Customer Reviews for

Hellhole

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I highly recommend this book for readers new and old to KJA and BH

I just finished an advance copy of Hellhole by Brian Herbert and Kevin J. Anderson. My first statement is that I thoroughly enjoyed it. From start to finish I found it to be "edge of my seat" engrossing. There were many times where one chapter ends on a cliff hanger,...
I just finished an advance copy of Hellhole by Brian Herbert and Kevin J. Anderson. My first statement is that I thoroughly enjoyed it. From start to finish I found it to be "edge of my seat" engrossing. There were many times where one chapter ends on a cliff hanger, and I found that I had to restrict myself to not skip ahead to find out what happens to that one story line. But in slowing down my desire, I was able to appreciate the many different plot elements being attended to and how the separate story lines contributed to the greater narration of the overarching "story." Patience is a virtue in reading and acquiring the details of each character, their relationships amongst the many characters and the development of the culminating denouement. Here's how I know I like a writer, or in this case writers. For me, when I recall not only the plot action, but also the description of the people and places surrounding the activity vividly, that's when I know a writer has touched me as a reader. What is most satisfying occurs at the end of Hellhole is when all the different plots and subplots merge into the same "intersection" (as I'll call it). It is at this intersection that the different threads are clearly tied into one side or the other of book's "conflict." I find this type of cliffhanger to be fresh and inventive.

I would recommend this book to both new to KJA/BH readers and veteran readers. I think that Hellhole is a great introduction to the combined writing styles of BH and KJA. I especially encourage "new-to-them" readers, because a new reader might not be put off by the immense and rich backstory that these authors tackled and are tackling with the Dune universe. With Hellhole, a new reader can begin with a fresh story line in an fresh and well fleshed out "universe." I would also recommend the premiere of this new trilogy for fans of BH and KJA as it shows how well their writing styles work together. BH and KJA have worked wonders to create a thrilling and copiously tethered story line that I believe will surely keep my interest for two more books.

posted by shannonpreto on January 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Good Start

I received an Advance Reading Copy of this book from one of the authors, Kevin J. Anderson.
I was looking forward to exploring a new universe created by him and Mr. Herbert.
For the first part of the book, nothing really stood out for me.
After a couple of characte...
I received an Advance Reading Copy of this book from one of the authors, Kevin J. Anderson.
I was looking forward to exploring a new universe created by him and Mr. Herbert.
For the first part of the book, nothing really stood out for me.
After a couple of characters discovered the remains of an ancient alien race, the book picked up quite well.
The pace moved along well. One chapter would end on a cliffhanger of some sort and in most cases, I couldn't wait until the focus came around on that character again.
Some characters were developed better than others, though. I really didn't find myself too interested in the main character, General Adolphus all that much. Hopefully, he'll be more rounded in the next couple of books.
Comparisons to Herbert and Anderson's Dune novels and Anderson's own Saga of Seven Suns aside, this is the start of a series that should be enjoyable to all who love science fiction.

posted by Gnomicron on February 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Excellent read!!

    Herbert and Anderson have created a believeable universe with equally believeable characters. This series promises to be as good and as readable as their Dune prequel series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1