Customer Reviews for

Hell's Angel: The Life and Times of Sonny Barger and the Hell's Angels Motorcycle Club

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Reliving family stories

I brought great joy to hear these stories told the the one and only Sonny! Well writen and true to the facts and open.

posted by 6240809 on May 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

disappointment

The book is just one we are bad and this is what we did over and over again. It was a disappointment it may have been better if he would have had help with writing it.

posted by R2RG on December 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Reliving family stories

    I brought great joy to hear these stories told the the one and only Sonny! Well writen and true to the facts and open.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    This book is hardcore and well written!

    If you have any interest at all in the motorcycle club culture this book is a must read. It gives a pesronal insight that is second to none since since it comes from the first in command! You can tell Sonny has a passion for motorcycles as well as his club and brothers. Read this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best i've read

    This was a very good read, I enjoyed it very much!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Good Read!

    I'm about as polar opposite of a Hell's Angel follower as one may be able to be. In fact, motorcycles scare me. However, I love people and learning about people and groups. I found this book to be honest; some books like itis are full of impossible to believe stories and obvious bigger than life egos. Sonny kept to his experience and knowledge...even admitted when he talked about something as 3rd hand knowledge. I can honestly say that while I don't agree with some activities they engage in, i have a new respect for them. I'd bet a paycheck that most Angel's really are good people, trying to pay bills, raise their kids just like most people. Never thought I' d read a book like this but I'm grateful I did. Thanks, Sonny....great job!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    disappointment

    The book is just one we are bad and this is what we did over and over again. It was a disappointment it may have been better if he would have had help with writing it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    Fantastic!!

    Hell's Angel will bring out the outlaw motorcyclist in you. From the first to the last you will feel like Sonny is telling you about his ups and downs throughout his time with the Hell's Angels. You will gain a respect for their brotherhood and devotion for each other. You won't be able to put this book down.**Enjoy**

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2000

    True story of American legend, Sonny Barger.....

    Finally, the REAL story straight from the man himself. A true American legend, Mr. Barger tells his side of what the media never knew...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2000

    A MUST READ & A GREAT READ FOR ALL BIKERS,

    Finally, the real deal from the Godfather of Modern Bikers. After years (decades!)of everybody else trying to tell us about the most well known biker in history, we get the real story from the man himself. This is a very well written book and a great read from the first page to the last. Sonny sets the record straight! READ IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2014

    I borrowed this book from the library and since I did not have a

    I borrowed this book from the library and since I did not have any intention of parting with it, I thought it was a good idea to buy my own copy and now I plan on reading it again. I would love to meet Mr. Barger to tell him how much I enjoy his story and to hear many more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Amazing Story

    I would really like to meet this man ! He is a very interesting person: Thank you for your story and your honesty; now I want to take a ride on ur bike if you still ride it .? Thanks Annie

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    I love this book. I think everyone should read it. There is noth

    I love this book. I think everyone should read it. There is nothing I didn't like about this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    A MUST READ FOR ANYONE!

    One of the best books I've ever read I highly recommend it for anyone. The book is so addicting I staid awake till 3am reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    Highly Recommend... Couldn't put the book down!

    One of those books that you stay up into the wee hours of the night reading even though you know you should be sleeping to be at your best for work in the morning. Sonny's dry sense of humor is hilarious and very candid.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2006

    Very good

    If you are into motorcycle groups, or the hells angels, or modern day rebels this book will suit you well, I read this book over summer and I really enjoyed sitting down and reading it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2005

    Excellant, Exciting and Insightful

    One of the best books I've read. Sonny Barger teels it like it is. The formation of one of the largest Motorcycle Gangs in the country shows the changing climate in the nation along with the need for freedom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2003

    Expose' on the Angels lifestyle

    Interesting view of one of the original bike gang/club's in America. I share with Sonny Barger the love of H-D motorcycles and chopping but I can't idolize the outlaw lifestyle he lived.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2002

    Awsomely suspenseful

    The summery of this story was a very tough story. It is a five star rated story because he throws his great life away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2002

    More than enough...

    Sonny Barger gives you more than enough Hell's Angels stories than you could ever imagine. Barger leaves nothing out in telling tales of the motorcylce crusades across the country. Stories that will blow your mind away about drugs, Prison life and of course girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2002

    AWESOME!!!

    Your books are awesome.Brotherhood is is something true,and you have proved that in your books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2002

    Great Book

    Once you pick it up, you cannot put it down! Barger did a great job depicting his life and all the excitement and hardships he endured starting the Hell's Angels Motorcycle Club. I only wish that there were more to tell. After reading this book I want to meet the man behind the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4