Customer Reviews for

Helter Skelter

Average Rating 4.5
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(130)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

EBOOK OMITS PHOTOS

I acknowledge that this story is horrific enough without the photos, but I was surprised when my ebook edition omitted them. I could understand the technological issues attendant with including color photos, but the pics in the "dead tree" version are in black and whit...
I acknowledge that this story is horrific enough without the photos, but I was surprised when my ebook edition omitted them. I could understand the technological issues attendant with including color photos, but the pics in the "dead tree" version are in black and white, so I don't understand why they weren't included in my ebook version. I checked out the paper book while at Barnes and Noble. The photos are not grotesque. Certain aspects of the crime scene photos are prudently obscured. But what I found fascinating were the photos of the young women who committed the murders. Fresh-faced teenage girls smile out from the pages. Manson looks like a feral leprechaun and one wonders why anyone would follow him anywhere much less murder for him. The inclusion of the photos in the (not inexpensive) ebook version would have made this a better product.

posted by Mary_T on September 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sample problem

I love this book, I read it years ago. Started to read.the sample and it is very messed up. Afraid to buy it because of this

posted by 11105808 on August 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    Almost Perfect on Nook

    Great read. Would have given 5 stars if the Nook would show the images. "Images in this book are not displayed owing to permissive issues" That is frustrating.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    EBOOK OMITS PHOTOS

    I acknowledge that this story is horrific enough without the photos, but I was surprised when my ebook edition omitted them. I could understand the technological issues attendant with including color photos, but the pics in the "dead tree" version are in black and white, so I don't understand why they weren't included in my ebook version. I checked out the paper book while at Barnes and Noble. The photos are not grotesque. Certain aspects of the crime scene photos are prudently obscured. But what I found fascinating were the photos of the young women who committed the murders. Fresh-faced teenage girls smile out from the pages. Manson looks like a feral leprechaun and one wonders why anyone would follow him anywhere much less murder for him. The inclusion of the photos in the (not inexpensive) ebook version would have made this a better product.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    A must read for any true crime fan

    Helter Skelter is about Charles Manson who in 1969, along with his family of followers struck fear in the heart of all America. The darker side of the hippie movement the sixties were known for. Vincent Bugliosi does a great job leading you through the events and subsequent trials. Be aware though that the NOOK version of this book does not include any of the photographs, maps etc. that the book version does. These are important to the story and i was very disappointed to find them not available.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    Great Book

    I would recommend this to anyone that is into detective based novels or interested in psychological thrillers. Very chilling everytime I read the words that come from the manson family. Horrifying that this crime actually happened.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Morbid yet Fascinating

    Usually nonfiction books don't keep my interest, but Helter Skelter was a real page turner. It described the Manson Family in great detail, not to mention the murders they committed. Charles Manson was an incredibly twisted character, and manipulated the minds of his followers. The author, Vincent Bugliosi, was one of the members the prosecution. His vivid imagery makes you feel like you're really at the scene of the crime. As if imagination isn't enough, Helter Skelter contains pictures of the victims, where they were found, and those who took their lives. It was eerie looking back through the photos of the killers after reading their responses in interviews with investigators. The one that stood out to me the most was Susan Atkins. She bragged about the murders. Atkins talked about how good it felt to stab people after describing how she murdered pregnant actress, Sharon Tate. If you enjoy crime stories, this one's a must read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2002

    One of the best true crime books ever!

    While many non-fiction books are written from second hand information this book was written by one who was actualy a major character int he case and who was responsible for helping end the reign of terror by one of the evilest men in history. Bugliosi's book was wonderful and I'd recommend it for anyone interested in a 'scary as hell' story (just like the warning in the beginning of the book) and a lesson in police and prosecution procedures. Warning: Do not read this book at night. Every few minutes I would get up to make sure the my windows were locked.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    Fascinating, yet sloppy

    While the subject matter of this book is very engrossing, and all of the pertinent elements are presented in a concise and cogent manner, the author has some rather annoying habits. First, he is not consistent in the use of names of people. Sometimes he uses first names and other times he uses last names. To further confuse the reader, he sometimes uses their true names and other times he uses their aliases. Since their are a very large number of individuals involved in this vastly intricate plot, this can be very aggravating.

    Despite these fairly minor infractions, however, I was highly entertained and would recommend it to anyone.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    Great introduction to a chilling and bizarre mass murder led by a 'right-wing hippie'

    If you only know the name Charles Manson by vague associations with a shaggy beard, creepy eyes, and the notion of evil, this book might surprise you. Indeed, before Manson was any of that, he was a hippy father figure for many wayward youth -- mostly women -- in late 1960s California, and he was a man who was pretty close to not being convicted of anything more than auto theft. Bugliosi, the prosecutor in the Manson trial gave one of the first accounts of the Manson murders following the conviction of Manson and his followers. Bugliosi's tale is indeed told like a district attorney uncovering evidence. The advantage of this for the reader is being privvy to all of the ins and outs of the investigation and trial: the pain-staking evidence gathering that was often hindered by LAPD's lack of internal communication and drawn-out courtroom proceedings that were often hijacked by Manson's obstructionist attorney, the three women in their early 20s who killed for Manson (Susan Atkins, Leslie van Houten and Patricia Krenwinkel) and Manson himself. Although it seems a given now that Manson was responsible for mass murders, it was hardly expected that he and "the girls" would be convicted for killing actress Sharon Tate (Roman Polanski's wife), her friends, a grocery store chain owner and his wife, and a young man who was in the wrong place at the wrong time. The biggest drawback of this book is that it does not go in depth into the motives of Charles Manson and his followers. We get that they at some point accepted him as a religious figure, as is what happens in cults, but we don't get how these young women and men became so dissolute that they could kill for Manson, at least not in anyway that seems convincing. 'Helter Skelter' is a great introduction to the events that led to these horrific murders, as well as to this period in history. (It is said that these murders put an end to the hippy era because of Manson's association with the movement, marginal though it was. Bugliosi refers to Manson at one point as a "right-wing hippie," because of his authoritarian inclinations combined with the hippie lifestyle this ex-con adopted in the late '60s). But reading the book leaves so many questions in the reader's head--maybe as many as it answers. Did the victims really not know the killers? How much responsibility did Manson have for the murders? Why on earth would people believe him when he said there would be a race war called Helter Skleter (were they just that drugged out)? What motivated young women and men from middle class families to uproot and live with Manson? i.e. How bad could their family lives have been that a gnomish bearded man who insisted on directing them in orgies seemed like a better life choice than going to college and leading a "normal" life? Bugliosi's book is a great introduction to this truly gruesome and unparalleled point in history, but you will finish it wanting to learn a whole lot more.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Great Read!

    I would've given this five stars if NOOK would have allowed the images to be shown. Luckily I had my smartphone handy with Google images to put faces to names. I learned a lot more than I had already known about these crimes. Everything is detailed and it was written very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

     We all know the story... Very well done.

     We all know the story... Very well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Well-informed

    Though i knew who manson was, i was not aware of the extent of his history and crimes. This book is very good without being unnecessarily grotesque about the murders.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2012

    Good read!

    Good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Cool!

    I was prepared to have nightmares while reading this book but it was actually ok! I enjoy fiction trial books and the fact that this one was about a real case made it that much more cool. :) I am hoping to do more reading on Charles Manson in the future - he's scary and fascinating all at the same time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    shocking, yet engrossing

    Helter Skelter explores deeper into the Manson "family" murders than any other research novel. Mr. Vincent Bugliosi, the author, gives great imagery and detail from the moment the murders began to his successful prosecution of the Mansons. Because Bugliosi actually investigated these crimes he was able to get into the mind of Charles Manson and tell this story from the eyes of none other than Charles Manson himself the accuracy is almost nauseating. The detail that went into the description of every murder, although sometimes very graphic and disgusting, really helped portray Charles Manson and his brainwashed followers. With all of these descriptions there also comes a section in the center of the book full of maps and pictures of the infamous murders and murderers which really let you live the events ' if you feel the words don't give enough detail' and makes you feel as a part of the murders as the detectives did. Although written over 38 years ago this book still portrays themes and major issues that are present today such as crime and the usage of the death sentence. Helter Skelter is not only a true crime story, and one of the best of all time, but a thriller that will keep your eyes glued to every sentence so you too can enter the mind of one of the most deranged, sickly ingenious people in the 20th century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    The real story.....

    Helter Skelter is the true story behind the Manson family murders. The author, Vincent Bugliosi, does an amazing job in describing the feelings and thoughts of Charles Manson, his "family", and the rest of the country. I personally really liked this book because I find the topic of Charles Manson quite interesting. The ability to manipulate others is quite a rare gift that Charles Manson was given. I think anyone who likes reading about American criminals, cult leaders, crime stories, or just flat out what can drive a man to commit such murders should read this book! I especially like the imagery the author puts in the book because it makes you feel as if you are there during the murders and trials. The book also has many historical quotes from Charles, some of his followers, and the police. The only dislike I found in this book was that it sometimes became boring/bland in certain parts. The book begins with the description of the murders such as: Sharon Tate's, Abigail Folgers¿s, and Jay Sebring's. After, it leads to the investigation which includes the murderers, motive, and trial. I won't give away the ending but if you know anything about the 60's-70's you already know. Basically, I recommend this book to anyone and everyone because it is a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2003

    Accurate

    This book is so accurate it's scary! It explains the 'Manson family' and the dogmas they believed in. I couldn't put the book down it scarred me so much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3