Customer Reviews for

Hello, Hollywood! (Backstage Pass Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hello Hollywood!

What a wonderful book! Janice Thompson really knows how to set the stage! My favorite character is Athena Pappas! She is writer for a sitcom that I learned about in Janice's first book in the Backstage Pass series "Stars Collide". This is a must read book! It is clean ...
What a wonderful book! Janice Thompson really knows how to set the stage! My favorite character is Athena Pappas! She is writer for a sitcom that I learned about in Janice's first book in the Backstage Pass series "Stars Collide". This is a must read book! It is clean cut, humorous, family oriented, Godly book and it so fun to read! Can't wait for more books from Janice Thompson!

posted by KeliZKZ on October 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great blend of life, romance, and family

I'm definitely a Janice Thompson fan-her Weddings by Bella series was great and I enjoyed each and every book. I even read and reviewed her first Backstage Pass book, Stars Collide, and enjoyed that one. Unfortunately, I wasn't as enamored with her latest book in the Ba...
I'm definitely a Janice Thompson fan-her Weddings by Bella series was great and I enjoyed each and every book. I even read and reviewed her first Backstage Pass book, Stars Collide, and enjoyed that one. Unfortunately, I wasn't as enamored with her latest book in the Backstage Pass series, Hello Hollywood! (sorry Ms Thompson!). Although I enjoyed the scenes where the writers brainstormed and the antics that went with it, so many of the ideas came from the old Dick Van Dyke (which I still watch!) and I Love Lucy shows. It just seemed a little too much repetition and recycling of ideas. As Hollywood writers, there should have been more original ideas. There was also quite a bit of repetition of the "great stories are built on conflict" and the plotline discussions. I actually grew kind of bored with those sections. Each of the characters had their own "moments" and I enjoyed their stories of how they came to be at this point in their lives. It's also a treat to see such a family oriented environment. The way the family interacted at home and at "Super Gyros" really touched me. And I loved how the writers included the older "former starts" in the show-the older generation still has a lot to give. I think my favorite character in Hello Hollywood! had to be Leona. Her failing memory and illusions is so typical of Alzheimer's and I'm glad Ms Thompson brings that awareness to her readers. The romance between some of the characters (don't want to spoil it!) is always part of Ms Thompson's books and I enjoy that part. Who doesn't love some romance?? And, as usual, the inclusion of faith is one of the reasons I read her books. I like seeing the characters living their faith and not just talking about it. All in all, Hello Hollywood! was an okay read. It was easy to get through but I was disappointed that it wasn't up to Ms Thompson's usual standards. I still look forward to not only the next book in the Backstage Pass series, I look forward to all of Janice Thompson's books. I give Hello Hollywood! 3 out of 5 stars as just an average read. Available September 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group I received this book free from Revell as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

posted by BaronBookReview on October 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    A cute, whitty read

    A Greek sitcom writer and a rising star comedian come together in this cute novel by Janice Thompson. Hello, Hollywood is book two in the Backstage Pass series.

    Athena Pappas is a head writer for a TV sitcom whose ratings are starting to decline. Her boss hires a comedian who is up for an Academy Award in the comedy world and Athena takes it as a threat to her job. Intertwined in this heated battle is her family of Greek heritage which adds to the charm of the story. Put all of this together and you have the makings of a My Big, Fat, Greek Wedding type of book.

    A pretty cute and charming story with funny characters. This is the second book by Janice Thompson that I have read and I enjoyed it much better than the previous one. Despite this being the second book in the series, one can easily pick it up as an individual novel and quickly understand what is going on. Ms. Thompson did a great job making this a stand alone book, but still including the characters from the first book in the series.

    If you enjoy a fast, whitty and cute read, this is the book for you.

    Available September 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group

    *Revell Books was kind enough to send me a complimentary copy to review for them and these are my own thoughts straight from my noggin.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    2nd in Backstage Pass series is fresh, fun, and faithful

    Hello, Hollywood by Janice Thompson is the second book in the Backstage Pass series about the people working on a sitcom called Stars Collide. In this novel Athena Pappas is comfortable as the headwriter for the show, enjoying her rich life with her Greek family, helping out at her family's restaurant, and her friendship with Kat, the female lead of the show. But when the show's producer hires a new writer, Athena is sure that her job is on the line. She's even more shaken up when the new guy, Stephen Cosse, turns out to be an Adonis that gets her pulse pounding. Stephen and his daughter, Brooke, quickly fit in with Athena's family, but she has a hard time trusting him enough to really let him in, especially when it seems he has betrayed her. When you are reading a Janice Thompson novel, you know that you're going to find families overflowing with love and quirky personalities, descriptions of food that will leave your mouth watering, and a sense of humor and love of life that will have you smiling with every turn of the page. Her books are always entertaining and filled with a deep faith. I am a huge fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hello, Hollywood by Janice Thompson

    If you're looking for contemporary romance with a Christian spin, look no further than author Janice Thompson. Thompson's latest book, Hello, Hollywood is the second book in her Backstage Pass series, that centers around the television sitcom, Stars Collide. Thompson is a veteran romance author and has behind the scenes experience as a screenwriter which lends a realistic, authentic feel to this novel. Readers will appreciate Thompson's ability to add humor, as well as, inspiration to her writing. With expressive and personable characters, a very Hollywood attitude, and lots of fun, Hello, Hollywood is a great romantic comedy. I first became interested in the writing of Janice Thompson when I reviewed her book, Swinging on a Star from the Weddings by Bella series. One of the things that I find most enchanting about her books is the sheer amount of humor that she adds to very situation. If a reader is looking for a romance that is both clean and light, Thompson's books are among the best. In her latest, Hello, Hollywood humor abounds. The main protagonist, Athena is a write for the television sitcom, Stars Collide, which in and of itself provides a great avenue for adding funny situations and circumstances, but Athena's life itself gives the reader a very light-hearted look at love. Sometimes in our own lives I think we get hung up on the heavy parts of relationships. Thompson reminds us that it's okay to have a good time, everything doesn't have to be so dramatic. Her characters portray that idea throughout this novel. When Athena meets comedian Stephen Cosse she isn't expecting him to tickle her funny bone and make her heart sing, so it's an amazing kind of relationship that readers will enjoy reading about and wishing they had one like it. Some may consider Thompson's writing a little over-the-top or pretentious, but I like all the biggness, the exaggerated circumstances and when you add in the Christian perspective, what's not to like? I think readers will really fall in love with the cast and characters centered around Stars Collide. They are a bunch of people thrown together that may not have ever found each other otherwise and I think that's the beauty of it. Athena is smart, professional and has a great outlook on life. Stephen is a great addition to the show and to Athena's life. He looks at the world with a glint of humor in his eye. I always find myself loving characters who are genuine and feel like someone you might meet on the street. Thompson pulls that off with this series as she does with most of her books. The characters drive the story to where she wants it to go and the reader is along for a great ride. I recommend this one to Christian Fiction readers and contemporary romance fans. Thompson's writing is fun, clean and has it's priorities in the right order. If you are looking for a book that will get you laughing and then make you think a little bit, this is it. Great for a long weekend or curled up in front of roaring fire. Grab a blanket, a cup-o-joe and you'll be all set.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    What fun to read!!!!

    Book two in the Backstage Pass series is a keeper. Athena Pappas is the head writer of the sitcom Stars Collide. Coming from a very large Greek family, Athena is used to craziness, fun, and love. But when Stephen Crosse comes to town to join the writing team, Athena's heart does some tumbling. She is concerned for her job, but also for her heart! With a funny Greek dog, Stephen's daughter, and the wonderful Pappas family and their diner this Chrisitan comedy will fill your heart with warmth, family, and laughter!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great blend of life, romance, and family

    I'm definitely a Janice Thompson fan-her Weddings by Bella series was great and I enjoyed each and every book. I even read and reviewed her first Backstage Pass book, Stars Collide, and enjoyed that one. Unfortunately, I wasn't as enamored with her latest book in the Backstage Pass series, Hello Hollywood! (sorry Ms Thompson!). Although I enjoyed the scenes where the writers brainstormed and the antics that went with it, so many of the ideas came from the old Dick Van Dyke (which I still watch!) and I Love Lucy shows. It just seemed a little too much repetition and recycling of ideas. As Hollywood writers, there should have been more original ideas. There was also quite a bit of repetition of the "great stories are built on conflict" and the plotline discussions. I actually grew kind of bored with those sections. Each of the characters had their own "moments" and I enjoyed their stories of how they came to be at this point in their lives. It's also a treat to see such a family oriented environment. The way the family interacted at home and at "Super Gyros" really touched me. And I loved how the writers included the older "former starts" in the show-the older generation still has a lot to give. I think my favorite character in Hello Hollywood! had to be Leona. Her failing memory and illusions is so typical of Alzheimer's and I'm glad Ms Thompson brings that awareness to her readers. The romance between some of the characters (don't want to spoil it!) is always part of Ms Thompson's books and I enjoy that part. Who doesn't love some romance?? And, as usual, the inclusion of faith is one of the reasons I read her books. I like seeing the characters living their faith and not just talking about it. All in all, Hello Hollywood! was an okay read. It was easy to get through but I was disappointed that it wasn't up to Ms Thompson's usual standards. I still look forward to not only the next book in the Backstage Pass series, I look forward to all of Janice Thompson's books. I give Hello Hollywood! 3 out of 5 stars as just an average read. Available September 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group I received this book free from Revell as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Hello Hollywood!

    What a wonderful book! Janice Thompson really knows how to set the stage! My favorite character is Athena Pappas! She is writer for a sitcom that I learned about in Janice's first book in the Backstage Pass series "Stars Collide". This is a must read book! It is clean cut, humorous, family oriented, Godly book and it so fun to read! Can't wait for more books from Janice Thompson!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Fun Read!

    Scientists discovered some time ago what Solomon knew in Proverbs 17:22: " A cheerful heart doeth good like medicine." In other words, laughter does a person good. It has even been proven that cancer patients improve when they watch comedy movies, read humorous books.

    This is why I love Janice Thompson's books. Her books are full of humor and I always feel better after reading her latest one is no exception. Hello Hollywood follows the story of Athena Pappas, head writer of "Stars Collide" one of the most popular comedies in TV history. Laughter begins and sparks fly when the show brings on Vegas comedian Stephen Cosse on board to help lift the sagging ratings.

    Janice's writing is quick and witty and she does something really fun with the chapters. But I'm not giving that away - you'll have to purchase the book to find out.

    If you're looking for a light-hearted, uplifting book to read, this is it! I give it 6 out of 5 stars!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    To kris

    Hey josh got locked out could u go down one book thanks -kat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Kristen

    Josh please be on tonight. I could really use u right now. *tears up* please....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    TO SILVERCLAW

    I am active and I wish to be Sagekit...is that alright?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    May i?

    Be sagekit?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Hello2

    Hello

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Kya

    Hey

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Don't bother

    Elementary writing, poor plot and character development. I made myself finish it just because I paid for it on my Nook, and it was VERY difficult to get through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Nadia

    Hey wassup!:D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    S

    Im so bored dont nag me if i spell somthing wrong then i will be verry very mad got it anyway i really dont know what im doing today but whatever it is i assure it will not be cleanining my room unless you want to do it for me than i will be really happy like jumping for joy kind of happy but othewise i dont know what imdoing today i would write more but you look bored and tired out of your mind but i want to write more because this is really fun you lnow whay i mea and i like driving my remote controol car but you just have to ruin the fun by saying its annoying when really its awsome im so sorry im writing so much its just like this is really fun wait i mean its not fun at all its awsomeand its just like texting and that sound awsomelly fun doent it pleas dont write alot like i am because otherwise i will be bored like you wait that just made you want ti write alot didnt it again im sososososososososososossoososo sorry for writing this anywho my thumbs are getting really tired and how was yoyr game i think it looks dumb but you must like it alot because youpley it like twenty four seven im serrios youplay it alot not that its bad or any thing just you know what i mean just tell me okat my thumbs still hurt alot but thats not stopping mee becauae its so addicting but i might read today or maybee ill nap it just deppends what kind of a mood im in yousee what i mean i got that from a book when her cousin was blind and she said somthing and said see what i mean and then she regretted right away but her cousin just started cracking upthis i like is called clouds and you like it to i now it this song thats on right now is really good i mean awsomly good it has a nice beat tobit you know what i mean i mean this song is really good think its on our new songs list for when the itunes store wors aggaiian because then we can new songs instead of our crappy old ones we have right now they are really old a whole year thats a long time

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    I don't know

    Is this a good book 4 a 10 year old 2 read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Brb

    You might aask why i put brb title. Well becuase every time i picked it up i could not stop reading it. I read this book within two days. The characters were amazing and i loved how the book was put together. I rate this book number 2 out of all the books ive read. Thanks for an amazing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    A song

    When i first saw you i new you had to be. The one who i share my adventures with this day. Before i was lost on the side of th ro—ad. Its a good life, when your around! Its a good life when we meet eye to e—ye! If we where apart my lofe would be sooo dull! Id miss your jokes! And your crazy art photos! My life would be gooone without you. We're like my new bike but without training wheels! Cause its a goood life with yoooouu!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Great read

    Couldnt put down enjoyed very much love story with out the smut

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2