BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Henry VIII: The King and His Court

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Historical Read

There is no doubt Alison Weir is a royalist. That in no way takes away from the historical work she is doing. As a fan of history, I believe her work on the British royal families is some of the most intriguing and provocative work I have read. The footnotes and sourcin...
There is no doubt Alison Weir is a royalist. That in no way takes away from the historical work she is doing. As a fan of history, I believe her work on the British royal families is some of the most intriguing and provocative work I have read. The footnotes and sourcing are tremendous. The information is well organized and makes for a great read. Highly recommended.

posted by IFly2Eat on May 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Dont read this

If u want more informarion on king henry VII read alison weirs the six wives of henry the VII. It has more to offer a reader about the acrual life of the king, not mundane information and names of people and places

posted by 10669545 on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Historical Read

    There is no doubt Alison Weir is a royalist. That in no way takes away from the historical work she is doing. As a fan of history, I believe her work on the British royal families is some of the most intriguing and provocative work I have read. The footnotes and sourcing are tremendous. The information is well organized and makes for a great read. Highly recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Alison Weir writes with obviuos pasion for the period and character

    When all is said and done I enojed the book. Ms. Weir although she warns the reader in her inroduction that she will devote much time to the deatails of court life, I thought she has a tendency to cover the same ground over and over again. Anyone who wants to understand this historical period will serve themselves well by reading this book.
    In her notes at the back of the book Alison Weir references the BBC 1970's
    6 part series. I watched it after I finished reading the book....it was a great compliment to her book. Follow the historcal period and read about Quenn Elizabeth. Back to back the two were great.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very detail-oriented, but accessible

    No one does detailed work quite like Alison Weir. She meticulously describes clothing, interiors, architectural work, familial relationships, marriages, everything in her history of Henry VIII and his Court. Wolsey, Cromwell, and Cranmer are described, both professionally and personally, in detail as well as details of how Tudor royal households are set up and maintained (at times there are Households, too). All the intricate twists and turns of patronage, petitioning, and court life are presented in full but the result isn't tedious or boring; Weir manages to maintain a very readable style. Because Weir often alludes to certain historical facts, she tends to move forward and backward in time when describing individual persons and alludes to future events within her narrative so a basic knowledge of Tudor history is assumed. I thought this was a superbly rendered historiography, probably the best one of Weir's I've read so far, and she also provides extensive endnotes and bibliographies.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Alison Weir is a first-rate historian of Tudor England. At the same time, she has a gift for making all of her characters and the era in which they lived come alive to the reader.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Fantastic book, fantastic author

    This book is a must read for anybody interested in Tudor history. Alison Weir is a wonderful author..she could make a grocery list sound intriguing. That said, read this book, then follow up with her other books on the Tudors. You won't be disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Dont read this

    If u want more informarion on king henry VII read alison weirs the six wives of henry the VII. It has more to offer a reader about the acrual life of the king, not mundane information and names of people and places

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2008

    Leaves much to be desired

    Picking up this book in hopes of becoming more familiar with a seemingly larger than life man, a reader can be dissapointed. Very few of the first one hundred pages of the book have anything to do with a chronological life history of Henry VII. I am now very well aquainted with the things he owned, the etiquette at his court, and the hundreds of names of those who surounded him, but Henry remained a mystery to me to the very end. I found myself skipping paragraphs describing the work he funded for his many properties hoping that it would become a more interesting read. Unfortunatly, it didn't. It is very well researched but as a biography, it leaves me hunting for another book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2008

    Painstakingly Researched Read

    This book is extremely detailed and obviously painstakingly researched. I found a few chapters to be slow, but overall the book painted a vivid portrait of what court life was like in the time of Henry VIII. This book was very informative and enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2001

    Everything a Person Could Want to Know!

    Ms. Weir has done an excellent job in portraying the personalities, furnishings, buildings, and traits of Henry VIII's court. This book is chock-full of detail and completely covers the era of this famous king. A question amidst the detail not covered? Check the outstanding 'notes' section and your query will be answered. I have read EVERYTHING ever written about Henry Tudor's court and this book is an absolute gem. A definite 'must have' for the Tudor fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2014

    Very interesting, thorough and easy to read account of Henry VII

    Very interesting, thorough and easy to read account of Henry VIII

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Very helpful!

    Very helpful and detailed from what was swrved at every banquet, to the way everything was celebrated, the ranks, behavior, clothes, gifts and also on every important courtier of Henry VIII's court.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Wa Great book.

    Many ddetails that create a clear picture of the man and his times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Great biography

    Very informative but not dry. Loved the emphasis that is placed on the court.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Great for Research paper's!

    I'm writing a research paper in my history class, and this book has helped me a lot in that goal! It's a great read, and very informative!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Great book about Henry the VIII

    This really tells the story of Henry the VIII. It was amazing. He was really something. I never thought about the past until I read this book and was shocked at some of the things that went on. I couldn't put the book down after I started to read it. It is well worth reading. It made me want to buy all the other books about him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2005

    Detailed examination of Court Life

    This book told me everthing I needed to know about the Court around King Henry VIII. The author's constant references to tapestries, castles, food and so forth gives the book a 'lifestyles of the rich and famous' outlook that is unseemly at times. Alison Weir is an excellent historian and she has become one of the most recognized experts on the Tudors. This book could have left out some of the details on the King's real estate transactions and put in more information on the political situation and received five stars. Of course than it would not have been the book Ms. Weir intended. As is the book is not her best work. That remains 'The Children of Henry the VIII'. I would still recommend this book. The author is a talented writer and she found a way to make even Flemish tapestries interesting!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2002

    Weir's take on Henry

    Alison Weir's works have been highly regarded by a number of reviewers of historical non fiction. This book was quite readable with a wealth of details, but Weir has a habit of presenting her own opinion as if it were fact. She also seems to have a penchant for including salacious gossip that is tangential to the point she makes, a habit I found irritating.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2001

    Good, but not Weir's best

    A fascinating, detailed book about the life of the most powerful king in England's history. Her recent treatment of Henry's disposal of his wives was surprisingly light, and would be disappointing and confusing to anyone who hadn't read 'The Six Wives of Henry VIII' or a similar work. While less of a compelling narrative than Weir's other books, it's well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3