BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hellhole

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I highly recommend this book for readers new and old to KJA and BH

I just finished an advance copy of Hellhole by Brian Herbert and Kevin J. Anderson. My first statement is that I thoroughly enjoyed it. From start to finish I found it to be "edge of my seat" engrossing. There were many times where one chapter ends on a cliff hanger,...
I just finished an advance copy of Hellhole by Brian Herbert and Kevin J. Anderson. My first statement is that I thoroughly enjoyed it. From start to finish I found it to be "edge of my seat" engrossing. There were many times where one chapter ends on a cliff hanger, and I found that I had to restrict myself to not skip ahead to find out what happens to that one story line. But in slowing down my desire, I was able to appreciate the many different plot elements being attended to and how the separate story lines contributed to the greater narration of the overarching "story." Patience is a virtue in reading and acquiring the details of each character, their relationships amongst the many characters and the development of the culminating denouement. Here's how I know I like a writer, or in this case writers. For me, when I recall not only the plot action, but also the description of the people and places surrounding the activity vividly, that's when I know a writer has touched me as a reader. What is most satisfying occurs at the end of Hellhole is when all the different plots and subplots merge into the same "intersection" (as I'll call it). It is at this intersection that the different threads are clearly tied into one side or the other of book's "conflict." I find this type of cliffhanger to be fresh and inventive.

I would recommend this book to both new to KJA/BH readers and veteran readers. I think that Hellhole is a great introduction to the combined writing styles of BH and KJA. I especially encourage "new-to-them" readers, because a new reader might not be put off by the immense and rich backstory that these authors tackled and are tackling with the Dune universe. With Hellhole, a new reader can begin with a fresh story line in an fresh and well fleshed out "universe." I would also recommend the premiere of this new trilogy for fans of BH and KJA as it shows how well their writing styles work together. BH and KJA have worked wonders to create a thrilling and copiously tethered story line that I believe will surely keep my interest for two more books.

posted by shannonpreto on January 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Good Start

I received an Advance Reading Copy of this book from one of the authors, Kevin J. Anderson.
I was looking forward to exploring a new universe created by him and Mr. Herbert.
For the first part of the book, nothing really stood out for me.
After a couple of characte...
I received an Advance Reading Copy of this book from one of the authors, Kevin J. Anderson.
I was looking forward to exploring a new universe created by him and Mr. Herbert.
For the first part of the book, nothing really stood out for me.
After a couple of characters discovered the remains of an ancient alien race, the book picked up quite well.
The pace moved along well. One chapter would end on a cliffhanger of some sort and in most cases, I couldn't wait until the focus came around on that character again.
Some characters were developed better than others, though. I really didn't find myself too interested in the main character, General Adolphus all that much. Hopefully, he'll be more rounded in the next couple of books.
Comparisons to Herbert and Anderson's Dune novels and Anderson's own Saga of Seven Suns aside, this is the start of a series that should be enjoyable to all who love science fiction.

posted by Gnomicron on February 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    A Good Start

    I received an Advance Reading Copy of this book from one of the authors, Kevin J. Anderson.
    I was looking forward to exploring a new universe created by him and Mr. Herbert.
    For the first part of the book, nothing really stood out for me.
    After a couple of characters discovered the remains of an ancient alien race, the book picked up quite well.
    The pace moved along well. One chapter would end on a cliffhanger of some sort and in most cases, I couldn't wait until the focus came around on that character again.
    Some characters were developed better than others, though. I really didn't find myself too interested in the main character, General Adolphus all that much. Hopefully, he'll be more rounded in the next couple of books.
    Comparisons to Herbert and Anderson's Dune novels and Anderson's own Saga of Seven Suns aside, this is the start of a series that should be enjoyable to all who love science fiction.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    I highly recommend this book for readers new and old to KJA and BH

    I just finished an advance copy of Hellhole by Brian Herbert and Kevin J. Anderson. My first statement is that I thoroughly enjoyed it. From start to finish I found it to be "edge of my seat" engrossing. There were many times where one chapter ends on a cliff hanger, and I found that I had to restrict myself to not skip ahead to find out what happens to that one story line. But in slowing down my desire, I was able to appreciate the many different plot elements being attended to and how the separate story lines contributed to the greater narration of the overarching "story." Patience is a virtue in reading and acquiring the details of each character, their relationships amongst the many characters and the development of the culminating denouement. Here's how I know I like a writer, or in this case writers. For me, when I recall not only the plot action, but also the description of the people and places surrounding the activity vividly, that's when I know a writer has touched me as a reader. What is most satisfying occurs at the end of Hellhole is when all the different plots and subplots merge into the same "intersection" (as I'll call it). It is at this intersection that the different threads are clearly tied into one side or the other of book's "conflict." I find this type of cliffhanger to be fresh and inventive.

    I would recommend this book to both new to KJA/BH readers and veteran readers. I think that Hellhole is a great introduction to the combined writing styles of BH and KJA. I especially encourage "new-to-them" readers, because a new reader might not be put off by the immense and rich backstory that these authors tackled and are tackling with the Dune universe. With Hellhole, a new reader can begin with a fresh story line in an fresh and well fleshed out "universe." I would also recommend the premiere of this new trilogy for fans of BH and KJA as it shows how well their writing styles work together. BH and KJA have worked wonders to create a thrilling and copiously tethered story line that I believe will surely keep my interest for two more books.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Loved the planet, the characters, and the plot. Can't wait for


    Loved the planet, the characters, and the plot. Can't wait for the next two books. I keep checking but don't have a clue as to when they will be published.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    This book does not earn the lavish praise that appears on the co

    This book does not earn the lavish praise that appears on the cover and elsewhere, although it could have. The plot has a clever angle with promise, but the characterization is extremely shallow and cartoon-like. Furthermore the authors frequently display a poor technique in some aspects of story telling: instead of creating and inserting anecdotal situations to reveal character or story details, they write a description or an explanation, put it into parentheses, and just stick it in there. It looks like someone performing a theatrical aside, saying a line to the audience behind the back side of his hand. My reaction in one such instance was, "Don't tell me this, that the General's men are extraordinarily loyal, show me." To me this book read more like a set up for a movie than like a good, solid, science fiction novel. On the bright side, the story has promise for a good epic series if the authors will work their craft more rigorously. They also need to get better support from the people who read the draft because the shortcomings are obvious and should have been fixed before the final.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    So who wants to move to Hellhole??

    Loved every page! Fans of Dune must try this! The characters are great and the new worlds are fantastic. Oh and there are even some aliens! :)

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This outer space science fiction thriller pays homage to Dune with the Hellhole environ

    From the frontier aptly titled planet Hellhole, exiled rebel General Tiber Adolphus remains adamant with his opposition to the avarice plots of the Crown Jewel worlds and Diadem Michella Duchenet. He and his cohorts know what they must do if they are to overcome the powerful elite, but to achieve it seems out of reach especially from the nightmarish orb they hide on. His side must find a means to end the royal space travel monopoly. Once that is achieved, they can go onto the next step which is to forge an alliance of Deep Zone planets.

    On Sonjeera far from the Deep Zone frontier planets, Diadem Michella has issues with the ancient noble families. At the same time her preoccupation means she and her advisors fail to notice Adolphus is implementing plans that could shake the royal stranglehold on space travel and beyond that much more.
    .
    This outer space science fiction thriller pays homage to Dune with the Hellhole environ, but takes its own overall entertaining spin in spite of none of the key cast breaking out of stereotypical roles. The story line is filled with action although the ending is a disappointment as that resolves nothing except set the stage for the next saga. Still fans of Dune will enjoy this epic offspring space opera.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    A lot of wasted filler

    A lot of wasted filler

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Do Not buy this book until the whole trilogy is complete and available.

    Shades of JR Ewing and Dallas - the first book does Not come to even a semi-conclusion, but is a cliff-hanger - without even an expected publication date on book 2 -- shame on Brian and Kevin - Frank must be doing multiple turns in his grave.
    Other than that, which is enough for a single star - would give the book a 3 to a 3.5.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Great Book

    It is well written, has a great plot, and has rich characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Excellent read!!

    Herbert and Anderson have created a believeable universe with equally believeable characters. This series promises to be as good and as readable as their Dune prequel series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Overly long with unneccerary detail when brevity would suffice.

    A decent story line dragged out to the point of boredom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    Wasn't great.

    Hellhole kind of sucked. The characters where somewhat interesting but the plot sucks and makes it very easy to see things coming. The whole book is just political posturing it can be very boring if you do not enjoy that sort of thing. A Sci Fi book without at least some action is kind of like a horror film with out anything scary.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3