Customer Reviews for

The Help

Average Rating 4.5
( 18379 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12963)

4 Star

(3284)

3 Star

(1067)

2 Star

(490)

1 Star

(575)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

263 out of 279 people found this review helpful.

Inspiring

I absolutely LOVED this book. Kathryn Stockett did an amazing job. I loved how the story was written from the perspectives of the different women. I enjoyed seeing the world through their very different eyes and watching them develop throughout the story. The beautifull...
I absolutely LOVED this book. Kathryn Stockett did an amazing job. I loved how the story was written from the perspectives of the different women. I enjoyed seeing the world through their very different eyes and watching them develop throughout the story. The beautifully descriptive writing drew me in and made me feel like I was right there. This is an intense story of how these different women deal with the issue of racism during the civil rights movement. It is a poignant and deeply moving novel. I didn't want the book to end. I think this book would make an amazing movie as well. I would highly recommend this book to everyone.

posted by Tarasview on February 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

323 out of 355 people found this review helpful.

Brilliant Five Star Read!!!

Have you ever done something in spite of yourself? That is what happened to me when I read The Help by Kathryn Socket. A good friend of mine suggested a few months back that I read the book. When I finally came up on the massive library waiting list, I was ecstatic. As ...
Have you ever done something in spite of yourself? That is what happened to me when I read The Help by Kathryn Socket. A good friend of mine suggested a few months back that I read the book. When I finally came up on the massive library waiting list, I was ecstatic. As I read the slip cover for a synopsis of the story, I was intrigued and anxious to get started until... I flipped to the back flap and there was a Caucasian woman. I was stunned and almost offended. I distinctly remembered reading just moments before about two of the main characters being African American women, in the tumultuous 1960's and in Jackson, Mississippi no less! How can she [Kathryn Socket], who is not a minority member or even a bi-racial woman, write from the point of view of a black woman? I would soon find out! Against my own judgment I started to read the book and let's just say I read all 440+ pages in a week's time; it would have been sooner if work didn't get in the way! All I can say is BRILLIANT! Stockett depicted the characters so vividly that I almost forgot who had written the book. She seamlessly wove this tale of racial and human relations, with such precision and depth that I would easily read the book again. Believable characters, an exciting and at times suspenseful plot, what more can you ask for? I was fully engaged! I was committed to reading and drawn in almost seductively by the words on the pages! At times, I wanted to cry and other times I laughed out loud. There were times I was literally afraid and others I was so angry, I wished I was part of Civil Rights movement of the 1960's so I could DO something! Aibileen could easily be any one of my aunts, reading her throughout the book made me feel like I was eavesdropping on all the elder women in my family! She is wise, smart, and compassionate despite her circumstances. I found myself labeling random strangers as possible shoe-ins for the book's characters. I found Miss Minnie and Miss Skeeter by day two while sitting in the hairdresser chair! Utilizing fiction, Kathryn Socket was able to allow us a glimpse at a critical time period in American history through the eyes of two different classes of people who experienced it. She offered the ying and the yang, the good and the bad of human relationships amongst racial tension and political turmoil. Sadly, I was disappointed with how the books ended, I craved more information, I wanted to know that all my characters, all the heroines ended up ok. But I suspect Stockett left it that way purposely in order to give way to our own imaginations! If nothing else, this book will educate you and motivate you to learn more. I am pleased, entertained, and I don't even care anymore that the authors is not black! FIVE STARS!

posted by Liber8tedsoul on September 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3284 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 165
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A MUST READ

    This was the first book I purchased for my Nook. It was so good that I went and bought a "real" copy for my daughter and sent it to her. I sat down with it for a few minutes just to get the "feel" of it and 3 hours later, I was still reading it. I read it nearly straight through and was sorry when I finished it the next day. It left me wanting to know more. The only real criticism I have is that the ending was a bit flat. I recommend this to anyone who likes to know all sides of a story. You will love the characters, even the ones you don't like!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    Realistic but enjoyable glimpse of the South 50 years ago

    As a product of the Deep South of the 1950's, I was impressed with how the author has woven such an interesting, readable story depicting how life really was at that time. The plot is simple and believable with a realistic ending and characters that are easy to identify with. The writing style is pleasant with dialect usage that is authentic without being overdone. Overall, it's a very enjoyable, worthwhile book.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Good Read

    The Help is one of those books that fit the moment so if you don't read it you're out of the loop; however, if you can make it through the dry spots and finish the book it's a interesting and enjoyable piece of literature. I can't wait to see how it translates on the screen.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    Great Read

    This was a wonderful book that not only described the lives of women in domestic help but also of their relationship with the children of families. A tradition that the south has, you don't have to be blood to be family. The characters were written in such a way, they became alive.
    The book also shows a dark side to the life of a black southern women.
    Highly recommend.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    a great read

    loved this book. i could feel the Mississippi heat upon me. love the character development. i tried to slow down on the last 40 pages, couldn't do it. even though, it was somewhat predictable, this book captured me to the last page. living in the south, i wonder if it made me love this book more...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Help- Fantastic and highly recommended

    The year is 1962 in Jacksonville, Mississippi and the lives of 3 women are about to be changed forever. Kathryn Stockett, author of The Help, takes us through the lives of Aibileen, Minny, and Skeeter. Aibileen is an old black maid whose job is to take care of children until they grow up. Minny is a black slave as well, but unlike Aibileen who has patience and controls her tongue, Minny is aggressive, and exercises her attitude every day in the workplace. Skeeter is an intelligent young woman who just graduated from Ole Miss and dreams of becoming a journalist. One of my favorite things about this book is that this story is told from these 3 women's perspectives.
    Since this book takes place in the 1960s, it is no surprise that segregation and racism are major themes in this book. Visualizing the setting was no problem too, for Stockett did an excellent job breaking it down, using vivid adjectives and verbs to get her point across. The characters came to life as well. While reading, I could visualize each character making the book very enjoyable to read. The book in my opinion was great and an excellent read. The only bad thing that there were parts of this book that was slow to get through including the beginning. This book was great and I highly recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    This is one of my favorite books!! I loved it so much I read it

    This is one of my favorite books!! I loved it so much I read it twice. The first time I read it it only took me 2 days. You should defiantly read it. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    LOVED IT!!!!!!!

    I really enjoyed this book. I could hardly put it down!!! Must read for everybody 12 and up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Good

    It is very interesting

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    GREAT BOOK

    This was very good
    Lots of great story lines
    Also very funny
    Recomend 14 and up

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    A great read

    What a wonderful book. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Yoooooooooopoppo

    Hey curse happy guy watch ur mouth

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Good book

    Enjoyedthe book and the movie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Awsome

    Im only nine i havent gotton the book yet but i whached the movie and i LOVED it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    I loved it!

    I watch the movie after reading this book, and wished they could have followed the book a bit more closely. As I started to read, I couldnt put it down! This book was very honest, and even very sad at times, but also funny and entertaining! The movie did it no justice...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    The Help

    I got to see the movie on this book , it was great. I will have to read the book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Touching story

    Easy read. Touching story about our past as a country.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    errors

    i only have the sample and it has alot of mistakes or errors its known as but itz still a good book i would like to get the rest of it

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Recommend

    A bit slow to start for me, but once I read further I couldn't put it down, particularly towards the last few chapters. The movie is coming out, but the books are always better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful!

    I had heard many good things about The Help. I recieved it as 'Lend Me' book on my NOOK...I read the book in about 2 days. loved it. It not only had a well told story. It had such a good meaning behind it. The person's skin color doesn't matter...they are still a person! Very good. i think everyone should read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3284 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 165