Customer Reviews for

Her Highness, the Traitor

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

4.5 Stars! Higginbotham takes the story we thought we knew about

4.5 Stars! Higginbotham takes the story we thought we knew about Jane Grey and turns it on it's head! John Dudley wasn't an evil man? Frances Grey didn't beat her daughter? Was Edward VI poisoned? Manipulated? Knowing Higginbotham is one of our trusted Historical Fictio...
4.5 Stars! Higginbotham takes the story we thought we knew about Jane Grey and turns it on it's head! John Dudley wasn't an evil man? Frances Grey didn't beat her daughter? Was Edward VI poisoned? Manipulated? Knowing Higginbotham is one of our trusted Historical Fiction authors, I couldn't wait to dig into her notes at the end. As usual she did her research and didn't jump on the myths and false accusations so many other writers and Hollywood have done.

The author gives us the story of The 9 Day Queen through the eyes of Frances Grey and Jane Dudley. I'm not rehashing the plot here, but basically Frances' daughter Jane and Jane's son Guildford are brought together for one of the most interesting and rumor filled speculative stories in history of how they were put on the throne.

Why 4.5 stars and not 5? Only because the first person narrative was a little confusing in the beginning. Especially if you put the book down and without finishing the chapter. Also Higginbotham can throw you with calling a person by his name in one paragraph and using only his title the next. Even though I'm familiar with the characters even I had to check the character list in the front throughout the book.

This is a typical Higginbotham read. Great insight. Great storytelling without the fluff. If you want to know about Jane Grey or like me think you know all about her, read this!

posted by penname96 on June 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Review: Her Highness, The Traitor

Despite this time period being one of my favorites, I'm seriously lacking in my knowledge (and reading) about Edward VI and especially Lady Jane. This sounded interesting and I hoped that it would provide me with some information I was lacking.

I think if I want to ...
Despite this time period being one of my favorites, I'm seriously lacking in my knowledge (and reading) about Edward VI and especially Lady Jane. This sounded interesting and I hoped that it would provide me with some information I was lacking.

I think if I want to get a clearer picture of Edward VI, I will need to read something else. I didn't feel like we got to know him very well. Maybe that's because most of this book takes places when he is a child. The kingdom is ruled in his name through the Protector. There's a lot of confusing details about the King's favorite uncle trying to oust the Protector, thus loosing his head. Then the people surrounding the King feel the Protector is abusing his power. He lost his head too. I know this was all important, but I was bored. All it did was show me how little power the king had (because he was a child) and how much of laid in the hands of the nobility. And, it didn't take much for those to turn on you.

I found it intriguing that Henry VIII's will gave such a clear line of succession, and that he bypassed his niece in favor of her children (I'm sure he was hoping for a male somewhere in there). I also found it hard to believe that a king who seemed to have so little sway and knew his father's demands was so determined for Lady Jane to take over the thrown. He had to know this was a bad idea right? Did he think his sister Mary was just going to sit by when her father was so clear in her right to rule? And did her really think Lady Jane would make a good Queen? She had never been raised as such. I think there's a whole lot to this story the book isn't telling us.

Which bring us to Lady Jane herself. I half wish the book would have be at least partially told from her point of view. The view points we do get do absolutely nothing for her. I didn't like her. She's that person who now days we would call "book smart" but she lacks any common sense. Plus, she seemed to have very little human compassion. A person like that shouldn't rule, and I think King Edward could have figured that out very easily. I also disliked that the minute they named her Queen, she got this sense of entitlement. I was sad to see that she was finally beheaded after so long of time. I don't think she deserved to die, although I do understand why Queen Mary felt like she had to do it.

For all of that, you would think I disliked the book. That's not entirely the case. It filled in the gaps that I have between Monarchs. I think it shows the state of the country and how it might have been effected when Mary came in the crown. It also reminded me how easily people lost their heads in this day. Plus, it's historical fiction and I'm not disappointed that I read it.

posted by pagese on September 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review: Her Highness, The Traitor

    Despite this time period being one of my favorites, I'm seriously lacking in my knowledge (and reading) about Edward VI and especially Lady Jane. This sounded interesting and I hoped that it would provide me with some information I was lacking.

    I think if I want to get a clearer picture of Edward VI, I will need to read something else. I didn't feel like we got to know him very well. Maybe that's because most of this book takes places when he is a child. The kingdom is ruled in his name through the Protector. There's a lot of confusing details about the King's favorite uncle trying to oust the Protector, thus loosing his head. Then the people surrounding the King feel the Protector is abusing his power. He lost his head too. I know this was all important, but I was bored. All it did was show me how little power the king had (because he was a child) and how much of laid in the hands of the nobility. And, it didn't take much for those to turn on you.

    I found it intriguing that Henry VIII's will gave such a clear line of succession, and that he bypassed his niece in favor of her children (I'm sure he was hoping for a male somewhere in there). I also found it hard to believe that a king who seemed to have so little sway and knew his father's demands was so determined for Lady Jane to take over the thrown. He had to know this was a bad idea right? Did he think his sister Mary was just going to sit by when her father was so clear in her right to rule? And did her really think Lady Jane would make a good Queen? She had never been raised as such. I think there's a whole lot to this story the book isn't telling us.

    Which bring us to Lady Jane herself. I half wish the book would have be at least partially told from her point of view. The view points we do get do absolutely nothing for her. I didn't like her. She's that person who now days we would call "book smart" but she lacks any common sense. Plus, she seemed to have very little human compassion. A person like that shouldn't rule, and I think King Edward could have figured that out very easily. I also disliked that the minute they named her Queen, she got this sense of entitlement. I was sad to see that she was finally beheaded after so long of time. I don't think she deserved to die, although I do understand why Queen Mary felt like she had to do it.

    For all of that, you would think I disliked the book. That's not entirely the case. It filled in the gaps that I have between Monarchs. I think it shows the state of the country and how it might have been effected when Mary came in the crown. It also reminded me how easily people lost their heads in this day. Plus, it's historical fiction and I'm not disappointed that I read it.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    4.5 Stars! Higginbotham takes the story we thought we knew about

    4.5 Stars! Higginbotham takes the story we thought we knew about Jane Grey and turns it on it's head! John Dudley wasn't an evil man? Frances Grey didn't beat her daughter? Was Edward VI poisoned? Manipulated? Knowing Higginbotham is one of our trusted Historical Fiction authors, I couldn't wait to dig into her notes at the end. As usual she did her research and didn't jump on the myths and false accusations so many other writers and Hollywood have done.

    The author gives us the story of The 9 Day Queen through the eyes of Frances Grey and Jane Dudley. I'm not rehashing the plot here, but basically Frances' daughter Jane and Jane's son Guildford are brought together for one of the most interesting and rumor filled speculative stories in history of how they were put on the throne.

    Why 4.5 stars and not 5? Only because the first person narrative was a little confusing in the beginning. Especially if you put the book down and without finishing the chapter. Also Higginbotham can throw you with calling a person by his name in one paragraph and using only his title the next. Even though I'm familiar with the characters even I had to check the character list in the front throughout the book.

    This is a typical Higginbotham read. Great insight. Great storytelling without the fluff. If you want to know about Jane Grey or like me think you know all about her, read this!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Worth the waiting

    The writing of Ms Higginbotham on this, her latest, continues her magic of making the reader transported to those long ago times. It is well worthed waiting for the release on e-book. Like all the other magnificent novels, entertains and educates. Already waiting for her next.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Agree! Great book!

    This a different perspective of how Jane Grey was queen for nine days. The story is told by Frances Grey and Jane Dudley and tells the story as a wife and mother. Well Done!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulous Historical Fiction

    Susan Higginbotham has done it again…she’s written an amazing book telling the story of Lady Jane Grey from the point of view of her mother. Frances Grey is often demonized in historical fiction and in film, so it is truly refreshing to find a novel that deals with her as a human being. As always, Susan breathes life into the past. Check out this novel…if you place yourself in Susan’s capable hands, you will not be disappointed.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Great book

    A great read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Excellent Book

    I was so touched by the people in this book. Hard to accept what happened to this young girl. Thank God I live in a time where I have some say over my life. Made me really appreciate not having to answer to a King.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    A little slow

    A little slow, but a pretty good read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    Blech. Pablum.

    Boring. Seriously. Same story over over over . . . Can we not have better?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Amazing book

    I love love love this book its so cool

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2014

    I was so excited when the lovelys at Sourcebooks gifted this boo

    I was so excited when the lovelys at Sourcebooks gifted this book to me during BEA12. As a Historian, I adore The Tudors, and will gobble up any and all books that have to do with the period. Anne Boleyn is my absolute favorite of King Henry VIII's wives, and with the exception of Queen Elizabeth, I love reading about Jane Grey.

    This book was all about Jane Grey as told through the eyes of her mother and mother-in-law. Before I started reading this book I had a conversation with my friend about the lack of variety in the names of people during this time. Every girl was named Jane, Elizabeth, Margaret, Mary, or Katherine. Boys had names like Henry, Edward, John, James, or Richard. That often makes following stories like this a little hard to do. Knowing how this can be confusing, the producers of the Tudors changed peoples names to avoid this confusion. This book is one that should have done that. I was often confused not only by who was being spoken about but also who was talking.

    I sort of hated how the narrator switched back and forth, often I had no idea who was talking and who they were talking about. Even when she mentioned their titles (Somerset and Suffolk) it got all very confusing. I had a really hard time keeping names and people straight, which can be understandable as there were a lot of key players during this time period.

    I thought the writing was wonderful although I came to a point where I would just start skimming because it was difficult to focus on some parts. There were many times (as happens with HF) that things just didn't matter and that made the story progress slowly. I did like that the story was told from a very different perspective. When I seek out books regarding Jane Grey, I never really thought of a book about her from the perspective of her mother in law.

    All in all it was an interesting book, but I should have gone into this expecting a longer read, but I didn't and that was my own fault. I still might read more by Higginbotham, but not one with multiple narrators. Either way a fun new way to look at Queen Mary and King Edward.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    Great read, well researched

    I couldn't put this pne down. Even though I knew much of the story, the author kept me turning pages to see what was next. I will be looking for more books by this writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Confusing

    The story was well written and quite good, however, there were so many people with the same name it was difficult to keep track.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Boring... up top who doesn't like the book.

    Boring book ever can they make any other book that doesn't makes me go to sleep... yawn yawn yawning ... and yawning again.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    Recommended!

    I love Susan Higginbotham, and she has done it again. A highly entertaining book about a little known historical era. I love Ms. Higginbotham's books because they are always a facinating read, and I learn about real history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Recommended.

    I enjoyed the book and reading another version of historical events. The author's notes also explains his writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Highly recommend

    I enjoyed this book. Highly recommend for those who love history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    An interesting read about history that we thought we already kne

    An interesting read about history that we thought we already knew. Made me realize how interesting history can be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Life in the fast lane

    Life in the fast lane of old England hearkens of intrigue and danger. The one in favor today is the one out of favor tomorrow thus can find themselves at the gallows and or with ones pretty neck stretched across the wood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Highly recommended for anyone interested in Tudor intrigue!

    I was not familiar with this author, but was very pleasantly surprised. This is a well written history of the convoluted family intrigues that led to the tragic story of Lady Jane Grey--the Nine Days Queen. Story is told from the various view points of the contending fsmilies that nicely illustrate how the teen-age Jane could ascend and them lose the throne and her head.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3