Customer Reviews for

Hellforged

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Hellforged

    I strongly suggest you read the previous book in the series (Deadtown) prior to reading this installment. Vicky's character is clueless most of the times for a professional demon fighter who has seen the worst things imaginable. You would think she'd be suspicious of everything and continually on her guard; but no, she wanders around and into all traps with her demon-fighter instinct, completely flaccid. Besides that annoying character trait, I did enjoy this installment. The story was creative and flowed well. It was very interesting, and at the times when I wasn't irritated with Vicky's stupidity, I was laughing. This installment was hilarious! The author did a great job on describing Vicky's ancestry and how the rift between the shape shifters and demon-kind came to be. The author delved deeper into Vicky and Kane's relationship. I wondered during the last installment, why the author even bothered including him in the book. She did expound on Kane's character and knocked him off his high horse a bit and now I can't wait to see he and Vicky's future developments, they make a really great team. I must say, Aunt Mab was by far my favorite character of all. She was a deadly little fireball. Her character was so deceiving; on the outside she appeared as a demure older women but when she opens up she's all tooth and nails. I highly recommend this book to fellow dark urban fantasy fans and also look forward to reading the next book Bloodstone due out October 2011. I also recommend: Siren Song Working for the Devil (Dante Valentine, Book 1) Moon Called (Mercy Thompson) Once Bitten Magic Bites (Kate Daniels, Book 1)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I love this series.

    For most of Hellforged the cast is pretty small. We don't get to see much of the secondary characters, since Vicky spends a large part of the book in Wales studying with her Aunt Mab.

    The first part Hellforged is in Boston and there is something killing the zombies in Deadtown. And something even weirder is going on with Vicky's roommate, Juliet. Vicky's not sure if two things are connected and asks for info from Detective Daniel about the zombie cases.

    Speaking of Daniel, things between him and Vicky are still just friendly until she tells him that she is leaving town for a few weeks. He gives her a toe curling kiss to remember him by while she is gone.

    Kane is still in Washington, DC working on civil rights for the paranormal community. He and Vicky talk whenever their busy schedules allow them. And that's about all for the romance department until the last half of the book.

    After speaking with her Aunt, Vicky makes a quick flight to Wales to get help with a past evil. This part of Hellforged was a little slow but we get to learn a little more about Mab and meet a new evil character that Vicky battles throughout the book.

    Once Vicky gets on the airplane to return to Boston the action doesn't stop. The bad guys are taken down and a there is a few new develops in the romance department. There are a few unanswered questions about the weirdness that is going on with Juliet and a great setup for the 3rd book in the series, Bloodstone.

    I have Bloodstone sitting on my shelf and I can't wait to dig in to see what happens next. I love this series. Fans of Urban Fantasies like Kate Daniels and Jaz Parks will want to check this series out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great book, even better than the first.

    This was a great read and I will continue to purchase books from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Hella good

    Good fast read that kept my attention the whole way through

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hellforged

    I strongly suggest you read the previous book in the series (Deadtown) prior to reading this installment.

    Vicky's character is clueless most of the times for a professional demon fighter who has seen the worst things imaginable. You would think she'd be suspicious of everything and continually on her guard; but no, she wanders around and into all traps with her demon-fighter instinct, completely flaccid. Besides that annoying character trait, I did enjoy this installment.

    The story was creative and flowed well. It was very interesting, and at the times when I wasn't irritated with Vicky's stupidity, I was laughing. This installment was hilarious! The author did a great job on describing Vicky's ancestry and how the rift between the shape shifters and demon-kind came to be.

    The author delved deeper into Vicky and Kane's relationship. I wondered during the last installment, why the author even bothered including him in the book. She did expound on Kane's character and knocked him off his high horse a bit and now I can't wait to see he and Vicky's future developments, they make a really great team. I must say, Aunt Mab was by far my favorite character of all. She was a deadly little fireball. Her character was so deceiving; on the outside she appeared as a demure older women but when she opens up she's all tooth and nails.

    I highly recommend this book to fellow dark urban fantasy fans and also look forward to reading the next book Bloodstone due out October 2011.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2