Customer Reviews for

The Hello, Goodbye Window

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Great to read to little ones ages.

    This is a wonderful story of a little girl who stays with grandma and grandpa while her parents go to work each day. My husband and I took care of our two grandchildren everyday too. I used to read this book to my granddaughter and grandson each day at nap time when they were ages 3 and 4, and for years after. Now they're ages 7 and 9 and they like to read it to me from time to time. It was definitely our favorite, and now it's an old friend we still enjoy together. In fact, I'm going to a close friend's daughter's baby shower this weekend and we're suppose to bring a children's book... I bought this one : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    One of my favorite books of All Time... I read it to my grandaug

    One of my favorite books of All Time... I read it to my grandaughter and fell in love with the way you can make it your own and read it any 'quirky way you want. I'll have to get another as my oldest moved and took it with her so I need another for my youngest grandchildren. Sooo Fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    My three year old really enjoys this book.

    I didn't really appreciate this book until I read it aloud to my three year old daughter (she JUST turned three). It is told through a child's point of view as she describes the time she spends at her grandparent's house. She describes the activities, most of which are quite ordinary, made special and extraordinary by the little quirks that make these experiences uniquely hers. It reminds me of how I perceived my experiences at my grandparents' houses when I was a small child. We've read this book many times, at my daughter's request. The illustrations are a bit abstract but didn't seem to be a turn off to my daughter. I like how she's getting exposed to a different type of illustration style. It's really a lovely book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Enjoyable book that shows the wonders of being a child

    I really enjoyed this book and I would recommend it to both children and adults. This book shows the joys of childhood. It takes you back to the creative and imaginative world of children. It illustrates the special bond and relationship between children and grandparents. It is fun and easy for children to read and understand. The pictures are beautiful and pleasurable to look at. As a teacher I would use it in my classroom as a read aloud and discussion book. This book brings up the topics of childhood, family, and growing up. Important topics for children to discuss and understand. I truly enjoyed this book and I am excited to one day share it to my students in my classroom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2007

    Hello Goodbye Window

    I loved this book. I thought that the illustrations were captivating and told the story even without the words. This book is about a little girl that loves looking out the window of her grandparent's house to see who is coming to the house or who is leaving the house. She loves to wave when people pass. She says, 'It looks like a regular window, but it's not.' She says that she can see the pizza man when he gets there. Later in the story, she says, 'When I get tired I come in and take my nap and nothing happens until I get up.' This shows that she is a very young child and that the story would be appealing to a young audience of children. Norton Juster was born June 2, 1929. He is an architect, writer, and teacher, his architectural career being most important to him since a young child. Before he established his architectural career, he served in the United States Navy. He was a professor at Hampshire College teaching architecture and environmental from 1970 until he retired in 1992. Juster, Norton. Hello, Goodbye Window. New York: Michael Di Capua Books, 2005.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    The Hello Goodbye Window

    I absolutly loved this book! It is about a child who believes that the window in their parents house is a magic window! The grandmother says ' The window is a magic getaway, everything important happens buy this window'. She also tells her that ' ITs a magic window and anyone can come along when you least expect it! The girl uses her imagination and this window becomes her favorite place! IT is great in showing the relationship between grandparents and grandchildren!! IT is a great book for 2nd!Juster, Norton. The Hello, Goodbye Window. New York, NY: Text Copyright, 2005.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2007

    The Hello Goodbye Window

    Caldecott Book Title: The Hello, Goodbye Window Reading Level: Third Grade Genre: Fiction About the Author: Norton Juster is an architect, a retired teacher and a grandfather, as well as a writer. He is the author of the children¿s classic The Phantom Tollbooth and the mathematical romance The Dot and the Line. The Hello Goodbye Window is his first picture book. Book Review: The Hello, Goodbye Window is a story about a little girl who goes to visit her grandparents. The kitchen window at her Nanna and Poppy¿s house is a special window and it¿s the ¿hello, goodbye window¿. Everything important happens near it, through it, and beyond it. When the little girl arrives at her grandparents¿ house, she greets them through the window. ¿If they see you first, they wave and make silly faces.¿ Poppy pretends to talk to the reflected images. ¿What are you doing out there? You come right in and have your dinner¿, he said. Her Nanna plays peek a boo with her through the magic window. ¿Sometimes Nanna peek-a-boos me, which always makes me laugh.¿ The little girl decides when you grows up she might be a Nanna herself and have her own special ¿hello, goodbye window¿, too. This is a heart warming story that displays the affection a little girl has for her grandparents. It was very enjoyable to read and was written in kid talk. Kids of all ages would enjoy this book. Bibliographic Information: Juster, Norton. The Hello, Goodbye Window. New York: Michael Di Capua Books, 2005.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    Time at Grandma's House

    The 2006 Caldecott Medal Winner is an excellent book with beautiful illustrations. It is a story about a girl and the way she sees her Nanna and Poppy's house. She gazes through the kitchen window and sees that it is more than a window to view the outside, but can be used as a mirror or a way to say hello to the garden or the stars. The story shows how much the girl loves her gradparents and enjoys visiting their house. This is a great story that both my children enjoyed. They could relate to the girl because they both enjoy visits to their grandparents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    A Special Bond

    The Hello Goodbye Window The Hello, Goodbye Window is a special window that is full of imaginations and dreams. A Poppy and Nana, share a special bond with their granddaughter and this one particular window in the kitchen. The window is used for saying hello and goodbye to people who came and go. Nana sometimes watches her husband and granddaughter through the window making funny face at them as they play outside. A night time Nana and her granddaughter sit by the window counting and naming the stars. If you look close into the window sometime who can even see dinosaurs, but not often because they are extinct! It¿s great for Nana because she can keep a close watch on her garden to make sure that the neighbors¿ dog is not destroying things. The best part is when the granddaughter¿s parents come to pick her up, Nana and Poppy stand at the window waving goodbye. Norton Juster does an exceptional job of describing the relationship between the granddaughter and her grandparents. The illustrations done by Chris Raschka sparkle with bright colors and make the book come to life. Juster, Norton. The Hello, Goodbye Window. New York: Scholastic Inc, 2005

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    A very cute book!

    The Hello Goodbye Window, Juster, Norton.New York: Michael Di Capua Books/Hyperion Books for Children, 2005. RL: Ages 4-8, Grades K-2. Do you have special memories with your grandparents? Maybe a special weekend filled with activity that sticks out in you mind. The Hello Goodbye Window is an awesome Caldecott winning book that captures the special memories that a little girls shares with her grandparents. The author, Norton Juster is a former architect and writes children books in his home in Amherst, MA. This book is beautifully illustrated and very appelaing to kids of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Cooper's Review for Hello, Goodbye Window

    This is a very happy and cheerful book. It is told from the point of view of a child and she is speaking to the reader. It is written in very kid friendly language. The 2006 Caldecott Medal book is for preschool up to first grade. The 'hello, goodbye window' is the downstairs window in the kitchen at the little girls Nanna and Poppy's house. She is explaining how it is unlike any other window. Whenever she goes to their house she can say hello and have fun with them through the window before she gets in the house. She can look through the window once inside and see a lot of what's going on in the world around the neighborhood around her. One of the real nice things about this book is that it doesn't completely focus on the window. Like I mentioned before, the window is in the kitchen. The girl and her grandparents spend a lot of time together in the kitchen looking through the window, but also making their favorite meals, talking, laughing, and listening to Poppy play his harmonica.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2006

    Exceptional

    Wonderfully appealing illustrations that toddlers can absord, dynamic, bright, drawn instinctively and effortlessly. My two year old is completely drawn in and carefully scrutinizes each page, the artwork captivates her. The storyline falls happily into a child's train of thought, and perspective. One can feel 5 years old again, and a little envious of this world full of familial tenderness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2006

    A Luminous Book

    The Hello, Goodbye Window deserves every accolade. No, it's not naturalistic, strictly representational art. Instead, the art and the story evoke feelings: happiness, peace, security, contentment, silliness, joy. If you're a grandparent, you'll want a hello goodbye window in your own house. If you love great art, you'll want this for your slim collection of picture-books that are able to enter entirely into the world of a child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2006

    Wonderful choice for the Caldecott Award!

    Chris Raschka truly deserves the award after having produced quite a few books before this in which the artwork was worthy of high honor. My personal favorite (and one children love, too, when I read it aloud to them and let them hear Parker's 'Night in Tunisia' on CD) is 'Charlie Parker Plays Bebop.' Raschka authored this book as well. Last year's illustrations of Dylan Thomas's 'A Child's Christmas in Wales' were also superbly rendered. How fortuitous that Raschka and Norton Juster (a memorable author as well for his 'Phantom Tollbooth') teamed up on this tribute to the love of grandparents and their grandchildren!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1