Customer Reviews for

Her Daughter's Dream

Average Rating 4.5
( 326 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(198)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Good

    Easy reading enjoyed this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    This is a great choice!

    After reading Francine Rivers "Her Mother's Hope," this sequel is a must read. There is light at the end of the tunnel, but you have to read to see if it stays on or not.

    Don't expect a "feel good" book, this can be a bit depressing, but the story is real in every way. You can feel yourself there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    embracing grace...

    continuing the saga of Marta's Legacy, Her Daughter's Dream sequels New York Times best seller, Her Mother's Hope. 5 generations of one family of women, from the 1950s to the present, are developed in depth, detailing life and faith journeys. reader identification runs high with the realistic portrayal of mother/daughter relational conflicts recurring in each generation until the embrace of grace brings healing restoration...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The excellent conclusion of "Marta's Legacy"

    "Her Daughter's Dream" is the sequel to "Her Mother's Hope" and the conclusion of "Marta's Legacy." I would definitely recommend reading "Her Mother's Hope" first, as it really sets the foundation for this book. (And if you find this review helpful, you can look up my review for HMH as well.)

    The story picks up where HMH leaves off: 1950's America, but this time with Hildemara Rose as the initial protagonist. I won't get into all the dynamics of the story again, as if you've read the first book, you're already familiar, and if you haven't yet, you need to! :)

    However, what I will say is that Francine Rivers does an excellent job showing the reality of "the sins of the father shall be visited on the son." Although I'm not saying that literally, you do see how the mistakes of one generation, especially in the area of parenting, cause the next generation to make their own, either by repeating them or by overcompensating and going to the other extreme.

    HDD continues to follow the lives of Marta and Hildemara, but Hildie's daughter Carolyn and her daughter, May Flower Dawn, continue this generational story. At some point in this novel, the story is seen through each woman's eyes. The majority of this book is focused on the relationship of Carolyn and her daughter, although of course the previous generations are very integral supporting characters.

    As HDD brings the reader to the present day by its conclusion, "Marta's Legacy" covers over a century and 5 generations in its saga. For this reason, you really feel connected to the characters and can truly identify with so much that Ms. Rivers weaves into her tale, whether you are young or old, daughter or grandmother. Again, as I had said this in my previous review, I would recommend this book and its prequel to all women, as the story provides so much insight into that complicated relationship of a mother and daughter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A story of hurt, misunderstanding and bridging the gap with love

    HER DAUGHTER'S DREAM By Francine Rivers What drives us to push away those who love us the most? This multi-generational story delves into the dangers of tough love and its far reaching affects. What Marta did out of love for her daughter Hildemara has far reaching consequences that affect the third and fourth generation. Carolyn, Hildemara's daughter, feeling that her parents lack of attention is due to a lack of love looks for love in all the wrong places. As a result Carolyn becomes a single mom to May Flower Dawn. But Dawn's birth does not bring the mothers and daughters closer, instead it brings a fourth generation into the ever widening rift. When she is older Dawn sees the hurt that her mother, grandmother, and great-grandmother suffer while being unable to let the other know the love they feel for the other. Can Dawn figure out how to bridge the gap between her Mother and Grandmother so that they can all discover the love that's been there all along? Or will a fifth generation be caught up in the rift as well? Her Daughter's Dream is the conclusion of the 2 book series Marta's Legacy. Taking up the story in 1951 it continues through to the present day. Celebrate the joys and sorrow in the tragedies as Marta's legacy is discovered!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Difficult to read but impossible to put down!

    Her Daughter's Dream continues the fascinating character study Francine Rivers began in Her Mother's Hope. This book covers the lives of Marta's daughter and granddaughters. The characters seemed so real to me and the hurts they inflicted upon each other so damaging that, again, I found this book difficult to read yet impossible to put down.

    Spanning from the 1950s to present day, this book tells the story of Hildemara's battle with tuberculosis. Because of her illness, her daughter Carolyn forms a special bond with Grandmother Marta. When Hildemara returns to work and Marta leaves, Carolyn is neglected and tries several destructive paths before returning home to her mother. We see the past repeated as Carolyn's daughter Dawn forms a strong bond, not with her mother, but with Grandmother Hildemara. Finally, as Dawn struggles to avoid the examples of those who have gone before her, she finds a way to bridge the gap between the women in her family. After so long a time coming, redemption of the family history is sweet!

    I can't say enough about Francine Rivers's ability to sweep me away into a story, particularly this story of four generations of women. Her Daughter's Dream reminded me of a biblical saga, where folks make surprising decisions and choices that somehow are completely within their characters. In this volume, I could better relate to the inner conflicts the characters faced, and I rejoiced to see softer sides of Marta and Hildemara.

    Upon finishing this story, I was left thinking, How do we ever find peace in our family relationships when we are so quick to judge, control, and manipulate each other? As this book shows, the answer can only be found in Christ. And sometimes, even when we find the answer, it is too late to regain the many wasted years. Thank God that this world is just a stepping stone to eternity. Believers can rest assured that no matter how they've treated their loved ones, in Heaven all tears shall be wiped away, and we all shall each receive a fresh start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Great Storytelling

    I love Francine Rivers's writing style, and I love the way she interweaves the stories of the four main characters. There is just so much ... I'm not sure how to word it ... so much life told in these books. From war to death to child abuse to independence to love to ... the list could go on and on. Rivers is a wonderful storyteller, and I truly enjoyed reading this saga.


    The only negative for me is that Rivers includes a very well described sex scene, and I just can't understand that in a "Christian" novel. The scene does have importance to the rest of the book, but I don't know why she couldn't have just implied it and not written it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Be Warned! It's Realistic!

    As with all of Rivers' books I have very little to complain about. But I would like to say this was not an easy read, emotionally. I felt so hurt by the pain caused both intentionally and unintentionally in this book. This is part two of the Marta's Legacy book and I must say I was a little disappointed with one part in particular. Spoiler Alert: I know molestation is part of life and I don't fault Rivers for including it in the book, however I did struggle with reading it. I was very moved by it and, although this is a fiction book, my heart hurt for those little girls (and boys) who have to suffer this way. And many times the parents never even know. How sad! After getting past that part, the book takes off in typical Rivers' fashion. I wanted to sat all three women down and just have them look at each other and TALK. Come on women, we are good at talking, how come we get ourselves in these situations where our relationships are torn to pieces and could easily (we'll maybe not easily) be repaired, if we would just talk to one another, honestly. Great book about mother/daughter relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This was a very good book. I cried and then laughed through the whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Sequel!

    This book is a fitting conclusion. I must say that I actually enjoyed the first installment better than the sequel. Francine Rivers remains a true talent. I enjoyed the book and she does a great job of getting the family dynamics into an understandablewritten form. I liked the characters. I hated the ending. In all, I would recommend both books without hesitation!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4