Customer Reviews for

Her Heart for the Asking

Average Rating 4
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Truly a joy to read!

4 Stars - Romantic Times 'Mandy had spent her summers with Hank and Corrine Promise on their Texas ranch for years. Now she's back after an eight-year absence. Mandy is appalled to be met at the airport by Beau Gentry, the man who broke her heart when he chose to ride ...
4 Stars - Romantic Times 'Mandy had spent her summers with Hank and Corrine Promise on their Texas ranch for years. Now she's back after an eight-year absence. Mandy is appalled to be met at the airport by Beau Gentry, the man who broke her heart when he chose to ride the rodeo circuit and leave her behind. From Beau, she learns the reason her mother insisted she return -- Hank's heart condition. It's Hank, though, who really gives her a shock when he asks her to learn from Beau, how to run the ranch. How can she work so closely with the man who betrayed her? Even more importantly, will she be able to convince Hank to have the heart surgery he needs to save his life? Ms. Mondello presents a beguiling story that keeps you turning the pages. Though the hero at first appears selfish and the heroine in need of a backbone, their characters develop nicely and the reasons behind their actions prove understandable. Truly a joy to read.' (reviewed by Susan Mobley)

posted by Anonymous on September 16, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not Crazy About This One

The story could have been written better. It had the makings of a good one but just wasn't long enough or flowed smoothly.

posted by fb101 on April 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2001

    Truly a joy to read!

    4 Stars - Romantic Times 'Mandy had spent her summers with Hank and Corrine Promise on their Texas ranch for years. Now she's back after an eight-year absence. Mandy is appalled to be met at the airport by Beau Gentry, the man who broke her heart when he chose to ride the rodeo circuit and leave her behind. From Beau, she learns the reason her mother insisted she return -- Hank's heart condition. It's Hank, though, who really gives her a shock when he asks her to learn from Beau, how to run the ranch. How can she work so closely with the man who betrayed her? Even more importantly, will she be able to convince Hank to have the heart surgery he needs to save his life? Ms. Mondello presents a beguiling story that keeps you turning the pages. Though the hero at first appears selfish and the heroine in need of a backbone, their characters develop nicely and the reasons behind their actions prove understandable. Truly a joy to read.' (reviewed by Susan Mobley)

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    I was rooting for the MC the entire time I was reading. The characters were well defined and 3 dimensional...and very likeable. The story was original and sweet. Nicely done. I will recommend this to all of my friends who like romance and adventure.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Texas Hearts Series Book 1

    Her Heart for the Asking by Lisa Mondello
    Texas Hearts Book 1
    Beau Gentry had broken Mandy Morgan's heart when she was sixteen and then she watched as he left her to go to the rodeo, the dream he loved...not her. Eight years later she is returning to Texas because her mom told her to visit Uncle Hank. She use to come every year until Beau. Then Texas only held her broken heart and she couldn't face it. She has made a life for herself in Philadelphia working to try and please her father at his Advertising Agency. The minute she steps off the plane in Texas her life changes once again. It's Beau who has come to bring her to the Double T and she finds out that Uncle Hank has serious health issues. She also finds herself feeling like that sixteen year old girl around Beau.

    Beau owes his knowledge of the rodeo to Hank Promise and came to help him as soon as he called. He also knew that his feelings for Mandy Morgan had never changed and now she was a beautiful woman. He hoped for a second chance to fix how he left her last time. Can a high class girl from Philadelphia ever find happiness with a cowboy from Texas? This is a shorter story but full of old secrets and new hope.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Sweet and tender story

    Mandy and Beau's story is so full of emotion. While it is about broken hearts and love found again after 8 years, it is clean and respectable stoty. A very good read....

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Loved this book!

    This was a quick read but there was a lot of story in it. The romance was very nice.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Good traditional romance that wasn't predictable.

    Good traditional romance that wasn't predictable.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Best ever!!!

    I usually only read Lurelene McDanield but my aunt recomended this and i am glad she did! I FELL IN LOVE WITH IT FROM THE BEGINING! If you like ti read a romance with a twist then read this book! An AMAZING read!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Not Crazy About This One

    The story could have been written better. It had the makings of a good one but just wasn't long enough or flowed smoothly.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Awesome

    Such a great book... i read it in one day.... it had me hooked. And made me say OMG outloud by the twists....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    good read

    nice series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    If you like love stories this is a good one...

    A fun read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Texas Cowboys

    I have always enjoyed reading good stories about cowboys especially from Texas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Good

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2013

    Wonderful love story about two people who find their way back to

    Wonderful love story about two people who find their way back to each other. This is a quick read at 182 pages and I enjoyed it a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Recommend

    I enjoyed this book.( aprox. 250 pages). It does need better editing, but the book is well worth reading. I' m sure most everyone will like it. GJRA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2013

    This is the first book that I have read by Lisa Mondello, and I

    This is the first book that I have read by Lisa Mondello, and I really enjoyed it. Mandy and Beau have not saw each other in eight years, but the chemistry is still there between them. Circumstances bring them back together, and they have to decide what they truly want out of life, and if they are willing to take another chance on one another. I highly recommend this book, it is the first in the Texas Hearts Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Good

    Sweet and wholesome story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Recommend

    Short story filled with list love, secrets, regrets and forgiveness! I really enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    SF

    Liked the story. Would have liked it better if it was longer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    How sweet

    100+ pages of sweet memories, regrets and secrets that make a sweet story. Perfect ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5