Customer Reviews for

The Hellion and the Highlander

Average Rating 4
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 147 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The story line is exciting and fast-paced

    Averill Montgagne nurses comatose Kade Stewart who saved her brother Will when both were prisoners for three years. When Kade talks to her, she knows he is healing after two weeks of being unconscious. He got them along with his cousin Ian and two others out of the Infidel prison and to England only to be hurt when their boat crashed.

    He learns three men have rejected his nurse; her dad has arranged for another oaf to meet her. She has red hair and the devil's mark on her cheek as well as she stammers when nervous. Will tells Kade the English reject her due to her stammer and hair color. Kade likes Averill, but she lacks the spirit he needs when he challenges his drunkard dad for the laird of Stewart. Her dad hides her hair and mark and makes her drunk so she will not stammer when she meets Lord Seawell who is nasty to Averill. When his mom calls her ugly and he agrees, she punches him in the nose and pukes all over them before leaving.

    Kade tells Will he will marry Averill. He tells her she is pretty and they agree to marry. After the wedding, she is nervous over the bedding so he uses fruit to relax her before they make love. They leave for Stewart with Will and his men as their escorts. The place is a disaster as his father and two brothers are drunks. Averill adds drops to their whisky making them puke whenever they drink while someone tries to kill Kade, but had not counted on his ferocious wife.

    The story line is exciting and fast-paced as the lead couple is a nice pairing since he enjoys her clever mind. The humor involving to tup or not to tup adds fun to an entertaining historical although the villain once revealed proves to be a weak character.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Excellent Read!!!

    Enjoyed very much, Highly Recommend!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    OMG this book was HILARIOUS! The whole discussion of the "p

    OMG this book was HILARIOUS! The whole discussion of the "piffle" had me crying I was laughing so hard! I have dubbed poor Averill "Calamity Jane"...the more she tried the worse the situations became. (much to my delight and amusement!) This book just makes me LOVE Lynsay all the more!(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    I'd like to start by saying that I'm typically a massive Sands f

    I'd like to start by saying that I'm typically a massive Sands fan and have read pretty much everything she's released since her first Argenou novel. However, this book was just kind of so-so for me. While I found the beginning of it quite sweet and I really enjoyed the beginning parts of their falling for one another, once they've actually married, the story kind of fell flat for me. I felt like the whole 'someone is trying to kill him everywhere he goes and it's someone you know' is getting kind of over-killed in this little trilogy she has. (ie the first book of the series "Devil of the Highlands") I didn't feel connected with the characters after they left, or the plotline.

    It felt kind of like a sweet love story and then like the plot line was an after thought, and when it got thrown in, the romance was forgotten. Sands' normally steamy scenes were pretty much gone for me as well. I don't know if it's because I've read so much of her work that it's just seeming repetitive or if it was just simply bland, but I was fairly disappointed by the end of the book. It was an okay read, but not worth re-reading for me. (I also wish I had gotten it from the library rather than bought it)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Charming........................................................

    Charming..........................................................
    Sweet story-----------except for the fact someone is trying to kill him. And he's from a highly dysfunctional family. But not to worry she has his back. Pretty good read. I'd try the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    LOVED IT!

    This was such a good and funny read! *spoiler alert!*: I hope Ian's story is next!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Gray book!!

    Love the historical series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Sweet!

    I love the entire series. Her heroes are often misunderstood and her heroines are often smart and feisty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    Very Good

    This is the story of Kade Stewart, missing brother of Merry from Taming the Highland Bride. Where Taming the Highland Bride leaves off, this book picks up. We find out what has been going on in Kade's life and follow his story line as he takes a wife.
    Lynsay Sands is an excellent writer. I loved her vampire books and was surprised that her historical romance books were just as great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    Fun, if cheesy, Scottish Romance!

    a bit cliche, but I loved it anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An unexpected love arises!

    I loved this third book of Lynsay Sands! I love how these books tell there own story, but then intertwine too. I loved the new highland warrior! He was strong, determined, honest & caring. He unexpectedly falls for his best friends sister while healing after an accident. And the sister Averill is the last to know about Kades feelings. Even her brother knows. But it takes another man to call upon her to bring out all these pent up feelings of Kades out into the open. You won't be disappointed in these series of books and the Argeneau series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    Another great story

    I love Lyndsay Sands as a writer, she is a wonderful story teller that can pull you into a story and let you get lost for hours. This story is an flawless continuation in a favoritee series that continues to tie the lives and stories of this family together to paint a full picture of a loving and often offbeat family. I find them very entertaining and enjoy each new addition 'to the family'. A nice way to spend a rainy afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    The Hellion and the Highlander

    I really enjoyed this book. Ms. Sands has a way of entertaining a reader into pure delight. I love to read about her Alpha Highlander Kade. He goes through a lot with someone trying to kill him. Ms. Sands has some twists so you don't know who it is until she reveals it. The woman Kade falls in love with is a strong character but yet she has doubts about herself and studers when she becomes nervous. The characters are believable and you feel you are experiencing everything as they are in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    'The Hellion and the Highlander' is a fast-paced highland escapade with some great twists and turns to keep you flipping through the pages.

    I am not regular with Lynsay Sands, having only read a selected few of her historical novels and none of her more well known paranormal contemporary books like her Argeneau Vampire Series. I have read the other two books linked to this one - Devil of the Highlands and Taming the Highland Bride - and enjoyed them both. However, this book lacked that little something extra that would make me want to keep it on my book self. That is not to say that I didn't enjoy the read, it just wasn't one of my favorites.

    The plot moved quickly, getting right into the story, which is an element I liked about this book. Too often you look up, its page 212, and you are just getting into the main theme or plot of the book. The love story is nice, a luke warm kinda nice, but not the fan-myself heat you get with other books and that is not a bad thing. I think it was well suited to the storyline and the characters.

    Our hero Kade is a sensitive, caring man yet still the strong Scottish warrior we expect. It is not often that we find a leading man who works hard to raise the self-esteem of his lady. Averill, our heroine, is a pleasant mix of the shy and unsure paired with a backbone of steel and some hidden depth. That being said however, I did not feel the character development made you want to become part of the story. You did not really feel any empathy for the characters or their plight.

    The intimate scenes in this book are very few but still a little steamy. I would give this book a 8.5 out of 10 on my Sexy Scale. (10 being very graphic in sexy content - 1 being so tame there isn't even a real kiss. ok, well maybe a chaste one)

    Overall, this was not a book I would read again but would recommend to anyone who enjoys a historical set in Scotland. I give this book a 3 out of 5 overall. Check out Lynsay's website for a listing of all her previous and upcoming titles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Virgin Hellion

    I found this book to be absolutely hilarious!!! Poor Kade just can't seem to catch a break even though he strives to do the honorable thing. Captured at war only to escape and experience a bash to the head which leaves him unconscious for several weeks at his friend's keep. Upon waking, Kade is introduced to the soothing voice of Averill (Will's sister). Instantly both characters are drawn to each other which leads to a happy marriage of fierce passion and spirit! As with the other two books in this series, someone is always out to kill the main characters. I have to say that this was the only part of the book I found disappointing. I was kind of hoping that if she plans to stick to this theme that she find more inventive ways to attack the main character. If you like a little mystery intertwined with love then this is the book for you! Check our the previous books in this series as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 147 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8