ugly wrenching sobs at one point in this book and yes, that does mean this book is just that good!! For those of us that love romantic suspense along the lines of Cindy Gerard, Christy Reece, and Tara Janzen, th...
My Review:
Yes, I'll admit it. I absolutely did bawl with ugly wrenching sobs at one point in this book and yes, that does mean this book is just that good!! For those of us that love romantic suspense along the lines of Cindy Gerard, Christy Reece, and Tara Janzen, this is a brand spanking new series for you that you are GOING TO LOVE!!!

In this first book, we get introduced to the Black Knights, Inc. They are a black-ops contracting company that works out of Chicago under the guise of a custom motorcycle shop. And yeah, you guessed it, these guys all ride seriously souped-up motorcycles. *sigh* They're extremely bad-ass AND they ride hot bikes. This is my fantasy series!! Thank you Julie Ann!!!

Grigg and Nate have been best friends and tied to the hip since joining the Marines. They were a sniping team...Grigg, the spotter; Nate, the shooter. They got out of the Marines together 3 years ago and joined the Knights. But they were sent out on a mission that went horribly wrong and were captured and tortured for three days. Three days which Grigg didn't survive. The book opens with Nate and Grigg's little sister, Ali, right after he's told them that Grigg died. The family and Ali have no idea what they are really doing...they think they just work building motorcycles.

Within a couple of months, Ali realizes that something is very wrong. She's being followed and was even attacked so she high-tails it to Chicago to get Nate's help. It soon becomes very apparent that there's a whole lot of something else going on here and that it probably ties back to Grigg somehow. There has always been chemistry between Ali and Nate, but there are 2 problems there....Grigg told Nate to NEVER touch his sister, and Nate is hiding a horrible gut-wrenching secret about Grigg's death. OMG, I dare you not bawl like a little baby when it's revealed what really happened. OMG....poor Grigg and poor Nate. Gut. Wrenching.

Nate is one of those guys...he never says much and he sure doesn't share his feelings. I really loved him especially when it came out exactly "why" he doesn't ever talk around Ali. He just turned my heart to mush. Then there's Ali...LOL...that poor girl needs to get a tougher stomach, but after she's through getting sick...you can throw anything at her and she hardly flinches. She's tough. Grigg taught her well.

Then there are all the other members of the Knights. I can already promise you, this series is on my auto-review/then auto-buy list. I have an ARC of this on my kindle, but I WILL be going out to buy a print copy for my permanent bookshelf. Yes, it was truly that good!!

Honestly, I couldn't tell you the last time that I was this excited about a start of a series. I love these Knight boys....and Becky. Damn, this is a great start!!! Off to go check out the deets on book number 2, In Rides Trouble, out next month.

I received a complementary copy of this book in return for an honest review.

posted by SmittenWithReading on August 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

8/5/12

8/5/12 Pretty good start to a new series. The "h-e-double hockey sticks" and the vomiting got a bit much. No one spews THAT much unless they have a stomach virus.

posted by clr7483 on August 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely in my "favorites" list....

    My Review:
    Yes, I'll admit it. I absolutely did bawl with ugly wrenching sobs at one point in this book and yes, that does mean this book is just that good!! For those of us that love romantic suspense along the lines of Cindy Gerard, Christy Reece, and Tara Janzen, this is a brand spanking new series for you that you are GOING TO LOVE!!!

    In this first book, we get introduced to the Black Knights, Inc. They are a black-ops contracting company that works out of Chicago under the guise of a custom motorcycle shop. And yeah, you guessed it, these guys all ride seriously souped-up motorcycles. *sigh* They're extremely bad-ass AND they ride hot bikes. This is my fantasy series!! Thank you Julie Ann!!!

    Grigg and Nate have been best friends and tied to the hip since joining the Marines. They were a sniping team...Grigg, the spotter; Nate, the shooter. They got out of the Marines together 3 years ago and joined the Knights. But they were sent out on a mission that went horribly wrong and were captured and tortured for three days. Three days which Grigg didn't survive. The book opens with Nate and Grigg's little sister, Ali, right after he's told them that Grigg died. The family and Ali have no idea what they are really doing...they think they just work building motorcycles.

    Within a couple of months, Ali realizes that something is very wrong. She's being followed and was even attacked so she high-tails it to Chicago to get Nate's help. It soon becomes very apparent that there's a whole lot of something else going on here and that it probably ties back to Grigg somehow. There has always been chemistry between Ali and Nate, but there are 2 problems there....Grigg told Nate to NEVER touch his sister, and Nate is hiding a horrible gut-wrenching secret about Grigg's death. OMG, I dare you not bawl like a little baby when it's revealed what really happened. OMG....poor Grigg and poor Nate. Gut. Wrenching.

    Nate is one of those guys...he never says much and he sure doesn't share his feelings. I really loved him especially when it came out exactly "why" he doesn't ever talk around Ali. He just turned my heart to mush. Then there's Ali...LOL...that poor girl needs to get a tougher stomach, but after she's through getting sick...you can throw anything at her and she hardly flinches. She's tough. Grigg taught her well.

    Then there are all the other members of the Knights. I can already promise you, this series is on my auto-review/then auto-buy list. I have an ARC of this on my kindle, but I WILL be going out to buy a print copy for my permanent bookshelf. Yes, it was truly that good!!

    Honestly, I couldn't tell you the last time that I was this excited about a start of a series. I love these Knight boys....and Becky. Damn, this is a great start!!! Off to go check out the deets on book number 2, In Rides Trouble, out next month.

    I received a complementary copy of this book in return for an honest review.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Overall I think the story line was good and I do plan on reading

    Overall I think the story line was good and I do plan on reading the
    other books in the series. However, it did get a little wordy, some of
    the scenes were more graphic than I thought necessary and a few things
    seemed too far fetched. This made it almost have a juvenile feel at
    times. As I said though, the plot was good, I did feel a connection
    with the characters and I will read the rest of the series. I think it
    would make a great movie.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    More like 4.5 stars!

    Well written, plenty of action, and a little funny thrown in too makes for a well rounded action/romance. A few times it felt a little too unbelievable, the alpha was way too thick headed, and they sometimes went overboard on the "gun-speak," but overall cute story. I will be buying the next in the series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book with great characters. Kept me entertained

    Great book with great characters. Kept me entertained

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    Awesome Start to an Awesome Series

    Thanks to the publisher, Sourcebooks, and NetGalley for the chance to read this early! This is the first book in a romantic suspense military trilogy by Julie Ann Walker releasing August 7, 2012. However, I actually read the books out of order; I read the third installment, Rev It Up!, first. This was a very enjoyable book. The suspense portion made/kept the book interesting and fast moving. The book was ninety percent suspense, ten percent romance but, every bit adventurous. This was one hot, straight-forward, easy to read book, with a pretty simple plot to follow. There wasn't a whole lot of characters to keep straight – which is often the case with the first book of a new series. What do kindergarten teacher, Alisa Morgan, and Sniper, Nathan “Ghost” Weller have in common? -- Grigg Morgan. Nate has been attracted to his best friend’s baby sister since she was seventeen. Nate remembered the first time he ever met Alisa… “Better keep a wrinkle in it, boyo. You touch my baby sister and you die.” Grigg to Nate. Nate is very intriguing...even with all of his guilt – he is sexy, alpha, commanding, stubborn, and determined ~~ all those things together are guaranteed to get a woman out of her panties...lucky thing Alisa is just as stubborn plus she has secretly yearned for his touch since they met.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    BAM! Julie Ann Walker’s Hell On Wheels starts out with a b

    BAM! Julie Ann Walker’s Hell On Wheels starts out with a bang and just keeps on rolling. An excellent read that I did not put down; it grabbed me from page one, threw me in the emotional wringer and refused to let go until the very last word. 4.5 Stars

    Nate “Ghost” Weller is an ex-marine sniper, who along with his best friend, joined an elite and very covert special ops team, Black Knight’s Inc. Using a custom bike shop as a front, this team of alpha males take the government missions that no one else can handle, off-the-books missions that are both dangerous and deadly.
    When Nate’s best friend, Grigg Morgan, dies and his baby sister, Ali, shows up at the compound Nate’s world is turned upside down. Already fighting the grief and guilt from losing his best friend, now Nate must fight the desire he’s had for Ali since the first moment he saw her twelve years ago. Little does she know that the emotional distance he’s put between them was because of Grigg warning him off. But Ali needs his help and Nate’s not going to let Ali down like he let down her brother.
    Someone is stalking Ali but she doesn’t get really scared until a mammoth of a man in a ski mask tries to mug her. Ali knows someone is after her and seeing as she’s an unassuming kindergarten teacher then it must have something to do with her brother so she turns to the one man she has left, Nate. As they puzzle through the mystery of her Ali’s shadow stalker Ali can’t deny that she feels something for Nate but despite his obvious attraction for her, Nate continuously pushes her away. Will she ever be able to break through his wall or will the secrets he hides end up breaking them both?

    Hell On Wheels is an exhilarating and powerful debut for Julie Ann Walker and the Black Knight Inc. series! This book has everything a romantic suspense fan can hope for; heart-break, loss, humor, action, passion, romance, sex, need, intrigue, along with a tortured bad-boy hero on a kick-ass bike and a sweet but feisty heroine who can roll with the punches. I laughed, I cried, I got all hot and bothered, I cried some more; this novel covers all the emotional range.

    The author’s writing style captured by attention from the get-go. I could literally hear Nate’s voice in my head and I loved it! The pages were brimming with the sexual tension between Ali and Nate. Nate has a lot of inner-demons to face and Ali doesn’t understand why he won’t let her in, he very obviously wants her if you know what I mean. ;) The action was non-stop, the dialogue captivated, the characters were believable, and the plot consumed. So why the 4.5 rating, instead of a perfect 5? A few things with the heroine got to be annoying after a while; the constant weak stomach and the ‘h-e-double hockey sticks’. Also, the world building at the beginning of the story jumped around some and it took me a little bit to catch up, but after that initial rough start the story quickly found it’s grove and I loved every minute of it.

    If you think you’ve read ex-military special ops stories with sexy but tortured alpha men, well you ain’t read nothing yet! Pick up Hell on Wheels, you will not be disappointed! I am now an official Julie Ann Walker stalker….err…fan ;) and Hell on Wheels is, without a doubt, one of my favorite reads of the year.
    I would compare Hell on Wheels to Lori Foster’s When You Dare (Men Who Walk The Edge Of Honor) and the first few books in Maya Bank’s K.G.I. series, it was that dang good!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    8/5/12

    8/5/12 Pretty good start to a new series. The "h-e-double hockey sticks" and the vomiting got a bit much. No one spews THAT much unless they have a stomach virus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Good

    ## I enjoyed this book for the most part. What I liked: Loved the story, the action and the intrigue. Also, a big part for me was the humor. There were several times I found myself laughing out loud. I found the ending was not rushed (yay -nice reward for the reader) and completely satisfied. What I didn't like: the romance was lacking, although it was implied. Second, I didn't like that the heroine kept vomiting so much (way overdone), and there's nothing sexy about that. And OMG, the hero spoke like a child. It seemed like he was too lazy to annunciate his words and just strung them into a bunch of weird contractions. That was so incredibly annoying! Again, not sexy. So a good story with humor, intrigue and even some heartwrenching angst, yep! Romance, not so much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Okay start to series

    I enjoy an exciting Alpha warrior as much as the next girl, but Nate 'Ghost' Weller was a bit weak in the personality department. And Ali annoyed me most of the time with the 'cripes', 'h-e-double hocky sticks' and vomiting. Story had potential but didn't really live up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Hot ex-military men who ride motorcycles, a political conspiracy

    Hot ex-military men who ride motorcycles, a political conspiracy, action-packed suspense and humor laid out in one thrilling package made Hell on Wheels impossible to put down. Julie Ann Walker did not fail to impress me with her entertaining, fast paced and highly addictive debut novel. The descriptive writing, well rounded characters and the scorching romance delivered an exhilarating story, that I was hooked to from word one. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. A very promising start to a new romantic suspense series.

    It’s no secret that I’m a huge fan of romantic suspense. Just the same, Hell on Wheels hit it right on the mark for me. There was never a boring moment and I was constantly pulled in by the adrenaline-filled events. Trying to figure out the mystery alongside the characters was very enjoyable. Ms. Walker’s descriptive writing style definitely helped with that, making the story believable enough for the readers to feel as if they were actually in it. The existence of espionage, deception and a secret government organization (Black Knights Inc.) were all an exciting addition to the story – successfully accomplishing that thrilling feeling that should be present in the suspense genre.

    The heroine, Ali, was easily likeable. She had a feisty personality yet her character felt very composed. Ali has been through a lot, after losing her brother, and the author didn’t make that a secret. The emotions in the story were on full display but not to the point of becoming over the top. In fact, they were done just right, as they showed the characters’ development throughout the story. Then we have Nate. To describe him in as few words as possible, ‘he was absolutely mouth watering’! I loved his bad boy aura but at the same time also loved his vulnerable side, which was shown through the moments he shares about his past. He was a fitting love interest. Alongside the main characters, the cast of secondary characters were all very entertaining. Above all, they were like family, always having each other’s backs during any situation - which I loved. I am definitely looking forward to seeing them again.

    On a different note, this book had some issues, that I sincerely hope are fixed in the next book(s). For starters, where the romance had an excellent start – with lots of sexual tension that slowly built over the book, the ending of it was disappointing to say the least. It felt rushed and very cliche. Another aspect that I found less than appealing was the abrupt scene changes. There were several POVs in the story – if you know me, you know I’m not a huge fan of those – and too often I found myself confused due to them. I had to re-read several scenes in order to fully grasp the whereabouts of the story and I didn’t enjoy the hindrance to the flow of the story. There is room for improvement, but regardless, Ms. Walker did a good job in keeping my interest.

    In light of the few issues, Hell on Wheels proved to be a great mixture of action, romance and suspense. I was captivated from start to finish and the witty dialogue constantly kept me entertained. Not to mention, the likeable characters. Overall, despite the cliche ending, I felt this was a fun read and look forward to reading the next books in the series by Ms. Walker.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Angela Shikany

    All in all very formulaic. Like Cindy Gerard or Maya Banks KGI series. I won't be reading any more by this author, the torture scene was blood porn, i.e. gratuitous and horrible. One reviewer seems to think that is good writing. I don't. I was left with a deep distaste for this author and the heroine inthe book, she seems to spend most of her time vomiting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    Disappointing - just didn't seem realistic in any sense of the w

    Disappointing - just didn't seem realistic in any sense of the word.
    Characters were stereotypes of the genre with little originality. The
    dialogue made me cringe at times, and one particularly violent scene was
    unneccessarily descriptive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    This book was amazing. It made me laugh, cry, and then laugh aga

    This book was amazing. It made me laugh, cry, and then laugh again! The character’s are loveable yet have a sexy edge that is hard to resist. I look forward to reading the next installment!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    great book.

    great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Great Book!

    Can't wait for the next one!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Great twist I did not see see coming. Well written and I loved t

    Great twist I did not see see coming. Well written and I loved the characters. Can't wait for the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2014

    4.25 stars:  HELL ON WHEELS is the first instalment in Julie Ann

    4.25 stars:  HELL ON WHEELS is the first instalment in Julie Ann Walker’s adult, contemporary, romantic Black Knight Inc suspense series focusing on a group of former Navy SEALs, Black Ops, ex military men and the women they love. With their base of operations fronted by a motorcycle repair shop, the men of Black Knight Inc –a covert government defense team- do the dirty work behind the scenes when terrorism and threats to National Security become real and mean. This is Nate Weller and Ali Morgan’s story.
    The focus of the storyline is Ali Morgan’s safety and finding the people who have been haunting her daily life since the death of her brother Grigg while on a secret assignment in the Middle East. Gregg’s death has weighed heavily on both Ali and Nate but none more so than Nate who feels responsible for the death of his best friend and ‘brother’. When Ali arrives at Black Knight Inc with a tale of being stalked and followed, Nate makes it his mission to protect his best friend’s little sister knowing that his heart was lost to the woman years before. But someone else is willing to take her out to hide a secret he doesn’t want anyone else to know.
    Julie Ann Walker writes an amazing storyline of suspense, mystery and action. The relationship between Ali and Nate begins as friends to lover but along the way Nate will push Ali away believing she holds him responsible for the death of her brother.
    The sex scenes are hot, sensual and a release because the sexual tension between our leading couple can be felt throughout the storyline. The storyline is told through a combination of memories, flashbacks and present day where we will discover the truth behind Grigg’s death and the fall out of a war that no body wants to lose. The secondary characters are colorful, heartbreaking and exuberant and, there is a building story between Rebecca (Black Knight’s mechanic) and Frank “Boss’ Knight-the leader of BKI. If you want a storyline that will make you cry, Hell on Wheels is a great start to what should be an amazing series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    An enjoyable book

    The book holds your interest, start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Holy Buckets----

    What a great read. Ms Walker tells an excellent story, I laughed and cried and definitely want to read more in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Shaun

    I spit it out gepross i spit it in my hand and say my little pony

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8