Customer Reviews for

Help, Thanks, Wow: The Three Essential Prayers

Average Rating 4.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Please don't let the reviews that reflect opinions on the length

Please don't let the reviews that reflect opinions on the length of the sample rather than the actual content keep you away from this humorous and beautiful publication.  I love Anne Lamott's writing style and this book lifted my spirits during a very challenging time i...
Please don't let the reviews that reflect opinions on the length of the sample rather than the actual content keep you away from this humorous and beautiful publication.  I love Anne Lamott's writing style and this book lifted my spirits during a very challenging time in my life.  For me, it is one of those books that you want to have in ebook form to always have with you, as well as to actually buy in hardcover print so you can also give a copy to all of your friends and family.

posted by bookladygran on January 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Stupid "sample"

Drives me crazy when you are unsure about a book so you look at the sample and it's 6 pages long and all you get are the credits.

posted by Anonymous on November 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Stupid "sample"

    Drives me crazy when you are unsure about a book so you look at the sample and it's 6 pages long and all you get are the credits.

    28 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Sample

    Who decides how long a sample should be? You can't call a few pages a sample if it contains absolutely nothing of the author's actual work! Barnes and Noble can do better than this. If the publishers or authors don't want to give a real sample, they should be made to realalize that they are not doing themselves a favor.

    21 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Help thanks wow

    Incredibly crappy sample! Didn't get to page one!

    19 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    Please don't let the reviews that reflect opinions on the length

    Please don't let the reviews that reflect opinions on the length of the sample rather than the actual content keep you away from this humorous and beautiful publication.  I love Anne Lamott's writing style and this book lifted my spirits during a very challenging time in my life.  For me, it is one of those books that you want to have in ebook form to always have with you, as well as to actually buy in hardcover print so you can also give a copy to all of your friends and family.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    I think i may try to pray again.

    Simple yet so hard for some of us. Wonderful little book. A few sentences did not seem to connect to the whole and were a little rabbit trailish and rambly, which knocked off a star. Sorry bout that. I'd have chosen just a sliver of a star, but it wasn't an option.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Wonderful!

    Anne Lamott gets it. Her insights help me laugh, cry, and not give up hope. I first heard of her 19 years ago when I was a new mom and an independent bookstore recommended her book about her son's first year of life. Now her books are available anywhere. In this journey of life I'm glad I have Anne's thoughts to help me. And this newest book offers more of what I have come to expect from her, grace.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Anne Lamott makes the most profound feelings resonate with wit a

    Anne Lamott makes the most profound feelings resonate with wit and insight. She tells her own jounrys with great courage and honesty. Annie brings faith and prayer down to the basics. What more do you need?

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Thankyou, thankyou, thankyou!

    I normally don't go in for books that attempt to offer spiritual grace or salvation thru the use of prayer -- but this book grabbed me mainly because of the author's plain, down to earth use of words like "HELP", "THANKS" and "WOW", which are words that all of us utter at one time or another whether or not we're using them to get in touch with a 'Higher Power' -- or whether or not one even believes in a 'Higher Power'? So I say thankyou, thankyou, thankyou to author, Anne Lamott, for keeping the mechanics of prayer simple, sincere and within the realm of possibility.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I enjoyed this small book about what prayers are or could be. Annie Lamott is one of my favorite writers. She is down to earth and real.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Another Anne Lamott Great

    Garunteed: if you've liked any of Ms Lamott's books (the non-fiction ones) in the past, you will enjoy this one as well. If you've never read any of her books this isn't a bad introduction. She's insightful, honest, self-deprecating, humorous, and full of a faith that makes one want to have the same kind of spiritual eyes on the world that she has. My only complaint is that the book was too short!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Got to love Anne Lamott!

    If you've read Lamott before, you could probably connect to her writing style and seemingly haphazard way of communicating. She is honest, poignant, and you have to be able pick up on her witty references through your background knowledge, or perhaps age. One may miss her one line Janis Joplin quotes if you did not grow up listening to her! Anyone who broaches the topic of spirituality in our society today needs to be applauded. We do so lack this most vital part of our existence. So many of our youth lack the exposure to some form of peaceful existence and know not how to relish the simple joys of nature and spirit within oneself. This book came at a time when I needed reflection and to reconnect with my own thoughts of the importance of our inner spirit and the existence and support of a Greater Being. Just purchased a second copy for a family member who is coping with stress and a lack of peace. All may not benefit from this book, but it is worth giving it a try to support a loved one!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Strongly recommend - a worthwhile read

    With her usual humor and frankness, the author offers a simple yet profound discussion on prayer. I appreciated her first person accounts of the meaning of "asking", of "being grateful" and of "awe" - perhaps the cornerstones of deepening spirituality. I especially liked the "wow" section - acknowledging what we often can't put into words.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was one of the best books I have read in a long time.  I wa

    This was one of the best books I have read in a long time.  I was so sad when I finished it and was ready to read it over again immediately!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Useless sample

    The sample offered here is just the cover the authors other works and the publishers info Shame on BN for being asleep at the wheel ZERO STARS

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Even if one is not into "prayer" as traditionally regarded, Anne L. gives it such new and realistic meaning. I'm a Buddhist, but I LOVE her thinking!

    Kate in Ohio

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Pinefall

    Thank you. Ill put a camp there if I make another clan, although I have my paws full already.

    2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Amazing.

    Anne Lamott is one of my favorite authors and this is a wonderful book. It offers a unique and encompassing view of prayer and hope for anyone of any faith (or lack thereof).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    PRAYER MADE SIMPLE BUT PERSONALLY lEFT ME WANTING MORE

    Lamont's purpose it seemed was to convince the reader that basically there are three reasons one chooses to pray- to ask for "help", express gratitude or acknowledge something that blows you away. It is an easy read but I was hoping for more depth to the subject matter. For someone who is just beginning a prayer life, it would be a good introduction. Been practicing for 33 yrs so This book was too much of an "intro" course.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2013

    Great way to reconnect with God and explain prayer so that it re

    Great way to reconnect with God and explain prayer so that it real!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Short read but powerful!

    This is an excellent read. Short but very powerful. They say when the student is ready the teacher will appear. Need I say more?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5