Customer Reviews for

Her Dear and Loving Husband

Average Rating 4
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Twists and Turns and Romance Too

I've never been a vampire fan, so I shouldn't read vampire novels. Twilight didn't appeal to me (too much teen angst) and I'm not a blood and guts person. What I do like is a good story, and that's what Her Dear and Loving Husband is--a good, romantic story with enough ...
I've never been a vampire fan, so I shouldn't read vampire novels. Twilight didn't appeal to me (too much teen angst) and I'm not a blood and guts person. What I do like is a good story, and that's what Her Dear and Loving Husband is--a good, romantic story with enough plot twists and turns to keep the interest high and the reader guessing.

Sarah Alexander moves to Salem after her divorce. She works at the local college and meets James Wentworth, a handsome professor. She dreams about the Salem Witch Trials, though she won't tell anyone, not even her closest friends. James also has something he won't tell anyone, but a reporter for the local paper discovers his secret. The more James and Sarah learn about each other, the more they realize that their stories piece together in an odd way. James and Sarah fall in love, but that is not the end for them. James still has to fight against the reporter who wants to tell everyone that James Wentworth is not what he seems to be.

One thing I liked about the book was that the paranormal characters are treated in a normal way. They seem like regular people living regular lives who just happen to be special in these different ways. There are some traditional vampire moments for those who are into that genre, but not enough to gross me out. It's far more of a love story than a horror novel.

I thought the love story between James and Sarah was sweet, and I wouldn't mind meeting a handsome vampire like James Wentworth. I read the whole book in just a couple of days because I couldn't wait to see how their stories tied together next. There's a strong ending, too, that leaves a lot of room for the next book in the series. I'll be looking for it.

posted by emma-h on July 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Thank you

Thank you to all the posters that told all the plot lines and ruined the book. I can delete it without reading it because everyone has akready told what happens. Thank you all for ruining it.

posted by 8888649 on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 179 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Twists and Turns and Romance Too

    I've never been a vampire fan, so I shouldn't read vampire novels. Twilight didn't appeal to me (too much teen angst) and I'm not a blood and guts person. What I do like is a good story, and that's what Her Dear and Loving Husband is--a good, romantic story with enough plot twists and turns to keep the interest high and the reader guessing.

    Sarah Alexander moves to Salem after her divorce. She works at the local college and meets James Wentworth, a handsome professor. She dreams about the Salem Witch Trials, though she won't tell anyone, not even her closest friends. James also has something he won't tell anyone, but a reporter for the local paper discovers his secret. The more James and Sarah learn about each other, the more they realize that their stories piece together in an odd way. James and Sarah fall in love, but that is not the end for them. James still has to fight against the reporter who wants to tell everyone that James Wentworth is not what he seems to be.

    One thing I liked about the book was that the paranormal characters are treated in a normal way. They seem like regular people living regular lives who just happen to be special in these different ways. There are some traditional vampire moments for those who are into that genre, but not enough to gross me out. It's far more of a love story than a horror novel.

    I thought the love story between James and Sarah was sweet, and I wouldn't mind meeting a handsome vampire like James Wentworth. I read the whole book in just a couple of days because I couldn't wait to see how their stories tied together next. There's a strong ending, too, that leaves a lot of room for the next book in the series. I'll be looking for it.

    20 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Thank you

    Thank you to all the posters that told all the plot lines and ruined the book. I can delete it without reading it because everyone has akready told what happens. Thank you all for ruining it.

    16 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Loved this book

    I couldn't put this book down. When i finished it I wanted more. I can't wait to read the next ome.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    True Romance

    Her Dear and Loving Husband is really the first paranormal romance book that I have read. I did see the movie Twilight and I have only read about half of the book. I could easily relate to James and Sarah since they are adults and around my age. After reading Her Dear and Loving Husband, I am looking forward to reading more paranormal romance books. I already enjoy romance, but when you mix in vampires, ghosts, and witches, it makes it a little more interesting. I also enjoyed the historical aspect of this book regarding the Salem Witch Trials. I plan on reading more about the trials just so I can find out more information. I vaguely remember studying the Salem Witch Trials in high school.

    This was overall a great read. I enjoyed the romance, paranormal fiction, and historical aspects of the story. Reading about James and Sarah's relationship develop is very heart warming. Their love is true and when you find it, you know it's right.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    A sweet and romantic book!

    After her divorce, Sarah moves from LA across the country to Salem, Massachusetts. Though born in Boston, Salem has the allure of a new beginning and she feels drawn to creating a life there. James is a lonely college professor who has kept his past a secret for many years. When the two meet, James is torn between telling Sarah his secrets at the risk of losing her, or keeping their relationship limited to friendship only. The longer he waits, the more Sarah believes the desire she feels for him is not reciprocated. Forced into a corner, he realizes he must confide in her. When he does finally open up to her, running as far away as possible may be the sanest thing to do, especially as he has become the target of an overzealous reporter. But could she live without the man she has come to care so much about?

    Her Dear and Loving Husband is a sweet, romantic book about the endurance of love. Two people find themselves drawn together, but facing what might be insurmountable obstacles, as Salem's past closes in on them. The imagery created by Meredith Allard of the torment women and their families experienced during the Salem Witch Trials brings the reader to that time, feeling the anguish of those affected by such a horrendous part of American history. The characters are people you would like to get to know - even if you're leery of the supernatural. The story weaves history in and out throughout the book so that the reader comes away not only with the feeling of enjoying a good book, but with a solid knowledge of a time that may only have been a vague recollection from a US History class some time in the past.

    I enjoyed reading Her Dear and Loving Husband very much. The characters had an intriguing innocence to them that worked for the book even with the heavy subject matter that surrounded them. A small drawback for me was that much of the information about the Witch Trials, and the lessons to be learned from them, were repeated several times, which came off as a bit tedious and even preachy at times. The pace was also a bit slow in the beginning but it did pick up as the book moved along. Those things aside, Her Dear and Loving Husband definitely deserves four stars.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Great read for lovers of the paranormal!

    I liked this book for several reasons. The author was able to pull ideas from several different books about the supernatural (i.e. Twilight, TrueBlood, etc.) without coming across as unoriginal. Yes, I recognized ideas that had been used in other books; like vampires crying blood, not having a problem with silver, and witches not being able to use their spells for evil. Seriously though, it would be impossible to write a book dealing with vampires, witches, or werewolves without including some details that have been used before!

    My favorite aspect of Allard's novel is the fact that a lot of the history of Salem was brought up. It's not just a story about a human and a vampire falling in love and making crazy love; it's also about the injustice that happened to innocent people hundreds of years ago. Also, it touches upon the idea that modern day witch hunts are entirely possible. I'm not talking about vampires and witches, but more so about the idea that fear often breeds hysteria and this could be applied to the fear American's have of Muslim terrorists.

    Anyways, I loved how she incorporated the history of the Salem Witch Trials, because I love history and anytime I have the opportunity to read and learn more about an interesting time period I am happy. Especially when it's in the form of Historical Fiction, because then it brings the time period to life for the reader. Allard is an excellent writer and the fact that she was able to write about witches, vampires, and werewolves without coming across as tacky or cliché is pretty dang good. I admit, I like a good vampire book once in awhile, but only if it's creative and tells a good story. As with this book, my favorite part of books dealing with vampires or witches is their background story. I love reading about their life before they were turned, and Allard is able to give the reader a good understanding of the past and the events that lead up to the characters current situation without boring the reader with unnecessary details or boring narrative.

    If you are a lover of the supernatural then I would definitely suggest this book. I tried to read the first book in Charlaine Harris' Sookie Stackhouse novels, and became bored and was unable to finish the books about a quarter of the way in, but Allard's book kept me intrigued throughout.

    I give Her Dear & Loving Husband 4.5 out of 5 Stars.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The begining of a love story that spans the great beyond

    Her Dear and Loving Husband is well written and well edited, it is a must read. What starts out looking like some sort of ghost story is actually a wonderful mix of vampires, witches, and the afterlife. A love story that spans the great beyond. With strong gothic flavor, this beautifully structured story captures the intensity and frenetic activity of the late 1600's and the Salem Witch Inquisitions and Trials. Graphic scenes and sequences are brilliantly depicted in small segments throughout the modern-day story.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Deja vu?

    When reading this book l had the eerie feeling that I had encountered it once or thrice as a Lifetime TV network made-for -TV movie. Cliches abound. Dialogue walks around on mileii-high stilts and advanced college students talk like fifth graders. The gags in the comic relief bits are older than the vampires in the book. The newer, sensitive, empathetic, in control, and at times wussy vampires. Yuck! Nonetheless, there is a lot to like here. It is relatable to people who often feel out of place or alienated for whatever reason. Many of the characters are easy to identify with, and it gives a gothic novel arefreshing new spin. I think the author has potential and talent to be a great gothic and/or urban fantasy novel. This could easily emerge in her next book. Personally I'd like to see more witches and less faddy vampires. And how about a more obscure beasty or one the author made up? This is just a personal preference, so take this with a grain (or circle) of salt.But give us something from your heart, not just the winners of a popularity contest of the ghastly and arcane.Put me down for your next book. REVIEW BY GHOSTMOON

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Surprisingly Good Read

    I didn't know what to expect from this book. I was surprised how much I liked it. It has a little bit of everything from vampires and witches to romance to history about the Salem witch trials. It's well written and well edited and it ties the ends of the story together nicely.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    magic, romance, mystery & suspense

    Then while we live, in love let's so persever, That when we live no more, we may live ever. - Anne Bradstreet, To My Dear and Loving Husband Sarah Alexander leaves Los Angeles and her ex-husband and begins a new life in Salem, Massachusetts. despite the change in scenery, she still continues to be plagued by dreams of an earlier time and a faceless stranger. when she meets real witches and the enigmatic James Wentworth, her ordinary life spirals into the unknown. the historical facts regarding the Salem witch hunts, trials and executions served as the backbone for this interesting paranormal romance and i loved how author Meredith Allard wove her magic around them. though this started a tad slow for me, things started speeding up after some time especially when secrets and more secrets started unraveling . an unexpected threat that could resurrect another hunt added intrigue. how this dilemma was developed and resolved was one of the highlights that kept me reading late into the night. i also loved how the author's use of modern English seamlessly flowed into 17th century speech when her characters Sarah and James relived their dreams and memories respectively. two more books follow this one and though they have not been released yet, i feel that this book can stand alone. magic, romance, mystery and suspense make Her Dear and Loving Husband a great read for me!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Paranormal romance with historical slant

    Paranormal romance and historical witch hunts create the story of "Her Dear & Loving Husband."

    Sarah, being newly divorced, relocates to Salem, Massachusetts, looking to build a new life. Here she meets new friends, who she learns are witches, and meets the man who is inhabiting her dreams and her nightmares. James, a college professor/vampire falls instantly for Sarah, not knowing exactly why except for the fact that she looks like his deceased wife of 300 years ago. Will they find the connection that binds them together? Will James survive risking it all to be with the woman that he has loved for all time?
    Come on their journey as they are given a second chance to finally have the love that they have always dreamed of.

    I have not read many books involving paranormal romance, but I can say that I really enjoyed this one. Ms. Allard did a wonderful job creating these two characters and describing their gentle and very tentative relationship. The history of the witch hunt trials made the story even more interesting to me also. It added another dimension to the story to make you want to continue turning those pages even more. It was a great blend all together!

    I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a paranormal romance with a good dose of history thrown in!

    This book was kindly provided to me by the kind people at Enchanted Book Tours for my honest review.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Fast Read

    Very well writen, never bogged down. Thank you, Texas

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    I am still reading this book but so far have enjoyed that which

    I am still reading this book but so far have enjoyed that which I have read. It is fun to read books like these and I appreciate the way she writes and how she tells the story. I think there are many of us who have at one time or another have shared dreams that have appeared too real to talk about. I guess I just enjoy a book for the reason that it not only broadens my education in many different ways, but it is simply a joy to do. So, hats off to Ms. Allard. and a big thank you.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Interesting

    Good book. From the description,you wouldn't know it was about a vampire.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    Warm touching story

    This book is recommended, even though it was long. The story was romantic. The dialog got too long winded at times. Sometimes they would say something and then finish the statement after a section of internal dialog so it was hard to follow.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Best in the genre by far!

    I had no idea what to expect or how quickly i would get pulled into the story! It is amazing!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Just OK

    I found this book difficult to get through and at times boring. I like paranormal and romance, but there was a lot lacking in this book. It certainly did not keep you on the edge of your seat wondering where the author was heading. At least it was free.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    Written by a Twilight fan who thought "I can do this, too!&

    Written by a Twilight fan who thought "I can do this, too!". I found the characters annoying and two-dimensional. I tried to like them but just couldn't. I managed to finish the book but won't bother with any others in this series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Boring

    Sorry, but it was so boring I couldn't get past the second chapter.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Great book

    This book was intriguing, enjoyed hearing about the salem witch trials, felt like i was there.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 179 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9