BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hell or Richmond

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Peters follows his best-selling 2012 Civil War historical novel,

Peters follows his best-selling 2012 Civil War historical novel, Cain at Gettysburg, with another triumph of meticulous scholarship, compelling characterization and exciting, page-turning combat action. Hell or Richmond is not only story-telling at its best, it is an as...
Peters follows his best-selling 2012 Civil War historical novel, Cain at Gettysburg, with another triumph of meticulous scholarship, compelling characterization and exciting, page-turning combat action. Hell or Richmond is not only story-telling at its best, it is an astonishingly accurate account of the May-June 1864 clash of the Union Army of the Potomac and the Confederate Army of Northern Virginia from the nightmarish Battle of the Wilderness through the bloody carnage at the Battle of Cold Harbor. Peters has exhaustively mined hundreds of reference works, from the War of the Rebellion Official Records to soldiers’ letters and diaries, in order to accurately -- and magnificently -- recreate what Civil War combat actually felt like to the battles’ participants. Just one telling testament to Peters’ historical rigor is that his narrative even includes the correct weather for a given time of day, as soldiers in blue and gray marched and fought, alternately enduring blazing heat and drenching downpours. 
As in Cain at Gettysburg, Peters presents the commanders and common soldiers on both sides of the battle lines. Yet, in this superbly crafted novel, all of the characters are actual historical personages, resurrected and brought to vivid life by a writer at the top of his form. In his Author’s Note, Peters explains: “If historical fiction is properly done, it can bring history to life. History provides the identities. Historical fiction investigates the souls.” Hell or Richmond is, indeed, “historical fiction properly done,” revealing the very soul of deadly Civil War combat.

posted by Editor-ArmchairGeneral on May 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommend.

We have a trip planned for Virginia. Most of this trip will involve Colonial as well as Civil War era history. The author did a very good job at painting a vivid picture and putting the reader in the story line.

We also purchased "Gettysburg" on the Barnes & Noble ...
We have a trip planned for Virginia. Most of this trip will involve Colonial as well as Civil War era history. The author did a very good job at painting a vivid picture and putting the reader in the story line.

We also purchased "Gettysburg" on the Barnes & Noble $1.99 offer. Same with this book and we are really looking forward to our journey.

SAR-VA

Murrieta, CA

posted by SAR-VA on September 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Peters follows his best-selling 2012 Civil War historical novel,

    Peters follows his best-selling 2012 Civil War historical novel, Cain at Gettysburg, with another triumph of meticulous scholarship, compelling characterization and exciting, page-turning combat action. Hell or Richmond is not only story-telling at its best, it is an astonishingly accurate account of the May-June 1864 clash of the Union Army of the Potomac and the Confederate Army of Northern Virginia from the nightmarish Battle of the Wilderness through the bloody carnage at the Battle of Cold Harbor. Peters has exhaustively mined hundreds of reference works, from the War of the Rebellion Official Records to soldiers’ letters and diaries, in order to accurately -- and magnificently -- recreate what Civil War combat actually felt like to the battles’ participants. Just one telling testament to Peters’ historical rigor is that his narrative even includes the correct weather for a given time of day, as soldiers in blue and gray marched and fought, alternately enduring blazing heat and drenching downpours. 
    As in Cain at Gettysburg, Peters presents the commanders and common soldiers on both sides of the battle lines. Yet, in this superbly crafted novel, all of the characters are actual historical personages, resurrected and brought to vivid life by a writer at the top of his form. In his Author’s Note, Peters explains: “If historical fiction is properly done, it can bring history to life. History provides the identities. Historical fiction investigates the souls.” Hell or Richmond is, indeed, “historical fiction properly done,” revealing the very soul of deadly Civil War combat.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    If you have been lucky enough to read Cain at Gettysburg, Hell o

    If you have been lucky enough to read Cain at Gettysburg, Hell or Richmond continues the campaign and takes you even further into the Civil War experience. The reality of the battles and the everyday experiences of the common soldier and the officers makes this book extremely hard to put down. Peters has one upped Cain and any other historical novel written about that period. Can't wait til the next one hits the book stands!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    This is a wonderful book by Ralph Peters! This is a wonderful b

    This is a wonderful book by Ralph Peters! This is a wonderful book by Ralph Peters! Just as he did last year with "Cain at Gettysburg", this very gifted storyteller has captured the imagination of his readers as he teaches us lessons about our country's past. I have walked over much of the terrain Ralph describes so masterfully in "Hell or Richmond", I can attest to his absolute accuracy in describing the ground fought over by the fascinating characters he brings to life. This volume can stand alone, of course, but I would urge readers to add his first volume to their collection. I am glad to learn that he has embarked upon the writing of two additional volumes in what is fast becoming the defining treatment of the Civil War in American fiction. Spend some time now with those men in dusty blue and ragged gray that faced each other during the brutal month that spanned Grant's Overland Campaign. If you will, I'm sure that you will be just as eager as I am to read the next addition to this journey that must lead, eventually, to Appomattox Court House.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2014

    REBEKAH KELLER TO THE GIRL THAT KEEPS TXT ME

    Ok i dont have have your email so thats why im not responding please add my email so i can answer you please
    <p>
    R e b e k a h k e l l e r @ y a h o o . c o m
    <p>
    No spaces

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2014

    Aqua

    Morn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2014

    Link

    Good morning

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2014

    Taydem

    I know... -she gasps and dies-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2014

    Conn to taydem

    Ik this wont work but.... can u come bck pwz??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    Joe

    O.k. carrie. If you are on, t or d ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Aphrodite

    Waits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Multidimensional tale of the Overland campaign.  Very well done

    Multidimensional tale of the Overland campaign.  Very well done and highly readable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Interesting History

    This was an interesting history, but a difficult read. There was to much focus on things such as the spilled coffee and not enough on critical thinking by senior commanders.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1