BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Hello, Gorgeous: Becoming Barbra Streisand

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

I have read every "biography" of Barbra Streisand in print - and it seems most of those are included in the exhaustive notes quoted in this book. William J. Mann's work is enlightening and meticulous; the research alone is incredible. Unless Barbra herself decides to se...
I have read every "biography" of Barbra Streisand in print - and it seems most of those are included in the exhaustive notes quoted in this book. William J. Mann's work is enlightening and meticulous; the research alone is incredible. Unless Barbra herself decides to set "pen to paper" this may be the definitive diary of those early years. Thank you, Mr. Mann, for an incredible and delightful book.

posted by 17498544 on April 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good book

I got the sample and it hooked me, once i got about half way through it drug a bit. But if you love Barbra you will love this

posted by mrsschoch on December 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Excellent Read

    I have read every "biography" of Barbra Streisand in print - and it seems most of those are included in the exhaustive notes quoted in this book. William J. Mann's work is enlightening and meticulous; the research alone is incredible. Unless Barbra herself decides to set "pen to paper" this may be the definitive diary of those early years. Thank you, Mr. Mann, for an incredible and delightful book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Good book

    I got the sample and it hooked me, once i got about half way through it drug a bit. But if you love Barbra you will love this

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    I was left confused as why this author stopped this otherwise we

    I was left confused as why this author stopped this otherwise well written book just as Streisand broke out in Funny Girl. I was sometimes turned off by unnamed quotes...especially if they were negative. Ms. Streisand worked hard for what she has achieved. It always seems like sour grapes when someone puts her down. To the author's credit he mainly put down the facts of her achievements...which are many. I found that the book portrayed her as a human being with high goals. She, and this book, give us examples of how this was achieved. I enjoyed the book but still wonder why it was based on just a few years. 

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Very Negative

    The author obviously hates Barbra. He wrote everything from a very negative standpoint. I can't believe she is as self-absorbed as he made her out to be. His information came from previously written books and commentators. Why write a book about someone you can't stand.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Is any one on i wanna chat

    Kayleigh •~•

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    <>

    <>

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2014

    Sorry

    Cant rate a book no one has any desire to read. Who cares

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Troy

    Single he sits down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Recommended-a good read

    I haven't finished reading the entire book but if you are a Barbra fan you will enjoy reading this account of her early years. Well written and easy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2014

    Troy

    Single sits diwn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    To guys

    Im a curvy mexican i have a six pack carmel colored skin (thats very soft) hazel green eyes long thuck dark brown hair i have nice soft tasty big thick lips i have a bunny nose (witch i hate but everyone thinks its cute) ive been told i have a bubble butt but idk :P i can sing play electric guitar and i can play drums P.S im single and my name is ariana go to bubble first result if u wanna chat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Xander

    Y

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Kristen

    Josh?

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Kya

    Hey

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Xander

    its gunna be ok hun

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Lightningstar

    *blinks confused* Hello Mai

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Barbra is pretty

    Hence the title.'m not a big fan of hers,

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Mia

    I think it's the storm hitting in illinois. POST

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Dric

    Hey i was sick

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Jacquline

    Hi^_^

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3