Customer Reviews for

Hell's Angels: A Strange and Terrible Saga

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Hunter's first book is a blast

    I'm an avid Hunter Thompson fan so naturally I would love this book. I read a few of his others before picking up "Hell's Angels". For his first published book, it was a complete bombshell. He actually lived and partied with the real Hell's Angels in California and gave all the grisly and gruesome details that go along with the legend that has surrounded the motorcycle club. His research is very in depth and it speaks volumes of socio-political atmosphere at the time. It was enlightening, insightful, educational, and above all, entertaining. His staccato writing style mimics exactly how he speaks but yet he can be eloquent and intellectual. You have to be smart to read a Thompson book, it's not all drugs and violence. His books have a heart and a brain. Anyone that enjoys good social commentary should read this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great insight to the life and legend of the Hell's Angels

    Hunter S. Thompson's Hell's Angels is a incredibly well written story about his life riding and living with the Hell's Angels. He explains of past encounters between the law and the gang as well as before the Hell's Angels where around. It seems as though during his time with the Angels he lost connection with his friends from before as well as any relation ship with non-members. The book ends with a loss of a well known and loved member of the gang, then he continues with his final and worst encounter with the gang that had so willingly took in a reporter. (You have to read the book i can give that away). While reading the book you get so involved it is hard to put it down, his vivid detail of the ventures of the Angels paints a magnificent scene in your mind and he makes it seem as if you where there. My only complaint is that the book is a lot of repetition, but that is not Thompson's fault, the saga of the Angels contains a lot of repetition. Drinking, partying, drugs, sex, butting heads with the law and motorcycles is their life. If you are life me and love reading about true stories about criminals, gangs, or anything of that nature this is the book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2007

    A Classic

    HST's writing skills are among the best of modern American writers. In 'Hell's Angels' he is more the journalist than in his other works. He gets inside his subject to give us a view of a world we otherwise would never believe existed. He brings these larger than life anti-heroes down to a level of humanity we can understand if not condone. Reading this book is like being there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2006

    Gonzo

    The novel, Hell's Angels is an enduring classic by the deceased journalist Hunter S. Thompson. It is a very interactive, very detailed description of one's affiliation with the greatly feared motorcycle outlaws known as the Hell's Angels. The writing style is very unique, for if it were not based on Thompson¿s actual accounts they would seem to be unreal the way these men are portrayed larger than life. The group, Hell's Angels, is described as a group of unhygienic outlaws who have no particular goals in life other than get loaded, `freak out the squares¿ and partake in the most enjoyable thing in their lives, ride their chopped Harley Davidson motorcycles. They are characterized, with the exception of a rare few, as uneducated bums with no purpose in the long run and who choose to live for the moment by going to bars, drinking heavily, engaging in sexual acts, and torturing those who 'get in their way' psychologically, physically and sexually. The best part of it all is that Thompson takes us along for the whole ride. This book shows that the 60¿s was not just a bunch of hippies running around talking about flower power, there was another phenomenon, the unstoppable village destroying force known as the Hell¿s Angels. But Thompson also shows the other side of the Hell¿s Angels, the side that the public rarely sees, the motorcycle gang that once paid to have a destroyed bar completely refurbished because they got too loud. This book gives a glimpse into the life of something that none of us will ever see, the life of the last true Wild West outlaws. Thompson describes it best, ¿the first wave of a future that nothing in our history has prepared us to cope with¿ After reading this book the though of selling all my positions and buying a Harley and moving south west had crossed my mind many times, I dare you to read this book and not agree.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Oh!!!

    This book came out over 30 years ago. It was good then it's good now. Try Fear and Loathing in Las vegas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Angels Rock!

    Angels Rock!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Clark

    Hey

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Travon

    Clark the2 res

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    This is lame

    Lame

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Worth Reading

    A close look at a cultural icon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    An outstanding novel

    Hell's Angels is another great book by Hunter S. Thompson. He found a way to give life to the famed outlaw Hell's Angels. His description and word choice was flawless and smooth. The story was exciting and always kept me from putting the book down. If you've never read another book by Thompson, be warned, it's not for the squeamish. There are parts of it that are graphic but if you can get past that it's a very good read. I enjoyed it nearly as much as I enjoyed Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas.
    I highly recommend it and look forward to reading Thompson's other works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    What an eye opener!

    MR. Thompson sure can write! What a well told story, why anyone would subject themselves to the situation I'll never know but I sure enjoyed reading this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    Not as over the top or as wildly entertaining as Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, but still very well written and highly entertaining. You don't get bland prose from the Doctor, and does it get any better than phrases like 'young blondes with lobotomy eyes'? This book is about 40 years old, and the reader certainly gets a feel for the 1960s, but I wouldn't at all call it, or Fear and Loathing, dated. The book is anecdotally driven, there are a lot of highly amusing stories with the bikers, and the bikers don't come across to me as completely unlikeable. If you like Fear and Loathing, you'll probably like this book too, although it's not as wacky and wild.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2007

    If you are fascinated with these guys like I am check it out.

    Thompson did a great job with this book. Perhaps the best thing is Thompson never portrays himself as a bad ass. Actually, he is quite humble about how he related, or did not relate, to the Hell's Angels. Probably the most important theme in this book concerns the power of the media.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    A reviewer

    Imagine going inside the world of the 1960¿s motorcycle gang ¿Hells Angels¿. This is what journalist Hunter S. Thompson did when he received a writing assignment to explore the lives of the 1960¿s largest gang. He rode with them for a year, gaining stories and acquaintances. Unfortunately, the book Hells Angels includes mostly facts and quotes from newspaper articles instead of stories of the first hand accounts Hunter Thompson encountered. When I first picked up the book, I assumed I would be getting an inside look at one of the most notorious gangs of the sixties. Instead I found myself skimming many pages of redundant conclusions that came of no interest to me. Don¿t get me wrong, there were a few flavorful, interesting stories, but I don¿t believe they could spice up the book enough to make it all worth reading. Thompson¿s message gets lost in a bunch of repetitive analysis of how the media wrongly portrayed the infamous motorcycle gang. It sparked my interest to hear the ¿dirty, criminals¿ we hear about, might just be made out to be worse than they are but as I read on, the factual evidence didn¿t do much for my interest. Thompson wants you to believe there is a kinder, gentler side to the rough, dangerous riders, but he doesn¿t use enough interesting examples to hold your interest throughout the entire book. Hells Angels deserved two or three stars. It is not poorly written, but if you¿re looking to learn more of The Angels reputation and life through first hand stories, I would not recommend this book. However, if you can manage to finish the entire book without getting too bored, Thompson does provide some interesting views on the Hells Angels, that you may have never known.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    A rough, stomach-turning, yet facinating view of pop sociology

    Hell¿s Angels, by Hunter S. Thompson, is an interactive, detailed description of one man¿s journey with a notorious 1960¿s motorcycle gang. The book goes into grave detail on the inner workings of the group, the psychology and philosophy of the group and the terror they left everywhere they went. The group, known for being a group of unhygienic outlaws who have no particular goals in life, has always had many different descriptions, basically only from those who witnessed the atrocious acts, or those who used to be in directly affiliated, giving a mentality that these people were larger-than-life and not to be messed with. If it weren¿t for Thompson¿s own personal accounts with the group, they might be revered as invincible. The story tells how Thompson entered the group for several months, recording everything they do, and how they accomplished so much. Many themes and messages are portrayed in the book, from the nature of violence to the romanticism of outlaws with the many exaggerations that turn thugs into heroes. This book should be read because it takes one on a journey into the mind and mentality of a criminal, a place that few will ever witness. In fact, the book is used today as guidelines on how to deal with many inner-city gangs of L.A., Chicago and New York. If you enjoy learning about the criminalistic mind, you might enjoy A Clockwork Orange by A. Burgess. If you want to read more of Hunter S. Thompson¿s works, then you might try the Rum Diary, or a personal reflection of HST¿s life in Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2006

    gonzo not dead

    amazing book on the american motorcycle gang only known as the infamous Hells Angels. Dr Thompson spent a year with these monsters and brought a new perspective to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2005

    Good Stuff

    There's plenty to chew on in Hunter S. Thompson's inaugeral book, including the nature of violence, the romanticism of outlaws and the exaggerations that turn thugs into heroes. In true Thompson fashion he hangs out with the Angels and gets pummeled for his effort, but that's a side note to the amazingly evenhanded way he portrays one of the most dangerous groups in American history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    Hell's Angels is an enjoyable novel

    Hell's Angels was about the famous 1960 bicycle gang. They were very violent and were interesting. The journalist Hunter S. Thompson had many experiences with interviewing them. He wrote a book all about what they did and what types of people they were. It was a good book if you are into the subject

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3