BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Her Dear and Loving Husband

Average Rating 4
( 182 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Twists and Turns and Romance Too

I've never been a vampire fan, so I shouldn't read vampire novels. Twilight didn't appeal to me (too much teen angst) and I'm not a blood and guts person. What I do like is a good story, and that's what Her Dear and Loving Husband is--a good, romantic story with enough ...
I've never been a vampire fan, so I shouldn't read vampire novels. Twilight didn't appeal to me (too much teen angst) and I'm not a blood and guts person. What I do like is a good story, and that's what Her Dear and Loving Husband is--a good, romantic story with enough plot twists and turns to keep the interest high and the reader guessing.

Sarah Alexander moves to Salem after her divorce. She works at the local college and meets James Wentworth, a handsome professor. She dreams about the Salem Witch Trials, though she won't tell anyone, not even her closest friends. James also has something he won't tell anyone, but a reporter for the local paper discovers his secret. The more James and Sarah learn about each other, the more they realize that their stories piece together in an odd way. James and Sarah fall in love, but that is not the end for them. James still has to fight against the reporter who wants to tell everyone that James Wentworth is not what he seems to be.

One thing I liked about the book was that the paranormal characters are treated in a normal way. They seem like regular people living regular lives who just happen to be special in these different ways. There are some traditional vampire moments for those who are into that genre, but not enough to gross me out. It's far more of a love story than a horror novel.

I thought the love story between James and Sarah was sweet, and I wouldn't mind meeting a handsome vampire like James Wentworth. I read the whole book in just a couple of days because I couldn't wait to see how their stories tied together next. There's a strong ending, too, that leaves a lot of room for the next book in the series. I'll be looking for it.

posted by emma-h on July 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Thank you

Thank you to all the posters that told all the plot lines and ruined the book. I can delete it without reading it because everyone has akready told what happens. Thank you all for ruining it.

posted by 8888649 on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The begining of a love story that spans the great beyond

    Her Dear and Loving Husband is well written and well edited, it is a must read. What starts out looking like some sort of ghost story is actually a wonderful mix of vampires, witches, and the afterlife. A love story that spans the great beyond. With strong gothic flavor, this beautifully structured story captures the intensity and frenetic activity of the late 1600's and the Salem Witch Inquisitions and Trials. Graphic scenes and sequences are brilliantly depicted in small segments throughout the modern-day story.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Interesting

    Good book. From the description,you wouldn't know it was about a vampire.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Not bad

    Great idea for a story. Good characters, lots of history and paranormal stuff. Which is all stuff I like. Just not sure about the continuity of the story. It was wordy and just didn't flow. I really couldn't get into it. Some of the characters felt more like plot devices not part of the story. So I'm not sorry I read it but I'm glad I didn't pay for it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    A bit slow to start...

    I had a very jard time getting into this book. Once I finally made it halfway through, it began to pick up. It was a bit predictable but overall a fun read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Liked this book

    Not great but ok.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This was a great book to start off October reading. You have a

    This was a great book to start off October reading. You have a romance
    set in Salem where the whole town is basically haunted by the ghosts of
    its past. It is well written and you are drawn into the story from the
    beginning. However, does the paranormal really exist and is it alive in
    Salem? When Sarah moves there form LA, she doesnt believe in any of it.
    But then she gets a job working for a witch, meets James who has his own
    secret to hide and hears and see things they can not be explained. She
    also continues to have these nightmares she can not explain and not only
    do they continue after her move but they almost seem to get worse.
    Sarah and James are both great characters. We really get a feel for
    them and what they do and how they react in their lives. They are
    surrounded by other interesting characters that I hope we get to meet
    again. To meet one of them, check out the interview I posted earlier
    today with Geoffrey. While I didnt care for the solution to both of
    their secrets and problems, mainly because I dont agree or believe in
    it. Which I will not mention what it is, because I do think you need to
    read the story to find out. It did not stop my enjoyment of the story
    or characters in any way. And I am really looking forward to the next
    in the trilogy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    A very frustrating read

    This is a truly remarkable book to read. It makes you feel so helpless and almost ashamed to be apart of the human race. It takes to back to the trail of tears and how he met some of his friends to your own tears at the unfairness that is done to vampires. It give prejudice a new name I can not wait to find out what happens to this couple. It took them 300 years to find each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    The storyline is awesome. I only felt it was too much story cra

    The storyline is awesome. I only felt it was too much story crammed into too few pages. Sometimes I got lost in regards to timeframes and I just felt like some of the plot was not completely developed. I wish the author had spent more time finishing thoughts and scenes, it kind of jumped around I thought. Good book though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Good Book...

    I got this book for free so for reason I have to say that it wasn't a bad story, just overdone. The plot hasn't been done before in anything I've read but it did have a lot of cliche's in it. Almost everyone in the whole book was some type of supernatural character or had had a run-in with one at some point in their lives. I think the story would have been better if the author had not made everyone either a witch, a vampire, a werewolf etc...it was kind of like "you've got to be kidding me!" It was a good story but over the top for this type of book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Just ok-

    Probably will read the sequel..but it will need be a little more gripping .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Good story

    This story is well written and edited. I will read the 2nd installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Couldn't put down

    This was the first book I got for Nook and I just couldn't put it down. Now I'm on the second one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Her Dear and Loving Husband by Meredith Allard is the first nov


    Her Dear and Loving Husband by Meredith Allard is the first novel in, the Loving Husband Trilogy. Set in the town of Salem, Massachusetts, which has cashed in on the witch craze with a Wiccan on every corner and a witch logo on the side of its police car. Here in this picturesque landscape bustling with tourist, there is a world of witches, vampires and were. This contemporary romance was a quick, easy, enjoyable read.

    Sarah Alexander has recently relocated to Salem from the West Coast, after her marriage of ten years ended. She works as a librarian at the local college and is being haunted by dreams. She dreams of a faceless man, a house and the Salem Witch trials. One night she is drawn to an old home in town, and finds herself entering the gate, touching the tree and creeping up on the porch to peer in the windows. The front door opens, and the porch light temporality blinds her, but the man who steps out looks eerily like the man in her dreams. At work she discovers that he is James Wentworth, an English professor at the campus. The tale that unfolds has Sarah discovering that witches, vampires and weres are real, and that her dreams are somehow tied to James. The romance is clean and sweet, as James struggles between his late wife’s memories and his emerging feelings for Sarah. Someone threatens to expose the unusual residents of Salem, and James may need to sacrifice himself to protect the others.

    Overall I enjoyed Her Dear and Loving Husband and uncovering what links James and Sarah. While the author’s tale was predictable, her writing was tight, well-paced and the historical aspect kept me engaged. I recommend this to fans of historical fiction and contemporary romance with a paranormal twist. The second book entitled Her Loving Husband’s Curse will be published this year

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2