Customer Reviews for

Hello, Gorgeous: Becoming Barbra Streisand

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

I have read every "biography" of Barbra Streisand in print - and it seems most of those are included in the exhaustive notes quoted in this book. William J. Mann's work is enlightening and meticulous; the research alone is incredible. Unless Barbra herself decides to se...
I have read every "biography" of Barbra Streisand in print - and it seems most of those are included in the exhaustive notes quoted in this book. William J. Mann's work is enlightening and meticulous; the research alone is incredible. Unless Barbra herself decides to set "pen to paper" this may be the definitive diary of those early years. Thank you, Mr. Mann, for an incredible and delightful book.

posted by 17498544 on April 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good book

I got the sample and it hooked me, once i got about half way through it drug a bit. But if you love Barbra you will love this

posted by mrsschoch on December 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Is any one on i wanna chat

    Kayleigh •~•

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    <>

    <>

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    The Life of Alex Sanchez~4

    (Camron's pov) I work in the garage. Making sure the cars are always clean. I have to wash them and polish them everyday. I also do some work outside. I make sure the slave trading stand is clean and well kept. For some reason, most of the supervisor's like me. How do I know that? Because they don't nomally give other kids rides in their Ferraries or give, secretly, an extra meal." Have you finish polishing my car, you little rat", the Hawk said behind me." I'm almost done, sir.", I said." What did you just say?", he asked." I said 'I'm almost–!", I covered my mouth with my hands." Please forgive me, sir.", I said." I will not until...", he scrached his chin," until you beg me." I got down my hands and knees and put my head on the ground, saying," I beg you, sir. Forgive me." " I will forgive you on one condition. You must lick du bottom of my boots. I stepped in something extra special for you." " No! Please. Anything, but that, sir. I can't stand it.", I begged him." I don't care what you want. I said do it.", he answered harshly. He raised his boot so I could lick it. I saw a brown strick of horse poop on the bottom. I must have hesitated to long, because the Hawk pushed my head into the bottom of his boot. I shot back and touched my face. It had poop all over it." Now lick it!", he said chuckling. I closed my eyes and stuck my tougue out. I licked the bottom of his boot. I almost threw up." If you throw up, I'll make you eat it and then I'll make you lick the rest of du poop off my boot.", the Hawk said. I sallowed the poop. So the Hawk doesn't like me. So what! He doesn't like anyone. The Hawk kicked me away from his car and he hopped in. He turned the key and drove away. I decided to visit Alex. Usally, after a kid goes to the punishment room, he spends two days in the dungeon. He won't get any food or water during that time, he will be tied to the roof, so he's off the ground, and he will be whipped twice a day. When I got to the dungeon, a guard was standing outside." What can I do for you?", he asked." I'm here to see Alex Sanchez.", I said." I need to pat you down to make sure you're not taking him anything.", he said. He started to pat me down. He found a neclace my mom gave me before she died. He also found a bit of a bicuit I forgot I had in my pocket. I walked through the dungeon looking for Alex. I saw a boy and a girl who probably 5, being whipped. They were screaming and crying. I found Alex hanging, by his wrist's, from the roof. A big, shirtless, buff dude was beating him with brass knuckles. Alex was also shirtless. Most of the tortures in the punishment room require, shirt off. Even the girls do it." Excuse me!", I yelled at the big buff man. He turned and I saw Alex was crying. I probably would too. The buff guy gave Alex one punch before leaving. Alex looked horrible. He had burns all over him. Of course, the brass knuckles didn't help his face. He was slumped in the cornor with his hands hiding his face. When he saw me he said," I don't think I can stand it in here for two more days. They hurt me pretty bad." " I really wish I could help you. I just don't know how.", I said." Thats okay. Just keep yourself away from here." ••••••••••• i will use your characters. I have something planed. Next part at rapid fire series #1. ~ Chris.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    To the life of alex sanchez charecter addons

    I hace add ons for Garrett and megan. <br> <br> Garrett: has lived in the place there at for his whole life. The gaurds and the hawk like beeting him. He is the hawks son, but nobody knows exept his closest friends. Including, megan, alex,ariana ect. His shirt is coverd in duck tape, hes a total rebel. Hes been st the place for 14 years (hes 14) <br> <br> <br> Megan: has lived in the place for 7 years (shes 13) she met Garrett in the punishment room. She was being whiped for being late and Garrett was having boiling oil dumped over him. The ended about the same time and she helped him out. That night they talked when ever it was safe to talk and after a few nights they fell in love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    To guys

    Im a curvy mexican i have a six pack carmel colored skin (thats very soft) hazel green eyes long thuck dark brown hair i have nice soft tasty big thick lips i have a bunny nose (witch i hate but everyone thinks its cute) ive been told i have a bubble butt but idk :P i can sing play electric guitar and i can play drums P.S im single and my name is ariana go to bubble first result if u wanna chat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Xander

    Y

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Kristen

    Josh?

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Kya

    Hey

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Xander

    its gunna be ok hun

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Barbra is pretty

    Hence the title.'m not a big fan of hers,

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Mia

    I think it's the storm hitting in illinois. POST

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Dric

    Hey i was sick

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Jacquline

    Hi^_^

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    CHRISTIAN HERE!

    Heyy

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    URGENT TO ALL

    Go to cup of joe res one i need help

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Wants a bad voy

    Hot sexxy treats me right but calls everyone else off fights good with weapons lves me go to neon result four

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Alena to everyone plz read and RESPOND

    U say ur a christian but yet you target a girl for her imperfections well thats the christian way right your mom must be so proud of u
    I wrote this bc a girl at my school says shes christian and then goes and cusses and bullies others and thats not the christian way like it seriouslly isnt

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    My dream man

    Age 14-16 norml boy ueight blonde hair...whit skin go to never stop res1-2-3-4-5

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    My dream boyfriend

    Name:it doesnt matter. Age:11-13. Looks:brown hair,brown eyes,slightly pointy ears...Personality:Sweet,smart,helpful but doesnt treat me like i cant do anuthing i mean doesnt treat me like im unable to di things,respectful ,doesnt cheat on me(YOUR A PWICE OF SHI?TTY CRAAP PEYTON!!!!!),fun,honest,someone who iant sexist(again peyton virtual punch),and is respectful towards me . Other:Im 5'1,dirty blonde,brown eyes ,a bit miscular, age:11-13 not telling,friendly,smart and etc etc please come!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    My dream husband/boyfriend/boytoy/partner

    Name: any Age: 15-23 Look: Emo/biker/scene Personality: someone whos cool. What im looking for all together: i want a guy who doesnt give a fuq most of the time someone who i willing to laught with me and not at me someone who will make the first move someone who will tell me everyday they love me someone who will never judge me for anything someone who wont lie someone who will hold me at night a great kisser someone willing to do almost anything with me someone who isnt afrade to let everyone know he loves me...btw im Emily

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2