Customer Reviews for

The Help

Average Rating 4.5
( 18403 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12983)

4 Star

(3284)

3 Star

(1070)

2 Star

(490)

1 Star

(576)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

264 out of 280 people found this review helpful.

Inspiring

I absolutely LOVED this book. Kathryn Stockett did an amazing job. I loved how the story was written from the perspectives of the different women. I enjoyed seeing the world through their very different eyes and watching them develop throughout the story. The beautifull...
I absolutely LOVED this book. Kathryn Stockett did an amazing job. I loved how the story was written from the perspectives of the different women. I enjoyed seeing the world through their very different eyes and watching them develop throughout the story. The beautifully descriptive writing drew me in and made me feel like I was right there. This is an intense story of how these different women deal with the issue of racism during the civil rights movement. It is a poignant and deeply moving novel. I didn't want the book to end. I think this book would make an amazing movie as well. I would highly recommend this book to everyone.

posted by Tarasview on February 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

323 out of 355 people found this review helpful.

Brilliant Five Star Read!!!

Have you ever done something in spite of yourself? That is what happened to me when I read The Help by Kathryn Socket. A good friend of mine suggested a few months back that I read the book. When I finally came up on the massive library waiting list, I was ecstatic. As ...
Have you ever done something in spite of yourself? That is what happened to me when I read The Help by Kathryn Socket. A good friend of mine suggested a few months back that I read the book. When I finally came up on the massive library waiting list, I was ecstatic. As I read the slip cover for a synopsis of the story, I was intrigued and anxious to get started until... I flipped to the back flap and there was a Caucasian woman. I was stunned and almost offended. I distinctly remembered reading just moments before about two of the main characters being African American women, in the tumultuous 1960's and in Jackson, Mississippi no less! How can she [Kathryn Socket], who is not a minority member or even a bi-racial woman, write from the point of view of a black woman? I would soon find out! Against my own judgment I started to read the book and let's just say I read all 440+ pages in a week's time; it would have been sooner if work didn't get in the way! All I can say is BRILLIANT! Stockett depicted the characters so vividly that I almost forgot who had written the book. She seamlessly wove this tale of racial and human relations, with such precision and depth that I would easily read the book again. Believable characters, an exciting and at times suspenseful plot, what more can you ask for? I was fully engaged! I was committed to reading and drawn in almost seductively by the words on the pages! At times, I wanted to cry and other times I laughed out loud. There were times I was literally afraid and others I was so angry, I wished I was part of Civil Rights movement of the 1960's so I could DO something! Aibileen could easily be any one of my aunts, reading her throughout the book made me feel like I was eavesdropping on all the elder women in my family! She is wise, smart, and compassionate despite her circumstances. I found myself labeling random strangers as possible shoe-ins for the book's characters. I found Miss Minnie and Miss Skeeter by day two while sitting in the hairdresser chair! Utilizing fiction, Kathryn Socket was able to allow us a glimpse at a critical time period in American history through the eyes of two different classes of people who experienced it. She offered the ying and the yang, the good and the bad of human relationships amongst racial tension and political turmoil. Sadly, I was disappointed with how the books ended, I craved more information, I wanted to know that all my characters, all the heroines ended up ok. But I suspect Stockett left it that way purposely in order to give way to our own imaginations! If nothing else, this book will educate you and motivate you to learn more. I am pleased, entertained, and I don't even care anymore that the authors is not black! FIVE STARS!

posted by Liber8tedsoul on September 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 18550 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 928
  • Posted February 13, 2009

    Inspiring

    I absolutely LOVED this book. Kathryn Stockett did an amazing job. I loved how the story was written from the perspectives of the different women. I enjoyed seeing the world through their very different eyes and watching them develop throughout the story. The beautifully descriptive writing drew me in and made me feel like I was right there. This is an intense story of how these different women deal with the issue of racism during the civil rights movement. It is a poignant and deeply moving novel. I didn't want the book to end. I think this book would make an amazing movie as well. I would highly recommend this book to everyone.

    264 out of 280 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is one of the best books I have read. It's touching, inspirational and absolutely unforgettable. From the beginning of the book I was drawn in, felt with the characters and learnt from them. Awesome read- that will want you to put this book on your top shelf.

    216 out of 223 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I hope she writes a sequel

    Kathryn Stockett has written a marvelous book -- the southern voices are right, the stories of the women draw you in with their resourcefulness and courage. Memphis, where I grew up, was where the Delta began, and she described that world perfectly -- the maids in their uniforms, the restrictions, the distrust. I couldn't put it down, but then I was sorry when I finished because I wanted to read more about Skeeter and Minny and all the others. I hope she writes a sequel.

    144 out of 158 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Very enjoyable

    This was a fun read. I loved the story. Can only recommend.

    132 out of 162 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    THIS BOOK SHOULD BE MANDATORY READING IN EVERY SCHOOL CURRICULUM!

    Set in Mississippi in the 1960's, Stockett captured the personalities of the black maids and Southern Belles so perfectly, it read like a non-fiction biography. What an inspiration to human beings everywhere! The insight into human behavior couldn't have been done better! This book should be mandatory reading in every school curriculum! Touching! Heartfelt! Heartbreaking! Uplifting! Inspiring! Such compassion! Such strength! Such perseverance! Such courage! This is a TRUE MASTERPIECE!!!

    Some other books I've read that left their messages imbedded in my mind forever, I recommend...

    58 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2009

    A sad, warm, and sometimes humourous reminder of an outrageous time of cruelty and ignorance in America.

    I originally purchased this as an audio book for a 15 hour cross country drive. The characters fostered such a range of emotions in me that all that mental activity just kept me charged up for the entire drive. The author offers first person narration as a tool for getting the reader inside the head and heart of the books main characters. There is tension and suspense and alot of humor. Thank heaven for the humor! When I was finished with the audio book, I gave it to this friend and that friend to take on their trips, but I so missed Skeeter and the other characters that I went out and bought the book, so I can carry it with me and read the characters' narrations at different points in the book. I haven't enjoyed anything about the South this much since Credence Clearwater Revival's Southern Rock or Harper Lee's To Kill a Mockingbird.

    40 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    So We'll Never Forget the Bad Old Days!

    I became completely immersed in the story of the 3 main characters. As a resident of a border state, I remember taking a Greyhound bus through southern states as a young teen enroute to visit my Grandfather in FLA during the early 60's, and being apalled at the "white" and "colored" signs on restrooms, drinking fountains, etc., and the shantytowns we traveled through. And I remember my own working Mom hiring a black woman to do some ironing in our home, and wondering when and how she could do that all day, 6 days a week for different families, and still take care of her own 5 young children. Later, I knew people in CA whose Mexican maids and nannies raised and loved their children, though the employees' own kids the same age or younger, had been left behind with relatives. I suppose that still goes on. This book makes you think about segregation, civil rights and the race/class divide in the south like Uncle Tom's Cabin made people think about slavery. I understand why H.B. Stowe, a white woman, had to be the one to open our eyes about slavery in 1857--but not why a gifted black author didn't beat Kathryn Stockett to the presses with an equally-well-written (as The Help) account of life as experienced by domestic servants in white southern households during the pre-civil-rights era.

    35 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2010

    You'll need 'help' putting 'The Help' down!

    Such an amazing book. My only expectation going in was that it was on the bestsellers list, and I've heard a lot about it. I didn't realize what an addicting story these three women had me in store for. It was suspenseful at times, touching, supremely entertaining, and finally wonderfully pulled together. I haven't enjoyed a book this much in quite a few months. If you haven't read it yet, please pick up a copy and get to it!

    32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best books I've read!

    This is a wonderful portrayal of the painful, unfair bias and prejudice of the time but also about human kindness, goodwill, and fairness. I loved the different vantage points, so the reader can see into the thought process of all concerned. This is full of wonderful lessons to us human beings, some probably won't GET IT but I'm quite sure most will be brought to tears if there is a heart beating in their chests!

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    So good!

    I jsut finished this book yesterday, and I was suprised that I liked it as much as I did. A friend of mine recommended it to me, and it's not typically the type of book that I usually pick. However, with that being said, I'm so glad that I gave this a chance. I felt that the author did a great job with the dialect of the maids, and that she captured the time period in the South perfectly. I will recommend this book to my family and friends.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    A book about maids in 2010?????????????????

    I can't believe that this author could begin to explain or describe the inner feelings of an African American. I wonder where she received her information from to write this book...................

    We have come so far in life, atleast I think so, then to find a book like this on the best sellers list seems unreal.

    13 out of 112 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Terrific!

    I am midway through this book and am totally involved in the story and the characters. For a first novel this is beautifully done. Others have given more detailed reviews, all I can say is, read it.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    This is a must read!

    I have seen this book every time I went to the bookstore. But the cover never really kept me captivated enough to want to go buy it. Over Christmas my sister-in-law recommended it to me. But I was skeptical. A week later I was getting my car oil changed and another woman was reading this book. She was halfway through it and recommended it. I had just gotten a nook and decided to download the book. I could not stop reading it. It's not "thrilling" or "suspenseful". But it is by far a beautifully written novel that makes you think about the lives of the women in the south in the 60's and the huge discrepencies between people at that time. I didn't want the book to end and towards the end I was crying. The book did indeed feel as if you were watching a movie. I do hope they make this book into a movie. I would recommend this book 10 times over anyone. This is a must read!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Best Book: The Help

    I am a voracious reader who enjoys bestsellers, classics, poetry, all types of literature. This is one of the best books I have ever read. It is touching, inspirational, a compelling plot and characters. When I finished it, I had chills all over! Must read for anyone.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Great book, yet unsatisfying ending

    The main characters are developed well, but the sub-plots are boring at best. I felt as if I were reading a novel meant for middle school age children. Overall, it's an easy read and flows quickly through the overly obvious ending. I did enjoy how the author pointed out the fact that white and blacks were both racist (i.e. Hilly to blacks, Minnie to whites) and that Skeeter and Aibee weren't trying to make a political point, but were both using each other as a vehical to better lives.

    9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    Unexpectedly Captivating

    I picked this book up on a whim. No previous knowledge about the book or the author. Absolutely loved reading it and in the dialect it was written, at times, was a joy to read it out loud. This was a very touching story about people and the times in which they lived. I had a few laugh out loud moments and shed a tear as well. Reminds us all to remain vigilant and keep the word of doing unto others as you would have them do unto you.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable Read

    I woke up early and stayed up late to read this book! I finished it in 3 days. I enjoyed the writing style and the flow although I do feel that as it wraps up it becomes less realistic. This book sparked a debate between my husband and I regarding whether or not a white writer is capable of portraying a black woman in Jackson, Mississippi in the 1960's. I was pleased to see in the author's note (in the back of the book) she addressed this issue as something she greatly struggled with. No one can be fully put into another person's shoes but the struggle to understand each other is how we grow as a human collective. I highly recommend this book. It was an easy read, I felt I was able to connect and care about the characters, and its thought-provoking.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    A surprisingly good book!

    I had seen this book on the bestseller lists for ages, but didn't think it was something I would be interested in. Finally I broke down and bought it and discovered a great new book! Now, I've sent the book to my mother, sister, and friends.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Rubish

    It's really hard to jazzercise and read this book at the same time. Plus, it's historically innacurate.

    8 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Story, Must Read

    I was riveted to my Nook while reading this book. I felt such attachment to the so many of the characters. We all have a "Hilly" in our lives, someone who no matter how hateful and undeserving, seem to have everything. I love Aibileen and her love for the children she cares for and how she tries to teach them to be positive about themselves and others, we are all the same no matter our color. In all honesty I think Minny is my favorite, she is a little firecracker of a woman who speaks her mind no matter the consequences. You know you are really enjoying a book when you are casting characters in your head for the movie and I hope this does get made into a movie. Wonderful story.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 18550 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 928