Customer Reviews for

Her Dear and Loving Husband

Average Rating 4
( 182 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Twists and Turns and Romance Too

I've never been a vampire fan, so I shouldn't read vampire novels. Twilight didn't appeal to me (too much teen angst) and I'm not a blood and guts person. What I do like is a good story, and that's what Her Dear and Loving Husband is--a good, romantic story with enough ...
I've never been a vampire fan, so I shouldn't read vampire novels. Twilight didn't appeal to me (too much teen angst) and I'm not a blood and guts person. What I do like is a good story, and that's what Her Dear and Loving Husband is--a good, romantic story with enough plot twists and turns to keep the interest high and the reader guessing.

Sarah Alexander moves to Salem after her divorce. She works at the local college and meets James Wentworth, a handsome professor. She dreams about the Salem Witch Trials, though she won't tell anyone, not even her closest friends. James also has something he won't tell anyone, but a reporter for the local paper discovers his secret. The more James and Sarah learn about each other, the more they realize that their stories piece together in an odd way. James and Sarah fall in love, but that is not the end for them. James still has to fight against the reporter who wants to tell everyone that James Wentworth is not what he seems to be.

One thing I liked about the book was that the paranormal characters are treated in a normal way. They seem like regular people living regular lives who just happen to be special in these different ways. There are some traditional vampire moments for those who are into that genre, but not enough to gross me out. It's far more of a love story than a horror novel.

I thought the love story between James and Sarah was sweet, and I wouldn't mind meeting a handsome vampire like James Wentworth. I read the whole book in just a couple of days because I couldn't wait to see how their stories tied together next. There's a strong ending, too, that leaves a lot of room for the next book in the series. I'll be looking for it.

posted by emma-h on July 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Thank you

Thank you to all the posters that told all the plot lines and ruined the book. I can delete it without reading it because everyone has akready told what happens. Thank you all for ruining it.

posted by 8888649 on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    True Romance

    Her Dear and Loving Husband is really the first paranormal romance book that I have read. I did see the movie Twilight and I have only read about half of the book. I could easily relate to James and Sarah since they are adults and around my age. After reading Her Dear and Loving Husband, I am looking forward to reading more paranormal romance books. I already enjoy romance, but when you mix in vampires, ghosts, and witches, it makes it a little more interesting. I also enjoyed the historical aspect of this book regarding the Salem Witch Trials. I plan on reading more about the trials just so I can find out more information. I vaguely remember studying the Salem Witch Trials in high school.

    This was overall a great read. I enjoyed the romance, paranormal fiction, and historical aspects of the story. Reading about James and Sarah's relationship develop is very heart warming. Their love is true and when you find it, you know it's right.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    A sweet and romantic book!

    After her divorce, Sarah moves from LA across the country to Salem, Massachusetts. Though born in Boston, Salem has the allure of a new beginning and she feels drawn to creating a life there. James is a lonely college professor who has kept his past a secret for many years. When the two meet, James is torn between telling Sarah his secrets at the risk of losing her, or keeping their relationship limited to friendship only. The longer he waits, the more Sarah believes the desire she feels for him is not reciprocated. Forced into a corner, he realizes he must confide in her. When he does finally open up to her, running as far away as possible may be the sanest thing to do, especially as he has become the target of an overzealous reporter. But could she live without the man she has come to care so much about?

    Her Dear and Loving Husband is a sweet, romantic book about the endurance of love. Two people find themselves drawn together, but facing what might be insurmountable obstacles, as Salem's past closes in on them. The imagery created by Meredith Allard of the torment women and their families experienced during the Salem Witch Trials brings the reader to that time, feeling the anguish of those affected by such a horrendous part of American history. The characters are people you would like to get to know - even if you're leery of the supernatural. The story weaves history in and out throughout the book so that the reader comes away not only with the feeling of enjoying a good book, but with a solid knowledge of a time that may only have been a vague recollection from a US History class some time in the past.

    I enjoyed reading Her Dear and Loving Husband very much. The characters had an intriguing innocence to them that worked for the book even with the heavy subject matter that surrounded them. A small drawback for me was that much of the information about the Witch Trials, and the lessons to be learned from them, were repeated several times, which came off as a bit tedious and even preachy at times. The pace was also a bit slow in the beginning but it did pick up as the book moved along. Those things aside, Her Dear and Loving Husband definitely deserves four stars.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Great read for lovers of the paranormal!

    I liked this book for several reasons. The author was able to pull ideas from several different books about the supernatural (i.e. Twilight, TrueBlood, etc.) without coming across as unoriginal. Yes, I recognized ideas that had been used in other books; like vampires crying blood, not having a problem with silver, and witches not being able to use their spells for evil. Seriously though, it would be impossible to write a book dealing with vampires, witches, or werewolves without including some details that have been used before!

    My favorite aspect of Allard's novel is the fact that a lot of the history of Salem was brought up. It's not just a story about a human and a vampire falling in love and making crazy love; it's also about the injustice that happened to innocent people hundreds of years ago. Also, it touches upon the idea that modern day witch hunts are entirely possible. I'm not talking about vampires and witches, but more so about the idea that fear often breeds hysteria and this could be applied to the fear American's have of Muslim terrorists.

    Anyways, I loved how she incorporated the history of the Salem Witch Trials, because I love history and anytime I have the opportunity to read and learn more about an interesting time period I am happy. Especially when it's in the form of Historical Fiction, because then it brings the time period to life for the reader. Allard is an excellent writer and the fact that she was able to write about witches, vampires, and werewolves without coming across as tacky or cliché is pretty dang good. I admit, I like a good vampire book once in awhile, but only if it's creative and tells a good story. As with this book, my favorite part of books dealing with vampires or witches is their background story. I love reading about their life before they were turned, and Allard is able to give the reader a good understanding of the past and the events that lead up to the characters current situation without boring the reader with unnecessary details or boring narrative.

    If you are a lover of the supernatural then I would definitely suggest this book. I tried to read the first book in Charlaine Harris' Sookie Stackhouse novels, and became bored and was unable to finish the books about a quarter of the way in, but Allard's book kept me intrigued throughout.

    I give Her Dear & Loving Husband 4.5 out of 5 Stars.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    magic, romance, mystery & suspense

    Then while we live, in love let's so persever, That when we live no more, we may live ever. - Anne Bradstreet, To My Dear and Loving Husband Sarah Alexander leaves Los Angeles and her ex-husband and begins a new life in Salem, Massachusetts. despite the change in scenery, she still continues to be plagued by dreams of an earlier time and a faceless stranger. when she meets real witches and the enigmatic James Wentworth, her ordinary life spirals into the unknown. the historical facts regarding the Salem witch hunts, trials and executions served as the backbone for this interesting paranormal romance and i loved how author Meredith Allard wove her magic around them. though this started a tad slow for me, things started speeding up after some time especially when secrets and more secrets started unraveling . an unexpected threat that could resurrect another hunt added intrigue. how this dilemma was developed and resolved was one of the highlights that kept me reading late into the night. i also loved how the author's use of modern English seamlessly flowed into 17th century speech when her characters Sarah and James relived their dreams and memories respectively. two more books follow this one and though they have not been released yet, i feel that this book can stand alone. magic, romance, mystery and suspense make Her Dear and Loving Husband a great read for me!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Paranormal romance with historical slant

    Paranormal romance and historical witch hunts create the story of "Her Dear & Loving Husband."

    Sarah, being newly divorced, relocates to Salem, Massachusetts, looking to build a new life. Here she meets new friends, who she learns are witches, and meets the man who is inhabiting her dreams and her nightmares. James, a college professor/vampire falls instantly for Sarah, not knowing exactly why except for the fact that she looks like his deceased wife of 300 years ago. Will they find the connection that binds them together? Will James survive risking it all to be with the woman that he has loved for all time?
    Come on their journey as they are given a second chance to finally have the love that they have always dreamed of.

    I have not read many books involving paranormal romance, but I can say that I really enjoyed this one. Ms. Allard did a wonderful job creating these two characters and describing their gentle and very tentative relationship. The history of the witch hunt trials made the story even more interesting to me also. It added another dimension to the story to make you want to continue turning those pages even more. It was a great blend all together!

    I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a paranormal romance with a good dose of history thrown in!

    This book was kindly provided to me by the kind people at Enchanted Book Tours for my honest review.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Fast Read

    Very well writen, never bogged down. Thank you, Texas

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    I am still reading this book but so far have enjoyed that which

    I am still reading this book but so far have enjoyed that which I have read. It is fun to read books like these and I appreciate the way she writes and how she tells the story. I think there are many of us who have at one time or another have shared dreams that have appeared too real to talk about. I guess I just enjoy a book for the reason that it not only broadens my education in many different ways, but it is simply a joy to do. So, hats off to Ms. Allard. and a big thank you.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    Warm touching story

    This book is recommended, even though it was long. The story was romantic. The dialog got too long winded at times. Sometimes they would say something and then finish the statement after a section of internal dialog so it was hard to follow.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Great book

    This book was intriguing, enjoyed hearing about the salem witch trials, felt like i was there.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Me, read a vampire book?

    Sure glad I did. The history of Salem is what drew me in, and I was hooked. Looking forward to the forthcoming third book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Nice love story

    Looking forward to the next one in the series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    very sad story.

    Good read. There was points in the story that were sad, but overall great ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Only review you should read!!!!!!!

    Allard does a wonderful job of describing these charactors emotions. Also you will find yourself wondering which turn the story will take more than once. Its a well developed plot that flows and switches between past and present flawlessly. This free read was a pleasant surprise and can hold its own against many paranormals. Also to the asshat that said it was like someone read twilight and thought to themselves "I can do
    this", What have you written? Could you write anything? Probably not. Btw. She did and pulled it off:p

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Quick easy read

    I enjoyed this book very much. It was a quick, easy read on my plane ride home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Very good book

    Mc

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    A love story with a twist.

    300 hundred years later, they got the chance missed the first time. He is a vampire and she is a is a girl who remembers the past. This was a good clean story and I enjoyed it greatly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    If you like different,,,,,,,,,love it

    very interesting, too unreal but good read and easy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Great Book...

    This started a bit slow for me... but once I got started I had to keep reading to find out what would happen...Loved the history mixed into the story...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    Great Read....couldn't put it down.

    This one will keep you on the edge of your seat.. I enjoyed it very much. Really something to think about... are we alone in the dark?
    hmmmmmmm.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    a great read to pass the time

    I mostly read this one while at the gym and found myself losing track of time on many of the cardio machines because of it ...While its not the best book I have ever had the pleasure readin ...it did have its sweet points... One can only dream of an eternal love such as the one in this story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3