Customer Reviews for

Hell to Pay: The Unfolding Story of Hillary Rodham Clinton

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    This book is a real eye opener for anyone wanting to know more a

    This book is a real eye opener for anyone wanting to know more about what makes HC tick. Although this book was written back in 1999, the events going on right now in America 2012, will open the readers eyes as to how this transformation has taken place. p.61 excerpt from article that was in the Yale Law Review in which HC was an editor:"Revolution is impossible when armed revolt by the citizenry-at-large would inevitably be put down by the military might at the disposal of those in control....What we advocate is the migration of large numbers of people to a single state for the express purpose of effecting the peaceful political takeover of that state through the elective process." p. 62 "While some 1960s radicals on the wilder fringes might have been merely self-indulgent fantasists, or spoiled college kids seeking to avoid the responsibilities of their parents, Hillary was a budding Leninist. Menshevik, Bolshevik, Trotskyite--they were all debating societies. What really mattered to Lenin--and what SAUL ALINSKY taught Hillary to value--was POWER. Also, the author of this book was killed in the plane crash that hit the Pentagon on September 11, 2001.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2007

    eye opening book about senator clinton

    recently I read 'Hell to pay' by barbra olson and was very impressed by this very well researched bio on senator clinton. the arthur shows how hillary in college was a republican and later left the republican cause but hillary turned to the black panthers and gave free legal advice to a gang member who shot a police officer and the mysterious death of vince voster and the fbi files of the rose law firm that were kept away from the justice dept.I think this book will open alot of questians for the 2008 election.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2004

    The 'Smartest Woman in the World' exposed!

    Great book, completely blows the lid off Hillary!! There is something wrong with our electorate when a person can simply move to a State, establish residency, then run for the Senate. In order to run for the House, you have to have lived in your district for at least 7 years, that way you can at least get some idea of the people you will be representing. We desperately need term limits for our Imperial Congress. Look out Amerika, Hillary has it in for us all and will stop at nothing to grab total power and be proclaimed 'Empress and Godess' by the Imperial Senate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2003

    Pretty good....expecting all of it's factual

    Personally I really enjoyed this book, it's prose presented like a well-read storyteller. I have a lot of respect for Barbara Olson (she was on the plane that crashed into the Pentagon), and am looking forward to reading her other book on the Clintons. But I do have a problem with her views. Ok, her husband is one of Dubya's attorneys' and was also a lawyer in the Reagan administration. She is a registered Republican. Now of course both sides are going to write books lambasting their enemies, but I just pray everything in here is factual. Because if it is/isn't then we're in a lot of trouble!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2002

    Important and Informative

    I am shocked to see that someone would actually rejoice to see Barbara Olson killed! Given the way that she died, it is not only a vile reaction but also an unpatriotic one (being glad that terrorists killed ANYONE!!) The book is quite revealing and very well-researched. (Notes and Bibliography in back). It is a must-read for anyone who wants to know what the Clintons wouldn't tell you themselves.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2002

    Thank you for the insight

    I have read other stories about the Clinton white house era; and I must say that this cements the first book that I read. I have always felt that the Clintons were dishonest. They (Clintons) need to remember that what goes around comes around. My deepest sympathies, go out to Mrs. Olson's family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2002

    Time to pay the piper Hilary!!

    I think this book is excellent. I'm glad I don't live in New York!!! For those who oppose this book - I think you are in the minority. And for the one person who said thank God the author died for her country - what a terrible thing to say about anyone. If Hilary Rodham died tomorrow I wouldn't say thank God.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2002

    Eye Opening

    I had no idea how evil the Clintons are. I agree with others who say this book should be required reading for NY voters. I am ashamed that this woman and her husband representated our country in it's highest position. If you or I had done the things that Bill and Hillary Clinton have done, we would be in prison for sure!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2002

    Listen America !!

    This is one of the MOST important books EVER published.The other one is The Final Days. Both books tell you just what the Clintons are like and why you should be concerned.IF there was EVER an eye-opener--this is it !! Barbara Olson never got to see The Final Days published because she was one of the people killed in one of the planes that crashed on 9-11.This is about something EVERY American should know.It is too late to say THANK YOU to Barbara--but I do so anyway--THANK YOU BARBARA FOR NOW AND FOREVER !! GOD BLESS AMERICA

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2001

    Required Reading

    This book should be required reading for anyone voting on a Clinton ballot in the future. Barbara is an excellent writer and gives everyone a more realistic view of what the Clinton's were really like before and after elected into office.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2001

    WAKEUP AMERICA

    Barbara Olson is one of the few journalists both qualified and courageous enough to dig out the truth about the Clintons. What has happened to the people of this country who not only close their eyes to evil politicians such as the Clintons but actually jump on their bandwagon? While reading this book people like Hitler, Stalin, Castro,etc. kept popping up between the lines. Hillary is now a Senator and will continue to have a platform for her evil. This is not about democrats vs republicans it is evil vs good. The totally destroyed the lives of many, many people to retain their agenda. It is very frightening.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2001

    Barbara Olson, rest in peace

    Barbara Olson's book 'Hell to Pay' is an excellent book, truth indeed. She died today, September 11, 2001 as a passenger on board the airliner that was hikacked and crashed into the Pentagon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2001

    My Prayers Go to her husband & Family

    So sad to see this woman killed in the Pentagon crash. Her ability to express herself so well will be missed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2000

    hell to pay illuminates 'real' hillary

    Author Barbara Olson really deserves five stars for this effort to unravel HRC's almost unfathomable financial shenanigans but I doubt if Peter Lynch could do so. My husband and I both read this book but only in small doses. We were not big fans of Hillary before reading this volume, but afterwards we were saddened to think this creature was still in public life. She is frightening. A few pages at a time are all one can take. We picked a 4-star rating after trying to digest the monetary manipulation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2000

    Uncovering The True Hillary

    The book is excellent. Upon reading the book it enlightend me about who truly had the upper hand in the white house. It made me shake in my boots to think how we as a society are leaning towards a goverment that will eventually remove our freedom of speech and our ability to form our own decisions. The book gave sound evidence to how corrupt goverment has become.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2000

    EYE OPENING (CLEAR CONCISE AND TO THE POINT)

    Barbara states facts and gives you the unwritten story of the real powers that be in the white house. She clearly shows Hillary's motives and agenda from radical roots, how she switched from being a 'Goldwater Girl' to sixties radical - and how, since then, she has maintained her ties to the radical left. A must read for all americans. thank you Barbara! JD Carroll Philadelphia

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2000

    DYNAMIC, THOUGHTFUL Work

    Succinct, cogent history of the woman, Hillary. No psychobabble, bright author!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2000

    VERITAS AT LAST

    AN ACCURATE ASSESSMENT OF HILLARY CLINTON.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2000

    NEW YORK VOTERS - - - BEWARE!

    This book is must reading for any person eligible to vote in New York's Senate race. This carpetbagger is poison!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2000

    Informed reader

    When I purchased this book and started reading it I could not put it down. The information contained in this book will help explain the reasons for the actions of the White House over the past 7 years. Other books that I have read, specifically Gary Aldrich 'Unlimited Access', gave me basic information about how the White House operated during the Clinton administration. This book gives the reasons why certain actions were taken and how the minds of people running the White House operated and shows the power structure of who was really in charge. The author displays in detail the philosophies of Hillary Clinton and how she came to these beliefs and the people that gave them to her. The histories in the book show the early days of the Hillary in her collage days and how she started in Arkansas and later how those models were applied to the United States. A good touch is the passages from 'Rules for Radicals' at the beginning of each chapter that give the basic belief of Hillary that are detailed in the chapter. In summation, the book is an excellent read for the politicy informed. The backup footnotes give good background for any questions that might arise if you are challenged for quoting from this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2