Customer Reviews for

Her Dear and Loving Husband

Average Rating 4
( 182 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Twists and Turns and Romance Too

I've never been a vampire fan, so I shouldn't read vampire novels. Twilight didn't appeal to me (too much teen angst) and I'm not a blood and guts person. What I do like is a good story, and that's what Her Dear and Loving Husband is--a good, romantic story with enough ...
I've never been a vampire fan, so I shouldn't read vampire novels. Twilight didn't appeal to me (too much teen angst) and I'm not a blood and guts person. What I do like is a good story, and that's what Her Dear and Loving Husband is--a good, romantic story with enough plot twists and turns to keep the interest high and the reader guessing.

Sarah Alexander moves to Salem after her divorce. She works at the local college and meets James Wentworth, a handsome professor. She dreams about the Salem Witch Trials, though she won't tell anyone, not even her closest friends. James also has something he won't tell anyone, but a reporter for the local paper discovers his secret. The more James and Sarah learn about each other, the more they realize that their stories piece together in an odd way. James and Sarah fall in love, but that is not the end for them. James still has to fight against the reporter who wants to tell everyone that James Wentworth is not what he seems to be.

One thing I liked about the book was that the paranormal characters are treated in a normal way. They seem like regular people living regular lives who just happen to be special in these different ways. There are some traditional vampire moments for those who are into that genre, but not enough to gross me out. It's far more of a love story than a horror novel.

I thought the love story between James and Sarah was sweet, and I wouldn't mind meeting a handsome vampire like James Wentworth. I read the whole book in just a couple of days because I couldn't wait to see how their stories tied together next. There's a strong ending, too, that leaves a lot of room for the next book in the series. I'll be looking for it.

posted by emma-h on July 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Thank you

Thank you to all the posters that told all the plot lines and ruined the book. I can delete it without reading it because everyone has akready told what happens. Thank you all for ruining it.

posted by 8888649 on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    Twists and Turns and Romance Too

    I've never been a vampire fan, so I shouldn't read vampire novels. Twilight didn't appeal to me (too much teen angst) and I'm not a blood and guts person. What I do like is a good story, and that's what Her Dear and Loving Husband is--a good, romantic story with enough plot twists and turns to keep the interest high and the reader guessing.

    Sarah Alexander moves to Salem after her divorce. She works at the local college and meets James Wentworth, a handsome professor. She dreams about the Salem Witch Trials, though she won't tell anyone, not even her closest friends. James also has something he won't tell anyone, but a reporter for the local paper discovers his secret. The more James and Sarah learn about each other, the more they realize that their stories piece together in an odd way. James and Sarah fall in love, but that is not the end for them. James still has to fight against the reporter who wants to tell everyone that James Wentworth is not what he seems to be.

    One thing I liked about the book was that the paranormal characters are treated in a normal way. They seem like regular people living regular lives who just happen to be special in these different ways. There are some traditional vampire moments for those who are into that genre, but not enough to gross me out. It's far more of a love story than a horror novel.

    I thought the love story between James and Sarah was sweet, and I wouldn't mind meeting a handsome vampire like James Wentworth. I read the whole book in just a couple of days because I couldn't wait to see how their stories tied together next. There's a strong ending, too, that leaves a lot of room for the next book in the series. I'll be looking for it.

    21 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Loved this book

    I couldn't put this book down. When i finished it I wanted more. I can't wait to read the next ome.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Surprisingly Good Read

    I didn't know what to expect from this book. I was surprised how much I liked it. It has a little bit of everything from vampires and witches to romance to history about the Salem witch trials. It's well written and well edited and it ties the ends of the story together nicely.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Best in the genre by far!

    I had no idea what to expect or how quickly i would get pulled into the story! It is amazing!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Boring

    Sorry, but it was so boring I couldn't get past the second chapter.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    One of my favorites

    This book really roped me in, the characters are unique and I loved all of them. I have read both books in the series and can't wait for the third. I recommend them to all of my friends. Give these books a chance, you will not regret it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Beautiful Trilogy--Must Read

    Trilogy-Is presented in a manner that you feel like you've traveled back in time in a modern day --Witch trial. You share the emotion of love, hate, success, failure, heartbreak in a way that you will find yourself reflecting on times when you may have said I feel like I've been here before, but I haven't . Ms Allard takes us to a time when love was real and experience cruel reality of the Witch Trials. Great read for Book Clubs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Romantic paranormal read

    A good paranormal read! It has excellent info on salem witch trials incorperated into the story which captures and holds onto a reader. It also intertwines vampires, witches, werewoves, and spirits with all the romance and mystical intrique a paranormal lover craves! Can't wait to read the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    Loved this Book!!!

    I had trouble putting this book down. In fact I read it in 3 days!! It's like Nicholas Sparks meets Salem, Mass. I have never read Meredith Allard before but I am hooked now!! Can't wait to read the second book, Her Dear and Loving Husband's Curse.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Quit telling what happens !

    Review the book! Give your OPINION! You aren't getting paid to summarize the book! Some of you people carry the reviews WAY too far!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Hrres how it is

    Im tired of the commitments. Lets drop the wedding rings and just be dating. I want a bit of freedom and you want to sleep around at parties. This is the soloution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    I never would have expected that this rating would have been pos

    I never would have expected that this rating would have been possible when I began reading this book earlier today.  I had heard a lot of buzz about this book, and I didn't really read the synopsis before I agreed to review it (oops!).  It wasn't long before I realized I was reading a vampire book (my first), and I was ready to close off my brain and not even give this book a fighting chance.  After all, I am dead set against such books.  I mentally kicked myself for not reading more about this book before agreeing to review it.




    I began to revel in the historical portions of the book.  Meridith Allard's extensive knowledge of history and ability to assimilate that information in a readable way.  I knew some about the Salem Witch trials, but I read the accounts in the book, I was even more horrified and mesmerized.  And to think that these things were done in the name of the God that I profess makes this even a more bitter pill to swallow.




    I don't remember when things changed for me in the book, but at some point I said to myself, "Now I understand the fascination that so many women have with vampires."  Let me say that even several hours after finishing the book, I can say that if all vampires were as cultured as James, I think I could be attracted to one (and that sounds really weird coming from me--trust me!).  While this doesn't mean that I'm going to jump on the "Twilight" bandwagon, I think it is safe to say that I have become a fan of Meridith's works.  And I only plan to read her vampire fiction.  




    As to Sarah, I would have preferred a little different explanation concerning her past, but that is just my opinion. To the book's credit, although this deals with the paranormal, there is nothing that scared me or made me feel overly concerned.  Yes, there were some details concerning vampires that had to be there, but I didn't see any of it gory or horrid.  I am grateful there were no bedroom details, and the profanity was extremely minor (I didn't feel it needed to be there, but thankfully it was minimal).  




    I honestly have shocked myself in recommending this book, but I certainly would like to do so.  Don't get used to recommendations of vampire novels coming from me, I but I believe I can safely say this is a book worth reading--for the history alone if nothing else.  Oh, and I found the author's humor a strong draw as well.  That is something that is severely lacking in the majority of books I read.




    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.  I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Meredith Allard pens "Her Dear & Loving Husband" i

    Meredith Allard pens "Her Dear & Loving Husband" in a plot filled with the paranormal/supernatural that has plenty of twists and turns, and with just enough romance to keep you captive. I found her characters to be well thought out and believable. I really loved the way she threw in a bit of history with the Salem Witch Trials. Highly recommended for all paranormal romance fans.




    This review is based on a complimentary copy from the author which was provided for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    Great story I can recommend I received this book from the tourin

    Great story I can recommend
    I received this book from the touring host for an honest review.




    This is a must read to all readers who love paranormal/vampires. The romance was all that a romantic heart would want, the mystery and the actual events of the Witch Trails in 1692 building the plot as two people, meet once again after all the years. The last time I enjoyed something similar was the Conversion Series by SC Stephens.
    With believable characters and a well written story, the author captured your imagination and kept your focus so that you did not want to close the book. The story was fast paced, but yet you did not felt rushed, developing at a steady pace. Interesting characters made this story a gripping tale and one you can read again.
    But I did love James Wentworth's character the most. A gentleman, romantic waiting for his love to return I really connect with him more than Sarah. His old fashioned manners kept him at a distance but yet he was easily approachable, teaching his class with patience and compassion. Knowing so much of history which he could impart to his students. His gentle spirit never giving away his true nature. 
    Sarah suffered from dreams she had no idea why, ended up in Salem she learned about the history of Salem, the Witch trails and its significance it had with her dreams. Her future finally coming clear. I loved  how quickly she embraced her new life accepting James for whom he was and protecting him.
    I think the scene that touched me the most was that between James and his father, John. Unconditional love the center of it as they came together. Beautifully written I really loved this story from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    GREAT BOOK!

    I really enjoyed this book and cannot wait to finish the second one. Everyone has a different view of this book, but I found it fascinating to curl up with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    I love it!

    Fell in love with it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Had no idea this was about vampires!!

    Pleasantly surprised. Nice story, nice mix of vampires, witches and Salem history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    I loved this story. I loved the romance and the history behind

    I loved this story. I loved the romance and the history behind the romance. Meredith Allard wrote a beautiful story that made me feel like I was there. I like paranormal books, and I liked the mix of vampires, werewolves and witches that come across as everyday people. I can't believe this book was free. It is as good or better than other paranormal romance books I've paid for. I can't wait to read the second one. Give it a try - you won't be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Great book!!

    I cannot wait to read book 2!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    One of the best fiction books I have read in a while

    I thoroughly enjoyed this tale. Not my usual genre, but hated to put it down. When I did I couldn't wait to pick it up again. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4