Customer Reviews for

Hell to Pay (Nightside Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Highly recommend.

    You do not have to read this series in order, but it helps. Anyone that has an interest in this subject will really enjoy this series. The books are an easy read with a lot of humor. I have liked the way he has evolved the characters. One thing I have liked about all 12 of the books is how he had taken topics that are of interest to many and made a wonderful story. Of course, John Taylor,like Harry Potter always seems to have that ace in the hole that allows him to get out of the holes he finds himself in. One of the features I have enjoyed is one minute someone can be helping John and the next trying to collect the bounty he has on his head.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    Strange Beginning for a Green Book, But Still Is Able To Reach Green's Amazing Standards

    In the beginning of this book, I thought i was being ripped off (I'm such a fast reader, I'm lucky if a book this length will keep a day). But in the end it had all of the action, all of the twists and turns, and all of the Brittish varients of American words that a Simon R. Green book could hold, AND hold a major guest appearance as well! No I'm not going to tell you. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!BUY THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    outstanding

    green's nightside series is amazingly descriptive and original. this installment does not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Unusual

    This entire series is very unusual. The characters are gritty and some are easy to like, others not so much. Sometimes a slow read at first but then it really picks up steam. Unusual plots and a different kind of sci-fi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thankfully, it's business as usual (or unusual) in the Nightside.

    The war with Lilith is over and now, since she killed off all the Authorities, the fight for control of the Nightside has begun. Green has created a world within the world that is creepy, scary, twisted, and utterly fascinating. Kinda like looking at a car wreck. It's ugly, it's horrible, but you can't look away. Plus, his characters are really one of a kind. Come, join us as tourists in the Nightside. It will be a trip you will never forget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2007

    Not as good as prior Nightside books

    I was disappointed in this book. I have read many other books by Simon Green and have always enjoyed the wit, sarcasm, and over the top attitude that exist in many of his books. This book was a little too much. Many of the solutions to problems and confrontations in this book were absolutely cartoonish. I suggest skipping this book and reading other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2007

    WOW!!!

    i love this series and so far i haven't been let down by any one of these books of the series and to go farther i haven't been disappointed in any of the books i have read written by simon green. though i was alittle sad when everyone's favorite heroin didn't show in the book but i guess a trany doing impressions is enough for this book. i can only hope she will make an apperance next time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Mr. Green writes dark fantasy with lighthearted moments

    The Nightside is a realm within London that only certain people know about. It is a place where darkness never ends and good and evil exist side by side although Heaven and Hell can not interfere directly with the people who live there. Anything or just about anyone can be bought or sold there for the right price creatures of myth and legend, and people from the future and other dimensions can be seen there. Now that the Lilith war is over and PI John Tyler won the hostilities but refused the crown he is in need of funds.---------------- Jeremiah Griffin and his family are among the few human immortals in the Nightside. He changed his will leaving everything to his granddaughter Melissa who is as strong as he is. However, someone kidnapped her from the mundane and magically projected Griffin home. He calls on John to find her with in twenty four hours as she needs her to sign some papers before she is eighteen. However a powerful force is blocking John¿s Sight, which normally allows him to find anyone or anything thus he must search the old fashioned way and hope he can find her without getting anyone, including himself killed.---------------- A new story arc has begun now that the Lilith war is over, which brings with it freshness and an audience wondering how Simon R. Green will match the previous excellent arc. Walker is in charge even though the authorities that gave him power have disappeared. Change is coming but John, a heroic figure, is more interested in solving his case than in taking over the Nightside or becoming part of the new world order. Mr. Green writes dark fantasy with lighthearted moments such as when the hero gets himself out of one predicament only to land back in trouble as John lives life leaping out of the proverbial boiling pot.------------ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4