Customer Reviews for

Helping Gifted Children Soar: A Practical Guide for Parents and Teachers

Average Rating 5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2003

    How to Advocate for Gifted Children in Public Schools

    Reviewer: Andrew Taber (see more about me) from Maebashi, Japan It reviewed familiar concepts I have previously read about the distinguishing characteristics that help define gifted. Those characteristics include: (1) gifted children differ from mere smart children in the profundity of their cognitive abilities and the gifted upper levels can only be achieved with genetic endowments that no amount of education can compensate for, (2) Gifted children need additional support systems to navigate their way through school similar to how mentally challenged children need additional support systems to navigate through school, and (3) Gifted children are a tremendous workload for their parents to manage. The bookfs strength was in telling the reader how to effectively advocate for onefs gifted child in the public school system. It wasnft too specific on how to properly homeschool gifted children and did not address much about the college years or beyond. My favorite parts, as usual were the real life examples or scenarios of gifted children going through the highs and lows of their giftedness with their friends, teachers, and parents. Gifted people can be so easy to ridicule because they are often full of insecurities and social shortcomings. The book lead me to three moderately useful websites on the subject of giftedness by referring me to twenty-one websites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2002

    Excellent Guide

    Do you suspect that your child is gifted? If your answer is yes then this book is one that you must have. Helping Gifted Children Soar is a primer to help parents identify, resource and support the needs of their gifted child. The authors give parents a step by step approach on what to do and advise parents on how to best work with school systems and teachers to further enhance the education of their gifted child. This book is great. It identifies the difference between a child being just smart in comparison to gifted. It shows how giftedness can be hidden under other physical disabilities and the emotional immaturity of the child. What is even more important are the tools it gives parents to empower themselves to become an advocate for their child in the school system. Teachers and administrators many times are ignorant about gifted children. With this resource (and it lists others as well) the parent is enabled to begin the discussion about giftedness and can partner with the school to make the necessary adjustments in the gifted child's education. I highly recommend this book for all parents who suspect that their child is gifted. This guide will give you the basics of what to do and how to go about working your way through the school system to provide for your child's needs. Helping Gifted Children Soar does not address the issue of giftedness for those who home school their children. Nor does it deal with giftedness in private secular and religious schools. Its scope is limited to the public schools but the information on identifying giftedness, helping your child learn and finding a suitable curriculum is information that can be used in any setting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2001

    Practical, accessible, meaningful

    How I wish I'd had this book available when struggling for effective ways to deal with a gifted child and, more, with his schools! The authors present an easy-to-read account of the inner & exterior lives of gifted children and their special needs, with creative suggestions and practical advice for parents, teachers, and anyone in contact with these young people who are just a bit different! I'm sending copies to lots of people I know, who need to know. A great resource book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2001

    A Gifted Book

    I wish Helping Gifted Children Soar: A Practical Guide for Parents and Teachers had been in existence when my son was young. How fortunate for those who now have it available to them. This book is like a sage who takes you by the hand and guides you through the world of giftedness, a territory that was unfamiliar to me when my son was growing up. 'Eureka!' came to mind a number of times as I read instances and examples that now shed light on a number of areas relating to my son's development. The wide range of topics covered by this book is stunning ... the physical, social, intellectual, and emotional aspects of the gifted child. The content, written with clarity, provides in-depth guidelines for parents and teachers and demonstrates the importance of parents and teachers serving as allies in their understanding and support of the gifted child. Also included are real-life examples of gifted children and an informative reference section. Appealing and very helpful is the Table of Contents, which not only includes chapter titles, but also chapter subheadings, allowing one to locate topic information immediately. Kudos to Carol Strip and Gretchen Hirsch for their dedicated and important work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2001

    Helping Gifted Children Soar

    Helping Gifted Children Soar (A Practical Guide for Parents and Teachers) by Carol A. Strip, Ph.D with Gretchen Hirsch. Gifted Psychology Press, 270 pp., $18.00 Reviewed by Nadine Huffman and Elizabeth Glier During our combined 20+ years of parenting and teaching our gifted children, we¿ve read countless books on giftedness, which have yielded various reactions and degrees of satisfaction. Like the porridge in the three bears¿ cottage, many seemed ¿too hot¿ or ¿too cold¿ ¿ too simplistic, too academia-oriented, too esoteric. Only a select few were ¿just right,¿ worthy of recommendation and a place in our home libraries. So when we set out to review Carol Strip¿s Helping Gifted Children Soar, we were, quite frankly, a bit skeptical. Indeed, the book has a great pedigree. It¿s published by Dr. James Webb¿s (co-author of Guiding the Gifted Child) Gifted Psychology Press. But would its claim, ¿A Practical Guide for Parents and Teachers¿ prove to be justifiable, earning it a permanent place on our bookshelves? Fortunately for the gifted community, this book falls into the ¿just right¿ category. It¿s excellent for teachers, and even better for parents. Dr. Strip¿s breadth of experience -- as a regular and gifted classroom teacher, gifted program administrator, and university professor ¿ serves her exceedingly well. Since working within the educational system is her forte, the book is loaded with comprehensive advice and concrete suggestions on how to meet children¿s educational needs. Written in laymen¿s terms, the book is extremely readable. Particularly incisive sections include defining smart vs. gifted; selecting optimal teachers; exploring learning options (e.g., acceleration, curriculum compacting, and pull-outs); characteristics of good gifted programs; and effective parent/teacher communication. Dr. Strip also offers a plethora of solid parenting suggestions, and a useful question/answer section. The book includes over 20 pages of first-class resources and references. One comment: Given the paradigm shift towards homeschooling among many gifted parents today, it¿s curious that this option rates only a nominal mention in the book. Homeschooling is neither Dr. Strip¿s emphasis nor her area of expertise. But there¿s enough other pertinent material to make it a worthwhile read for homeschooling parents. The techniques are relevant and valuable in any educational setting. Helping Gifted Children Soar may well become the gifted equivalent to Dr. Spock or Penelope Leach on your home reference shelf. Together with Guiding the Gifted Child (Webb, Meckstroth and Tolan) and Teaching Gifted Kids in the Regular Classroom (Winebrenner), it¿s a terrific resource for your child¿s teacher, gifted specialist, principal, or school library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2001

    Helping Gifted Children Understand Themselves.

    Gifted children and gifted adults alike need to read this book!!!! It is a great guide for parents and teachers, and also helps those who grew up not understanding why other people didn't think the same way did we. The authors concentrate on BOTH the intellectual and the emotional needs of the child and give solid advice as to what those who are involved in the child's development can do to help the child develop to full potential. They give the parents and teachers the 'keys' to producing a well-rounded, complete individual. This is a must read work for anyone who is concerned with the well-being of an exceptional child. It will also help those who grew up as a gifted child, and didn't understand why the rest of the world didn't work the way they thought it should.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2000

    Outstanding resource!

    This is an excellent book that helps parents and teachers of gifted children understand each other and work together effectively. It presents a balanced perspective concerning the differing ways parents and teachers can view the same child and is very realistic in suggesting ways to combine those perspectives for the good of the child. As a member of a minority, I'm pleased the authors often make the point that not all gifted students are white and economically advantaged. The question and answer section is helpful, and I loved the short, easy-to-read case studies. This book takes a complicated subject and makes it accessible. It's an outstanding resource for parents, grandparents, extended family members, teachers, counselors, and school administrators. There's something in it for everyone who's involved in the life of a gifted child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2000

    Be the wind under a gifted child's wings!

    Helping Gifted Children Soar provides wise, clear and reassuring guidance for parents and teachers who wish to encourage and develop the gifted children in their lives. Strip/Hirsch clearly promote partnerships among all players, lightening everyone's burdens through realistic expectations, appropriate communication and mutual respect. They appreciate that gifted children are, after all, children, and whole human beings outside of the 'gifted' context, and offer readers tools and permission toward relaxing and enjoying the journey. The guide is practical and insightful for the seasoned teacher as well as parents who suspect/know their child is gifted. For those at the 'suspect' stage, Helping Gifted Children Soar provides a list of testing and screening methods employed by schools. Various learning options are then outlined, with the pros and cons for different learning styles and personalities, so that intelligent choices can be made, based on inidividual needs. Next, the guide helps everyone work effectively with/through the other players' environment (home or school) -- always keeping the child's unique makeup and needs central. Includes an Appendix of resources that address the social and emotional needs of gifted children, parenting gifted children, diversity and multiculturism, legal issues, curriculum options, creativity and perfectionism. The writing is lyrical, yet spare -- a joy to read. Organization is clear and sections are thoughtfully developed, without apparent gaps in process or special needs. A Q&A chapter provides anecdotal development of solutions to common concerns. Yes, the book provides hope, as Strip intended, and also provides approaches and processes that will help gifted children soar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2000

    Do I Have a Gifted Child and What Do I if I Do?

    Have you ever wondered whether or not your child is gifted or just 'extra smart'? Have you ever wanted to know what to do with your own children who may fall into one or the other of these categories? Helping Your Gifted Children Soar answers those questions and many more about gifted children. As the mother and grandmother of gifted children, I highly recommend this book to everyone with an interest in or confusion about education for the gifted. The authors stress the importance of creating a partnership between parents and teachers to best serve the gifted child. Strip and Hirsch offer practical information about how to get the best education for your gifted child no matter what the educational setting. Gifted children need special handling, and this book offers sensible and thorough guidelines on how to deal with specific needs and problems. The case histories are fascinating. I found the questions and answers section to be extemely helpful. The entire book is written in an easy to understand format with plenty of wonderful examples in how to assist and nurture your gifted child. I highly recommend this book to everyone who wants to more about what makes children gifted and how you can help them achieve balance intellectually and socially. This would be a great birthday or holiday gift for any parent or grandparent who has a high-energy, high-achieving, and talented child in the family. I also recommend it to every teacher who tends to the needs of gifted children in the classroom. I wish I had had this book when my children were growing up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2000

    A great guidebook for parents and teachers of gifted children!

    Helping Gifted Children Soar! offers great ideas and creative solutions to the difficult questions that arise while raising and educating our gifted children. With information on young children and identification, twice exceptional students (gifted AND learning disabled), behavior problem students who 'turn out' to be highly gifted and highly bored, high acheivers vs. gifted students, and lots more of the often faced questions about gifted children, this book is great for the beginner, or the experienced parent or teacher on this journey! With chapters on teachers and parents working together, advocacy and chain of command, easy ways to be a 'good' teacher of the gifted including contracts and more, and a great section of questions and answers, this book offers something to every parent and teacher of gifted students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1