Customer Reviews for

Hell on Wheels (Black Knights Inc. Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Definitely in my "favorites" list....

My Review:
Yes, I'll admit it. I absolutely did bawl with ugly wrenching sobs at one point in this book and yes, that does mean this book is just that good!! For those of us that love romantic suspense along the lines of Cindy Gerard, Christy Reece, and Tara Janzen, th...
My Review:
Yes, I'll admit it. I absolutely did bawl with ugly wrenching sobs at one point in this book and yes, that does mean this book is just that good!! For those of us that love romantic suspense along the lines of Cindy Gerard, Christy Reece, and Tara Janzen, this is a brand spanking new series for you that you are GOING TO LOVE!!!

In this first book, we get introduced to the Black Knights, Inc. They are a black-ops contracting company that works out of Chicago under the guise of a custom motorcycle shop. And yeah, you guessed it, these guys all ride seriously souped-up motorcycles. *sigh* They're extremely bad-ass AND they ride hot bikes. This is my fantasy series!! Thank you Julie Ann!!!

Grigg and Nate have been best friends and tied to the hip since joining the Marines. They were a sniping team...Grigg, the spotter; Nate, the shooter. They got out of the Marines together 3 years ago and joined the Knights. But they were sent out on a mission that went horribly wrong and were captured and tortured for three days. Three days which Grigg didn't survive. The book opens with Nate and Grigg's little sister, Ali, right after he's told them that Grigg died. The family and Ali have no idea what they are really doing...they think they just work building motorcycles.

Within a couple of months, Ali realizes that something is very wrong. She's being followed and was even attacked so she high-tails it to Chicago to get Nate's help. It soon becomes very apparent that there's a whole lot of something else going on here and that it probably ties back to Grigg somehow. There has always been chemistry between Ali and Nate, but there are 2 problems there....Grigg told Nate to NEVER touch his sister, and Nate is hiding a horrible gut-wrenching secret about Grigg's death. OMG, I dare you not bawl like a little baby when it's revealed what really happened. OMG....poor Grigg and poor Nate. Gut. Wrenching.

Nate is one of those guys...he never says much and he sure doesn't share his feelings. I really loved him especially when it came out exactly "why" he doesn't ever talk around Ali. He just turned my heart to mush. Then there's Ali...LOL...that poor girl needs to get a tougher stomach, but after she's through getting sick...you can throw anything at her and she hardly flinches. She's tough. Grigg taught her well.

Then there are all the other members of the Knights. I can already promise you, this series is on my auto-review/then auto-buy list. I have an ARC of this on my kindle, but I WILL be going out to buy a print copy for my permanent bookshelf. Yes, it was truly that good!!

Honestly, I couldn't tell you the last time that I was this excited about a start of a series. I love these Knight boys....and Becky. Damn, this is a great start!!! Off to go check out the deets on book number 2, In Rides Trouble, out next month.

I received a complementary copy of this book in return for an honest review.

posted by SmittenWithReading on August 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

8/5/12

8/5/12 Pretty good start to a new series. The "h-e-double hockey sticks" and the vomiting got a bit much. No one spews THAT much unless they have a stomach virus.

posted by clr7483 on August 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    8/5/12

    8/5/12 Pretty good start to a new series. The "h-e-double hockey sticks" and the vomiting got a bit much. No one spews THAT much unless they have a stomach virus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Good

    ## I enjoyed this book for the most part. What I liked: Loved the story, the action and the intrigue. Also, a big part for me was the humor. There were several times I found myself laughing out loud. I found the ending was not rushed (yay -nice reward for the reader) and completely satisfied. What I didn't like: the romance was lacking, although it was implied. Second, I didn't like that the heroine kept vomiting so much (way overdone), and there's nothing sexy about that. And OMG, the hero spoke like a child. It seemed like he was too lazy to annunciate his words and just strung them into a bunch of weird contractions. That was so incredibly annoying! Again, not sexy. So a good story with humor, intrigue and even some heartwrenching angst, yep! Romance, not so much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2014

    3.5 Stars I wanted a big alpha and I definitely found it in Hel

    3.5 Stars

    I wanted a big alpha and I definitely found it in Hell on Wheels, unfortunately there were a lot of other things in this story that I just didn’t love.

    Let’s discuss the good first. The story is told in Alisa and Nate, our hero’s points of view which definitely did help give readers a look into how each of them were feeling. For the most part I was okay with our hero and heroine, they were both reasonable people. We don’t get to know them at a level I would have liked, but they both seemed honest and were people who were just doing the best they could with what they had. The story is high action and normally I’d like that, but my goodness Alisa, our heroine has the weakest stomach ever. She pukes at least once a chapter, I think I was getting sympathy sick with her. How does she ever have food left in her stomach after puking so much every day?

    I mentioned we get both Alisa and Nate’s points of view, but I didn’t mention that we also get four other characters’ points of view as well. That is SIX points of view in one story. It was a lot to keep up with. Especially because we don’t get a warning of who the point of view changed to when it did. It caused me to go back and re read once I figured it out on more than one occasion. Plus two of those other points of view are Rebecca and Frank (a story that I guess is coming up). It made the book feel like it was really two love stories. The main one being Alisa and Nate, but the secondary one was Rebecca and Frank. We meet them as characters, learn their history, and how they both feel about one another at the same time we’re doing those things with Nate and Alisa.

    With all these points of view and multiple ongoing stories I found myself skimming at times. We’d get pages and pages and pages of background scenes from multiple points of view one right after the other. I don’t need to relive the same scene twice. And with so many love stories going on we get so much of the ‘four’ main characters going on and on about their feelings and who/how they’re in love. Seriously, there was just pages of jibber-jabber on how they like each other but must resist. There would be one character analyzing their feelings for their ‘mate’ and then we’d switch points of view and do it all over again in the other character’s voice. And then we’d repeat it all over again in another four chapters or so. It was tiring. Really, I skimmed in order to save my sanity.

    Things started to pick up and I was really excited for an interesting ending, but sadly it just didn’t happen. The ending was way too fast and unbelievable. Basically their entire relationship is based on looks since they have no other foundation to build it on except years of wanting each other behind the scenes.

    I guess, I was just a little let down from Hell on Wheels, especially since I’ve had it on my list for so long. I definitely won’t be reading the other books in the set.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jen Book provided by the publisher for review Review

    Reviewed by Jen
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    Growing up a military brat (my father was in the Army), I’ve always been fascinated with romance books featuring members of the military. So, when I saw this new series I knew I had to give it a try. And as a debut author, Julie Ann Walker shows much promise with this book and series.

    What we have in Hell on Wheels is the set up of the Black Knights series as well as the love story between Nate and Ali. Because it’s the first book in the series, there is a lot of setting the stage which sometimes overwhelmed the love story. And there were a lot of characters to wrap my head around. When I thought I’d finally gotten everyone straight, someone new would be mentioned. I know this has to do with the world building, but so many of those introduced weren’t necessary at this point and could have been gradually worked in later in the series.

    My other pet peeve in this story was the head hopping. For me, the fewer heads we visit, the better. But in addition to our hero and heroine, we also were privy to the thoughts of both bad guys and at least 2 of the supporting folks in the Black Knight organization. And of course, this harks back to the world building aspect and setting up book two.

    So, this book is about Nate and Ali. They’ve known each other for years and unbeknownst to the other, they’ve each harbored a crush on each other. However, Nate is Ali’s brother’s best friend and the brother warned Nate off when he noticed the interest. Years later, Nate is back in Ali’s life to tell her that his brother is dead. They share a passionate, yet grief filled, night and go their separate ways. But when someone seems to be stalking Ali, she turned to Nate for help. And then all hell breaks loose.

    I was totally drawn into the story. There are lots of twists and turns when it comes to figuring out who’s targeting Ali (not for the reader, we know pretty early on… but more the mystery as the characters). The action scenes, whether it was a flashback to Nate’s military career or a car chase were written with so much description that I felt as if I was there. The spark between Ali and Nate burned up the pages. However, I did get tired of some of the repetitive internalization that Nate kept going through. His “I’m not worthy” attitude did start to get old after a while.

    That said, it was a very solid debut and I will be looking forward to reading more books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    K

    I dont know this book didnt really do anything for me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    just finished reading this book .not too sure if im going to con

    just finished reading this book .not too sure if im going to continue.  while  the book keeps you somewhat interested  all the "Sheesh'  and "double l hokey sticks"   and so forth immature speak  just  doesn't fit .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Eth

    Good choice. Eat this. It will send you back to camp alive. Hands her an opal, then swallows another

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Ok

    It was ok.. but im not going to buy the rest of the book ;p

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    highly recommend

    great story and great secondary characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    found myself skipping forward a bit to get past the too wordy pa

    found myself skipping forward a bit to get past the too wordy parts, and the vomiting was enough for one scene, but this chick is definitely on my must read list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1