Customer Reviews for

Hell's Corner (Camel Club Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 1075 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(429)

4 Star

(289)

3 Star

(183)

2 Star

(87)

1 Star

(87)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

an exciting action-packed tale

American President James Brennan informs retired CIA assassin Stone that his country needs his unique skills. Stone says he is John Carr and not Oliver Stone, American killer; he wants to refuse, but cannot. The Russian control the illegal drug pipelines in both hemis...
American President James Brennan informs retired CIA assassin Stone that his country needs his unique skills. Stone says he is John Carr and not Oliver Stone, American killer; he wants to refuse, but cannot. The Russian control the illegal drug pipelines in both hemispheres and their government is involved in the lucrative trade as they see it as a means back to the top tier of superpowers. Stone tells POTUS that this is his penitence from their last endeavor together when he rejected the Medal of Honor. The impossible assignment is to learn all he can about the trafficking through Mexico and what can be done to disrupt it.

Afterward, Stone is in Lafayette Park, across from the White House, when the British prime minister leaves only to have a terrorist attack occur. Stone's mission changes to identify who is behind the assault as allegedly the Russian drug cartels are the prime suspects. His partner is British MI6 agent Mary Chapman. They need help as the enemy remains elusive, but neither trusts their own agency any longer as a traitor seems to have infiltrated either the CIA, MI6 or both. Instead Stone reluctantly turns to Camel Club associates as he knows Shaw, Rhodes, Conroy, Ford and Finn has hit back and that they will never stay out of this dangerous inquiry anyway.

The latest Camel Club thriller (see Divine Justice and Stone Cold) is an exciting action-packed tale that grips the audience from the initial meeting between Brennan and Stone. Though the story line is similar to many in the genre, fans will want to know who was behind the bombing. Filled with twists and fast-paced, Stone and the camel Club will soon find themselves trapped in aptly titled Hell's Corner with no way out except death.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

eBook pricing encourages public library

I don't mean to single out Baldacci and should post this on all the books I won't buy!

I have been Nook'n since January (when new releases were 9.99) and watch the book prices continue to creep up.

I won't be adding this to my e-Library but borrowing it from the r...
I don't mean to single out Baldacci and should post this on all the books I won't buy!

I have been Nook'n since January (when new releases were 9.99) and watch the book prices continue to creep up.

I won't be adding this to my e-Library but borrowing it from the real library instead

posted by MNBones on November 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1082 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 55
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    an exciting action-packed tale

    American President James Brennan informs retired CIA assassin Stone that his country needs his unique skills. Stone says he is John Carr and not Oliver Stone, American killer; he wants to refuse, but cannot. The Russian control the illegal drug pipelines in both hemispheres and their government is involved in the lucrative trade as they see it as a means back to the top tier of superpowers. Stone tells POTUS that this is his penitence from their last endeavor together when he rejected the Medal of Honor. The impossible assignment is to learn all he can about the trafficking through Mexico and what can be done to disrupt it.

    Afterward, Stone is in Lafayette Park, across from the White House, when the British prime minister leaves only to have a terrorist attack occur. Stone's mission changes to identify who is behind the assault as allegedly the Russian drug cartels are the prime suspects. His partner is British MI6 agent Mary Chapman. They need help as the enemy remains elusive, but neither trusts their own agency any longer as a traitor seems to have infiltrated either the CIA, MI6 or both. Instead Stone reluctantly turns to Camel Club associates as he knows Shaw, Rhodes, Conroy, Ford and Finn has hit back and that they will never stay out of this dangerous inquiry anyway.

    The latest Camel Club thriller (see Divine Justice and Stone Cold) is an exciting action-packed tale that grips the audience from the initial meeting between Brennan and Stone. Though the story line is similar to many in the genre, fans will want to know who was behind the bombing. Filled with twists and fast-paced, Stone and the camel Club will soon find themselves trapped in aptly titled Hell's Corner with no way out except death.

    Harriet Klausner

    27 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    Wow!!!A must read

    David Baldacci has a way with words and his characters come to life. I felt like I was right there!! Many surprises and the plot progresses and a real stunner at the end. Best yet!!! Can't wait for the next series, I especially love Camel Club series!!

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You will not be able to put this book down

    Oliver Stone has led so many lives he lost count. For all the losses he has suffered there has been the gain in his friends and cohorts known as the Camel Club. A group of people that are as different they come together and make one large, right group. They solve crimes, take care of each other and never fail to have one another's back. But this latest case is one Stone has to handle on his own and no one including him is happy about it even though the President of the United States is asking for his help.

    But before Stone can do his work for the President a bomb goes off across the street from the White House creating the scenario where conclusions are drawn, angles are worked and assumptions made. While everyone is running to the right the masterminds are veering to the left and keeping everyone off balance including all the alphabet agencies in Washington, DC. Stone is drafted back into the service of the government with the promise that all past indiscretions would be erased yet the problem for Stone is that his sins have been of such huge proportion he is not sure this is a statement based in fact. But Stone finds himself partnered with an MI6 agent who is as cunning as he is and keeps up even while running after him. The Camel Club goes from upset at being turned away to forcing its way into the investigation and from that moment on the determination to capture the criminal and figure out what is really going on grows to a proportion even Stone can't control.

    But the agency he is now working for is throwing him off with smoke and mirrors, bodies are piling up, misconceptions abound and everyone becomes a suspect. Stone wants the nightmare to stop but for every decision he makes that draws a resolution to the case another one shows up to prove to him the last one was way off base and leads blow away with the wind.

    Without his group Stone knows he can't solve this case but in this particular situation is the gain of apprehension worth the answer to who did the deed?

    This series blows me away every time because the characters have so much depth and they are written with such clarity that you feel they just passed you on the street and said Good Morning. Stone may lead this merry band of misfits but he is not their leader he is a member of a close knit, well thought out group of people that can easily carry any book on their own and have proven that in the past. Mr. Baldacci knows how to write a great story and this one stands out in that it will scare you to realize the fiction he is proposing is probably fact and I hope there is a retired Agent Stone out there protecting us.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    eBook pricing encourages public library

    I don't mean to single out Baldacci and should post this on all the books I won't buy!

    I have been Nook'n since January (when new releases were 9.99) and watch the book prices continue to creep up.

    I won't be adding this to my e-Library but borrowing it from the real library instead

    14 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Camel Club Yet

    Hell's Corner may be the best Camel Club adventure yet. After a few disappointments from David Baldacci he wisely returns to his most successful series.

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    Outrageous

    The price on this book is insane. Why isn't this book being made available to libraries? Sorry, won't buy at this price point; let the author beware.

    10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    An Awesome Read

    First off, let me say that I've run out of patience with people using this forum to grouse about ebook prices. This is not the forum for that and your reviews go unread by me.

    I try not to use the term "couldn't put it down" but with this book that was exactly the case. I blew off a whole day yesterday first in Starbucks and then at home reading this book from cover to cover with a few bathroom breaks and a dinner break. John Carr/Oliver Stone backed by the Camel Club is/are , without a doubt, my favorite Baldacci character(s). If you're a Baldacci fan you'll enjoy this.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    RIP OFF !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This nook is a total rip off. The price of this ebook is what I could purchase a Hard copy. It has to stop you cant expect ebook readers to send the same money on a book as the hard cover. This is a total rip off !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Since 9/11 is any place in the United States safe anymore?

    Since 9/11 some people wonder just how protected our country is against another terrorist attack here in the United States. We have even created the Division of Homeland Security just for that purpose. Yet what if those that are claiming to be our allies, really are our enemies just using us to gain a way into the United States to once more find a way to bring havoc to our country and make people run in fear again.

    In the fifth latest novel by David Baldacci, Hell's Corner brings back the agent Oliver Stone and the Camel Club for those that are follower's of his other books. This time Agent Stone is looking to clear his name before he can accept the Medal of Honor the President of the United States wants to award him. He can't in good faith do that just yet. When the President assigns him a new mission, to locate a Russian drug cartel operating in Mexico with terrorist ties to gain access to the United States, he willingly takes this case.

    When the British Prime Minister is here visiting with the President and an attempt to assassinate him takes place within Lafayette Park just across from the White House, things aren't at all what they appear to be.

    I received this wonderful suspense filled novel compliments of Hachette Book Groups for my honest review and have to say I was left spell bound and holding my breath on so many chapters. Just when I think I have it figured out, I am left guessing once more. This book had more twists that a roller coaster! This is a blend of Mission Impossible along with The Bourne Identity. If you love books along those lines then this is a must read for you. I rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars.

    This book is available in hardcover, eBook, and CD formats.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent read.....typical David Baldacci....

    I am anxious for the 6th in the series of Camel Club..(if there will be one)...until then, I'll start on another series by him.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2010

    Highly Recommended another great book written by David Baldacci

    Hell's Corner was another great book about the Camel Club. It got you from the start all the way to the finish and was hard to put down. If you are a fan of the Camel Club and David Baldacci and enjoy thrillers this is a must read.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed in eBook pricing.

    New price point is ruining my Nook expereince. No eBook gift cards for Christmas. At this price, I can buy the hardback. Read it. Donate it, and make some money back on my taxes.

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hell's Corner

    I enjoy David Balducci's books but this is the first Camel Club novel of his that I have read. I must say that I enjoyed (although the Camel Club takes back seat to the story). Oliver Stone is recruited by the President to investigate and destroy an international drug syndicate. But before he can start his mission, while taking a walk in his favorite park (Lafayette Park), a bomb goes off and he gets involved in trying to locate who is responsible and why. Every time he gets close to the truth, someone is killed, putting his life in more danger. Although, some found this story tedious and unbelievable, I found it thrilling and a great escape.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Welcome Back David

    Baldacci returns to a formula that works. After spending so much time on books that just repeated the same forumula over and over, he returns to add another volume to the Camel Club series. In my opinion, this is where he needs to stay. The cast of continuing characters, sans Milton Farb, are varied and unforgettable. If you like the first 4 in this series, you will like #5 as well. David, let's see #6, #7 and so forth. Please.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    REVIEWS!

    REVIEWS ARE SUPPOSED TO BE ABOUT THE BOOK!!! WANT TO COMPLAIN ABOUT PRICES GO ELSEWHERE. THIS IS NOT THE PLACE FOR YOUR COMPLAINING. WRITE ABOUT THE BOOK IF YOU EVEN READ IT!!! CALL THE COMPANY, DON'T BOTHER US HERE. WHINE ELSEWHERE!!!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    Not paying $12.99 for an e-book

    Why would I pay $12.99 for an e-book when I could by hard cover for $15. I am also on my third Nook (first one had a cracked page advance button the replacement was possessed.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    B&N pricing

    I agree with many of the comments about pricing -- but it's not all B&N's nor Amazon's fault.

    The following is MY OPINION.
    My memory of the initial Kindle and Nook pricing for books was advertised as a max of $9.99. That appears to have lasted until the publisher's figured out that e-books were a gold mine, and that their paper copy sales were going to suffer, in my opinion. So sometime earlier this year the publisher's appear to have bullied the e-book sellers into jacking up the price. Now one can get a paper copy of a new release for about a nickle more than an e-book copy, so the only advantage is that one can carry a whole lot of books easily while traveling. I'm not sure that's a huge advantage -- certainly not a $250 advantage, which is what many of us paid for Kindles and nooks.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    The PRICE IS WHAT?!!

    I will NOT purchase this book at this price...what the heck! Same price as the hard cover? I have noticed this trend going that way with the pricing. I agree. I wish I had not purchased the nook. Sadly Amazon has the same price. May not be B&N's fault. Sorry this review is not geared to the book.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    Outrageous price for ebook

    ChrissUS- I liked the review that you had for this book. Oh that's right you didn't do one just complained about those that complained about the prices of ebooks. I agree with those that comment that the prices for this book in ebook form are outrageous. I also will not buy it as an ebook. If need be I will go to BN and read it 1 hour at a time.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Here

    &#9812&#9818

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1082 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 55