Customer Reviews for

Hell's Aquarium (Meg Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

View the trailer for Meg: Hell's Aquarium

You can view a trailer for this book here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gPcizsgt7oc

posted by Wedge on April 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another day another prehistoric monster from the deep.

I have read all four of the Meg Series and to be honest some of the situations presented in this book were in the other books as well. More people being killed by giant sharks, somebody trying to make money off the sharks, and a trip to the bottom of the ocean. Still ...
I have read all four of the Meg Series and to be honest some of the situations presented in this book were in the other books as well. More people being killed by giant sharks, somebody trying to make money off the sharks, and a trip to the bottom of the ocean. Still not a bad book just not new and exciting.

posted by Blue13 on September 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    View the trailer for Meg: Hell's Aquarium

    You can view a trailer for this book here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gPcizsgt7oc

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another day another prehistoric monster from the deep.

    I have read all four of the Meg Series and to be honest some of the situations presented in this book were in the other books as well. More people being killed by giant sharks, somebody trying to make money off the sharks, and a trip to the bottom of the ocean. Still not a bad book just not new and exciting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    BEST of the MEG Series by far!

    Book 4 was amazing, the best yet! Steve Alten is an amazing writer tells a story in such a way that you are hooked from beginning to end. All of his books are great but the MEG series is by far the best. If you want a great summer read, pick up Hell's Aquarium. I cannot wait for book 5 Night Stalkers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!!!!!

    I don't know where to start,this book had me all over the internet researching all kinds of large prehistoric fish. I also did a google earth fly by of Dubai which you'll find out why when you read the book. I loved all the illustration they gave me a good sense of what I was reading about. The only bad thing was I finished. But in the back pages are some new releases Kronos by Jeremy Robinson that should keep me busy while I wait for the next book Meg #5 Night Stalkers and I plan on reading the domain series. enjoy!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome Book!!!

    I have been drawn into the Meg series from the beginning and I must admit they only get better. The only drawback is that I couldn't put it down and finished this book within 48 hours.
    I love this book and was so excited to finally get it. I loved the plot and was very excited to see the characters we love in the first books return and expanded upon. Steve Alten did such a wonderful job with this book that I could see these things happening right before my eyes.
    LOVE THIS BOOK!! Can't wait for Meg 5: Night Stalkers

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    the best in the MEG series!

    impossible to put down.
    loved the science, the characters, the dinosaur species, the suspense, and Jonas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    You said this on all meg books

    A good horror book to inspire megalodon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Good Junk Reading

    Steve Alten isn't the best writer, in fact the books have a tendency to be formulated, repeat unnecessary information, and can be a bit tedious in spots. However, if you are just looking for a fun read, something to break up reading more informative and well-written books, you could do worse than this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    I loved this book

    Cant wait for book five

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    I've already read the first 3 books in Steve Alten's ¿Meg¿ serie

    I've already read the first 3 books in Steve Alten's “Meg” series. The first one established the fact that there are some large prehistoric sharks still surviving in this world; sharks where the infants are born at the size of a modern day Great White. The second one built upon it, exploring the possibility that there could be other surviving monster carnivores in the depths of the Pacific. The next two books in the series delve deeper into the world in which those creatures live – and explores how they can be exploited.

    Meg: Hell's Aquarium explores the concept that someone – in this case, an oil-rich Dubai prince – would consider opening a tourist attraction featuring those fantastic creatures. Obtaining a Meg is no longer a challenge, as our protagonist Jonas Taylor has a surplus in his artificial lagoon outside of Monterey, California – and the pups have outgrown the space he has available for them. But the OTHER creatures – ones that not even Taylor's Tanaka Institute has on display – those present a real challenge to collect. The prince purchases several of Taylor's submersibles along with the sharks, and hires Taylor's son to train a crew to pilot them. BUT will those subs and their crew be able to handle the monsters of the Pacific depths?

    I have enjoyed all 4 books currently available in the Meg series. I appreciate the interaction that the main characters have, and their obvious love and concern for each other. The science … this, I'm not as comfortable with. Ironically, it is because of just how close Alten's world is to our own. It doesn't take a big leap to imagine that unknown creatures – unknown MONSTERS – inhabit some unexplored area of the Pacific Ocean. Or that they might be lured out of that area of the ocean at some point. I personally find it much harder to take a “baby step” into a new world than a full-fledged leap, and it is precisely this kind of small gap between our current world and the one Alten describes that we must bridge. However, I don't have a strong enough issue to not enjoy each one of the 4 books Alten has currently released. (The 5th is at some point of development and will be released at some point or another … the author states that he is hoping to tie it into a movie release!)

    I'll be among the first in line to read #5, tentatively titled “MEG: Night Stalkers” when it comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    When does fifth book come out

    This is such a great book. But I want to read the 5th one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    It's a great book.

    I have studied sharks my whole life and a book about a megalodon with young is a new level

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Meg hells aquarium

    That megladon gets owned by that pliosaur

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Sean

    Kickass fast pace triller

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    ?

    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Great book

    Hardest book to put down it took a couple weeks cause i had work to do but just an amazing book cant wait vor the next one please hurry book 5 please

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Gggh

    Amazing




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Answer to question of first book in series

    The book is called MEG A Novel of Deep Terror

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Not my favorite of the Meg books

    Finally got around to reading this one, I have really enjoyed the Meg series, but this one left a lot to be desired. This one was all over the place, the ending felt extremely rushed and left me not really caring if there is another book in there series or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Awesome

    Best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6