Customer Reviews for

The Hen of the Baskervilles (Meg Langslow Series #15)

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    A must read for any Meg Langslow fan!

    This is one of my favorite Donna Andrews mysteries. It kept me totally engaged and laughing until I had to stop reading to wipe away the tears. After reading all of the books in this series, I feel like the characters are my friends and I look foward to being reacquainted with them in each new book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Donna Andrews has another hit on her hands. The writing skill an

    Donna Andrews has another hit on her hands. The writing skill and the imagination that Donna possesses blows me away. This one has Meg helping out at Caerphilly's "un-fair", their version of the traditional county fair. But of course the un-fair does not run as smoothly as expected. Picture llamas in costume, a llama obstacle course, missing chickens, a wine tent that Meg's mother is volunteering in, a murder, a set-up and Meg's darling twins, and you can only imagine what happens! The only missing ingredient was Meg's grandpa, as much as I enjoyed the book, it just didn't seem quite right without him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2013

    I always appreciate my annual visit to Caerphilly, VA because I

    I always appreciate my annual visit to Caerphilly, VA because I know I’m going to be hanging out with Meg and her eccentrically quirky family and their menagerie of animals that will both delight and entertain me.  This was a fun and hilarious read with some laugh out loud moments as Meg does her best to solve a murder and find the person responsible for vandalizing and absconding with the animals at the un-fair.  This fast-paced and action-filled drama kept me on my toes, quickly becoming a page turner that I could not put down.  This is another great story with a solid plot, witty dialogue, and a great cast of characters led by Meg Langslow and her uniquely terrific family.  I can’t wait to read the next book in this wonderfully crafted series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    While i bought many in the series

    I have also borrowed them first to see if they are a re read for me love the series but m.a.@sparta

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Donna Andrews has done it agin! Recommend

    Donna Andrews has ket Meg Langslow and Michael together and happy. It's nice reading and Donna Andrews alays keeps your attention focused.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Delightful!

    Donna Andrews is one of my favorite mystery authors and Meg Langslow one of my favorite amateur detectives. I wait in fear of Andrews running out of plot ideas but it sure hasn't happened yet and she certainly hasn't run out of quirky family members for Meg. As always a fun read and a book you hate to put down before you finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Read the whole series.

    I had read series numbered 1 - 13 in about 3 weeks from the library and could not bear to wait until numbers 14 and 15 were also available, thus this purchase.

    I was not disappointed! One is introduced to characters who fast become "family" to the reader. The stories are fun and hold one's attention to the very last page. I thoroughly enjoy Ms. Andrews' style of writing and recommend this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    really good

    I've enjoyed every one of this series. When I finish one I can hardly wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    In this latest addition to the Meg Langslow mysteries Donna Andr

    In this latest addition to the Meg Langslow mysteries Donna Andrews delivers again.  If you haven’t read any of her books I would suggest that you start with the first book in the series.  You will enjoy Meg and her quirky family as she solves the latest murder

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Another fabulous read from Donna Andrews!

    Donna Andrews' Meg Langslow series never disappoints. This one starts out interesting and fun from the very first pages and continues to escalate from there. It's another keeper!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    I haven't missed a single one of this series and look forward to her next one "Duck the Halls" coming out in October. I started reading them just by accident when I saw "The Penguin Who Knew too Much" as a bargain book as it caught my eye because I do like penguins. After reading that one I had to go back to the first one and once I got a Nook I then decided to purchase them all again as Nook books so that I could have the entire set on my Nook and pass the delightful set on to my oldest daughter who is in her 40's and enjoying them as much as I do and is keeping them to be able to enjoy them again, plus let her children enjoy them also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    Meg at the Un-Fair - I loved it!  Stolen chickens, a smashed pum

    Meg at the Un-Fair - I loved it!  Stolen chickens, a smashed pumpkin, heritage mules, llamas in costume, feuding vintners and a murder - Donna Andrews (and Meg) is at her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Disappointed

    I usually thoroughly enjoy the books in this series, but this one fell flat for me. It felt like not a lot of thought went into it; like it was "phoned in", as the saying goes. While it had some of the characters fans of the series have come to love, they felt like shallow versions of their normal selves. They were mentioned in passing more than actually used to propel the story.

    I'm not ready to give up on the series, but the next one needs to have more thought and attention put into both the plot and the characters. After all, if the author can't be bothered, why should we?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    R1.5

    1.5 stars for effort. I have enjoyed every book in the series with this being the exception. The story was dull with no sense of purpose. The usual charm & humor was sorely lacking. The read dragged on & on. Sorry to say a complete waste of time & money. ( an honest review )

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2