BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hellbent (Cheshire Red Reports Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    I read Hellbent while I was at the AP English Literature Reading

    I read Hellbent while I was at the AP English Literature Reading in Louisville, KY. For 9 days, I spent 8am - 5pm reading essay question 3 of the AP Lit test. One would think that I wouldn't want to read anything after reading essays all day, but I did. This is my first book by Priest to read and I think I will read more. I didn't love Hellbent, but it was entertaining enough for me to keep reading.

    The protagonist, Raylene, is smart, witty, sassy, and scarred. Since I didn't read the first book in this series, I missed some of her back story. That didn't stop me from understanding and enjoying this book, though. I enjoyed the action scenes and many of the scenes with Raylene and the cast of characters she meets in her adventures. I didn't quite understand what motivated Raylene in a few of the scenes, and that did frustrate me a bit. She seemed closed off and wary in the opening scenes of the novel, but then she invites a relative stranger to live with her in her secret home. While she does have a history of taking in a few "strays," I didn't exactly see why she took in this latest guest. I see why Priest included it as a plot device, but I didn't buy that Raylene would do that. Maybe if I had read the first book in the series, I would be more understanding.

    Priest includes several conflicts to keep the plot moving and most of them were fun adventures. The one constant conflict involves penis bones. Yep, penis bones. When I first read that, I snorted out loud in the essay reading room. People around me frowned at me. But, how can you not snort at a book that includes penis bones? Obviously, these are not human penis bones. They are the bones of other mystical creatures - werewolves and the like. These bones help magnify the magical power of the user. Odd, but I went with it. At the very least, it was original. I haven't read other books about magical penis bones. (As a side note, when I was in graduate school, I often dreamed about the lofty literature I would read and discuss. Never did I ever think I'd be writing about a book that has penis bones as a central plot element. Kind of fun, isn't it?)

    Most of the conflicts were resolved satisfactorily. The ending of the novel clearly sets up the next installment in the series. I may go back to read the first book in the series, Bloodshot, but I'm not in a hurry.

    2 1/2 stars out of 5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    I love this series so far. I am excited to see where it will go.

    I love this series so far. I am excited to see where it will go. I love the characters and their little quarkie personalities. I really hope the author comes out with another one soon. I highly recommend reading these books. One brief warning it has a male cross-dresser that is a secondary character but he is a main feature in the book and frequently brought up. If you have a problem with cross-dressers you should know there is one in this book. He is a well written character that is strong and caring. I have no problem with his unique tastes and find him all the more endearing for them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hellbent is another fun, witty joyride from Cherie Priest. Rayle

    Hellbent is another fun, witty joyride from Cherie Priest. Raylene Pendle makes a massively entertaining vampiric narrator with sticky-fingered tendencies. If you like a good urban fantasy adventure with some different vampires than you’re used to and a healthy dose of sarcasm and humor, this is right up your alley. However, if your sense of humor doesn’t match up with Priest’s writing, you will probably want to skip this one. Pendle’s personality stays consistent through the book. If you enjoyed the first novel and its narration, then you won’t want to miss this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Raylene is at it Again

    Raylene¿s little family is growing, including their problems. Ian¿s house just lost the leader, Ian father. Now Ian¿s brother Max is trying to get him to come back to the house and run it or publicly announces that he doesn¿t want the position. Unfortunately, if he shows up he will be killed because of his blindness.

    Then Horace calls Raylene with a job. A box of interesting artifacts that have a lot of magical powers has been discovered but Horace couldn¿t get them. When Raylene goes on the hunt, she is almost killed by a witch with the power to call lightning. The witch believes that, with the artifacts, she can undo mistakes in her past.

    Raylene also has Adrian to work with since she promised him that she would find his missing sister, Isabelle. When an opportunity comes up to go to Atlanta, to find out what happened to Ian¿s father, Adrien is all on board to come along and help Raylene and try to find his sister.

    I really like this series. For a vampire that hates to be around people, Ray is getting an odd assortment in her little family. There is a lot of action and I have to laugh as how Ray seems to be played by Adrian but goes along with it.

    I will admit that I was not impressed with the ending. Don¿t get me wrong, I think that was a great ending, it was just way to blunt. I felt that there should have been a little more explanation or follow up with what happens afterwards.

    This book was great. If you like science fiction and vampires, you would like this book. I can¿t wait to read the next one in this series.

    I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hellbent goodness :)

    (Originally reviewed for FantasyGuide)

    Hellbent was my first foray into the world's of Cherie Priest. I've heard wonderful things about her steampunk series, the Clockwork Century, but of her vampire series, beginning with Bloodshot, I'd heard very little.

    Let me put that to rest.

    If you're just looking for all that glitters, this isn't the spot. Nor is Priest's take on vampires entirely horrific, though. What she is is blunt and snarky and very engaging.

    You can almost forget that Ray (Raylene) is a vampire, except maybe when she's rescuing a kitten that's tracked through a crime scene because its paws smell so good, what with all that fresh blood. Ray is a thief. A very, very good thief, who's hired to track down some magical artifacts and relive their current owner of them. The maniac witch that's threatening to bring down heaven and hell with them is just a complication in the plan, right?

    The other major plot threads of the novel center around blind Ian (another vampire) and his former House, and Adrian's (a human) search for what happened to his sister. While a lot of the historical details to these plots is left unsaid, enough context was given (and even an outright "This is what happened before" blurt) that you didn't feel lost if you hadn't read the first book. It also didn't feel like Priest overly did the recap, as most of it was up front early on, letting the story progress on its own from there.

    Hellbent was a splendid mix of action and comedy, and of course magic, vampires, ghouls, and some tasty, bloody kitten paws. Probably a few too many jokes about the objects Ray is hired to steal (I'd hate to be the one to reveal that spoiler), but other than that a solid, fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Episodic but Enjoyable

    This book involves Raylene's efforts to acquire rare penis bones (bacula) worth millions and her infiltration of a notorious Atlanta Vampire House in order to somehow leverage information she obtains from Atlanta to extricate her blind vampire house-mate, Ian, from his original San Francisco House. Neither story line is thematically related and neither leads to a climactic confrontation. Nonetheless, both stories are entertaining.

    The bacula story line provides entertaining dialogue and action featuring Raylene and her drag queen/x-navy seal friend, Adrian deJesus. Further, Raylene's attempts to acquire the bones leads to the addition of a new cast member, Elizabeth Creed, a 50ish schizophrenic astrophysicist capable of casting catastrophic magical curses with the bones.

    The second story line involving vampire house politics provides entertaining interactions between Raylene and Adrian, who pose as a vampire master and her human ghoul. Plus, suspenseful scenes ensue between Raylene and various vampires. Further, a new vampire is added to Raylene's household.

    Overall, this book was enjoyable and expanded Raylene's world; but, it's not as comprehensively entertaining as the first book. I recommend this book and series to all urban fantasy fans and all readers who enjoy fanciful noir stories of the supernatural.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    More please!

    Not to sound like a fangirl but my goodness, the ending left me eager for more of this series! I really like the voice of the narrator and the pace of the story. Both pulled me in and allowed me to enjoy the storyline while not bogging me down with tangents or dragging out the action to the last chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a jocular thriller

    Vampire thief Raylene Pendle is hired to steal magical bones. To Raylene this is an easy job until she meets up with a certifiable witch wanting the same artifacts. The insane hag shoots lightning at her. Raylene dodges the sorcery attack.

    Residing with Raylene in her Seattle home is the blind vampire Ian Stott and the former Navy SEAL turned drag queen Adrian deJesus. When Ian's sire dies, unknown adversaries attack the blind vampire. Besides battling a psychopath witch over some bones and investigating the murder of Ian's sire, Raylene with Adrian at her side must keep the sightless vamp safe while also keeping the various vampire houses from ripping open the throats of her and her two housemates.

    The second Raylene Pendle urban fantasy noir (see Bloodshot) is a jocular thriller told mostly in the first person by the roguish protagonist, whose asides as a bloodsucking thief and discerning politically incorrect analysis of the houses vampire make for a fun tale. The fast-paced story line grips the reader who will find Pendle's peril enjoyable but also realize the overarching conspiratorial theme fails to move forward.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2