Customer Reviews for

Her Mother's Hope (Marta's Legacy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 412 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(236)

4 Star

(104)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Heart-wrenching and soul-searching.

The very core of the mother/daughter relationship can be heart-wrenching and soul-searching and the author truly captured the trials and triumphs.
Marta and Hildebrand struggle for survival in pre-World War11 era. This is a wonderful, powerful portrayal of the life and...
The very core of the mother/daughter relationship can be heart-wrenching and soul-searching and the author truly captured the trials and triumphs.
Marta and Hildebrand struggle for survival in pre-World War11 era. This is a wonderful, powerful portrayal of the life and times but in the foreground, the workings of the spirit in love, forgiveness, and trust. Marta raises her children to be strong and independent, not figuring in the cost of how her past relationships may affect her family. There are lessons here that change happens when we allow pride to dissolve and encourage an open mind and an open heart to view others.

posted by LCH47 on June 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Did not enjoy this book!

I've read almost all of Francine Rivers' books and this was my least favorite. I stuck with it until the end but was so disappointed with it. The characters did not seem to be written with any depth. In many of Rivers' books the reader is able to get into the charact...
I've read almost all of Francine Rivers' books and this was my least favorite. I stuck with it until the end but was so disappointed with it. The characters did not seem to be written with any depth. In many of Rivers' books the reader is able to get into the characters' heads and hearts but not in this book. It seemed the reader was looking at words just written 'about' someone but not written from the first person viewpoint.

The main character, Marta, did not garner any sympathy even in the early part of the book. The secondary character, her daughter, seemed cardboard. Plus, the only redeeming character was Marta's husband who was mostly written in the background. His faith was never given center stage. He was written as a somewhat minor character.

I did not like the overall premise of this book, the story nor the time setting(the later stages of the story).

posted by 3562408 on July 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 418 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted June 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Heart-wrenching and soul-searching.

    The very core of the mother/daughter relationship can be heart-wrenching and soul-searching and the author truly captured the trials and triumphs.
    Marta and Hildebrand struggle for survival in pre-World War11 era. This is a wonderful, powerful portrayal of the life and times but in the foreground, the workings of the spirit in love, forgiveness, and trust. Marta raises her children to be strong and independent, not figuring in the cost of how her past relationships may affect her family. There are lessons here that change happens when we allow pride to dissolve and encourage an open mind and an open heart to view others.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Focus on mother/daughter relationships

    Having read several of Ms. River's novels, I anxiously looked forward to reading this new novel. I was not disappointed. Her characters are very believable and probems confronted in her plots are relatable to modern day even though the time period is 50 to 100 years earlier. This novel follows Marta who lives in Switzerland during the early 1900s. As oldest daughter of an ailing mother and abusive father, she leaves home at a very young age determined to succeed at something other than being a servant to the wealthy.
    Her life takes many twists and turns before she settles in Ca. with a family of her own. However, her past comes back to influence her relationship with her own children. This is the crux of the story. As the plot develops the reader is drawn into not only Marta's life but her oldest daughter's. This daughter has problems related to Marta's determination to make her "tough" and her inability to cope with her mother's treatment.The book leads into Hildi's life and a second book (coming out in fall 2010) will continue her story.
    I at times felt compassion for Marta and then other times angry and frustrated by her decisions and personality. The same with Hildi. It is a sign of good book that you develop these strong feeling about the characters. As with other Francine Rivers novels such as "Leota's Garden" and "Redeeming Love", I enjoyed this book to the last page and look forward to the next one.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    MUST READ!

    When I got to the last page, I did not realize it was the last page, and turned the page "for more", I just broke down in tears! I was SO disappointed! I was so into it and was NOT ready to stop. I am looking forward to the next chapter!

    This book helped me relate to growing up with my own mother; with my most wonderful relationship with my grandmother; and then to raising my own daughter; and NOW my relationship with my grandchildren and respecting my daughter as mother to my grandchild. What a wonderful book with clear descriptions and examples/illustrations of unspoken love. When to speak and when not to speak, but act. I would highly recommend this to any woman! How we are responsible to raise and train up our children and yet learn from the experienced ones that have gone on ahead of us. WOW! Francine Rivers did a wonderful job in putting our daily lives and relationships in perspective as to how it will affect generations to come.

    It was hard to tell where the fiction part came into play from her factual research. She did a splendid job in weaving the story together. I could feel myself getting wound up and telling each side to go talk to the other side; let them know how you are feeling, yet you could see strength being built out of each character and just feel the pain with them. What a book! A total 10 in all areas! ENJOY! LEARN! BE FULL!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    SENSATIONAL!

    My heart was captured from the beginning, when a girl of 12 years old, went through so much struggle, pain and heartache, seeing Marta become a woman and then, later, a mother. This is an interesting family drama that focuses on a Mother and her oldest daughter in the first half of the twentieth century. It was truly powerful. The Swiss dialect came across so well! The story has history, family battles, love, forgiveness, broken trust, new trust and God's work. Marta is driven by purpose, hope and guilt. Hilde is the direct opposite of her mother. Neither knows how to bridge the gap between them. This novel will give every woman, who is a mother or a daughter, hope for mending relationships and healing, no matter how far apart they are. If you are looking for a book that will capture you heart and soul, this is it. I recommend!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Epic story of a mother and daughter worlds apart

    Marta is driven by ambition and guilt. Hilde is the antithesis of her mother. Neither knows how to communicate their heart. As powerful as Redeeming Love, Her Mother's Hope will give every woman, who has been a mother or a daughter, hope for mending the rifts in their relationship, no matter how deep the divide, how devastating the mistakes, love has the power to heal. Novel Journey and I give Her Mother's Hope our highest recommendation. It's a 5 star read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Mother's LOVE!

    This book and the second in the series, is a fantastic look at Mother's Love! This is a wonderful look at generations of women and how they (we) don't always understand the love we're being given. For me it has been a wonderful exercise in experiencing PERSONALITY! Love is shown filtered through our God-given personalities....what a shame when we don't recognize or understand this filter.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Francine Rivers delivers AGAIN!

    I picked this book up, knowing that it would be an enjoyable read, since it was authored by the incredible writer, Francine Rivers. Once again, Rivers has woven a completely riveting tale; this time it is one that spans generations and half the globe! I must admit, I was a little daunted by both of those facts and the fact that "Her Mother's Hope" was nearly 500 pages long. However, I grew to appreciate that fact as I delved into the story, not wanting it to end!

    Rivers begins the tale of Marta in Switzerland in 1901 and the rest of this book takes her throughout Europe, across the Atlantic and into Canada, and then finally to California, where she resides by the conclusion of "Her Mother's Hope", 50 years later. All of these places and scenarios provide the backdrop for the riveting tale of a mother and daughter's lifelong relationship.

    However, one of the many aspects of the novel that makes it distinctive is the fact that halfway through this book, the protagonist is actually swapped from Marta to her daughter, Hildemara Rose. It is for this reason that the tale of this mother-daughter relationship is so incredibly realistic and moving. Since we witness the passage of time from these two very different viewpoints, we are afforded a unique perspective, one that makes it so heart-breaking as the reader, to know where both the mother and daughter are coming from, although they themselves do not understand it.

    I do not want to spoil any of the book for anyone, but I must say one element of this story that shocked me, as its one you rarely come across in novels, is the fact that the hero at the beginning of the book becomes, over the course of the story, the villain, a character you almost hate and wish to do away with! I guess that only goes to show that Rivers does her job so well that you become emotionally invested in the characters. :)

    I believe this is a nearly universal read, one that most people would enjoy, and yet it has the potential to be a life changing tale. As someone who has had a strained and painful relationship with her mother, I saw so much of myself and my life in this story, and I came away with some real insight and understanding of my own past and present. For this reason I thank Ms. Rivers for her dedicated work and recommend that all mothers and daughters pick up this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A "Fantabulously" Riveting Read!

    In the three days this book was glued to the inside of my palms, the house didn't get cleaned, the laundry was neglected and if the kids weren't old enough to fend for themselves, that could have been another issue altogether. Francine Rivers never fails to impress me with the level of research and background information she provides that captures my attention, draws me in and sometimes take me hostage until the bitter-sweet end.

    This story is absolutely riveting... Scene details make you feel like you are there...you can smell the German pastries and sausages cooking in the over-heated kitchen, appreciate the beauty of foreign lands you might only be able to experience through a book. The characters are so fully developed you feel like you have a personal history with them - some you will despise, others you will applaud (at times in this book you'll do both with the same character!). This story will have you laughing out loud, grumbling under your breath in severe malcontent, raising your fists in victory and crying like a baby.

    Do not attempt to start this book if you can't devote some time to reading it from cover to cover...or you might find yourself neglecting your family, work, household chores...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Francine Rivers Does It Again!

    Hooray for another book by a beloved author! This one was especially gripping for me, lots of drama to shed tears over!

    The character development here is excellent- the push and pull of relationships that help me see my own strengths and weaknesses. Francine does not disappoint.

    I found it especially moving that she gleaned much from her families personal lives. Is there anything richer than real life drama in printed form to help us appreciate the wonders of God? To cause us to take a step back and examine our own lives so as to rejoice in the good times and the bad, praising the Lord for all He gives? I think not and thoroughly enjoyed the read!

    I can't wait for the second part to come out!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    Mothers and Daughters

    As always, Francine Rivers has created another winner. I love her work and always wait with baited breath for the next novel.
    In "Her Mother's Hope" we are introduced to 3 generations of Swiss/German women who lived through the two world wars. An intimate view of their lives shows us the physical, spiritual, and emotional struggles they endure. We see their successes and their failings. We see OURSELVES.
    I found the story very moving because, although I don't have the same background as these women, I have the same foibles, and I have the same faith. I felt myself cheering for them in their victories and agonizing for them in their angst.
    The only disappointment I had in this book is that it left me waiting for the next story to discover how it will all turn out for these women.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome story! I'm totally invested in the characters.

    I've been waiting for years to read a new release by Francine Rivers and this book went beyond my expectations. It left me breathless. The thing I love so much about Francine's storytelling is that her characters are so realistic and three dimensional that you can't help but care about them even when they are stubborn and difficult and make bad decisions.

    Her Mother's Hope is a story of joy and heartache, of lessons learned as well as regrets that can't be changed, but most of all it's a novel of faith and the legacy that is passed on to children. It's so cool how the characters in this story experienced faith journeys in different ways. Some had no faith at all and some were angry with God. Others remain faithful and ministered to an entire community by offering love to them through acts of grace and service. I got choked up so many times I lost count. It started with the teacher overhearing Hildie telling her sister they needed to pray for her because she was hurting. I'd say my eyes leaked tears five or six times, at least. And all for different reasons.

    The author really knows how to get you to feel for her characters. I read the last four hundred pages straight through in one day. I was 100% invested in the characters' fictional lives. I cheered for them and grieved with them. This is a powerful story that has it's heart-tugging moments that are as unforgettable as the beautiful romances within the pages. I loved this book and can't wait for the next one in the series!

    Though it was a bit long for a novel (over 500 pages) it didn't drag at all and in my opinion it was the perfect length because I really got to know the characters over the course of the four generations that transpired. That is a very effective technique in helping me to better understand a family's dysfunction then just showing everything in the present day and talking about the past. Now I'm just itching for more. One year seems awfully far away!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Francine Rivers is such a master story-teller!

    Another beautiful story by Francine Rivers. Such powerful characters and complicated relationships keep you anxious for the next page. I enjoyed the historical aspect of this book also. It helped me to understand the "times" and how difficult it was for early immigrants to America.
    Can't wait for the second book in this two book series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    Great Books

    There are many Christian writers and Francine Rivers is one of the best.
    This is a very moving story and will truly pull at your heart strings. I will be anxiously waiting for the upcoming sequel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    She did it again!

    Francine Rivers did it again with Her Mother's Hope. Love is often misunderstood and not packaged the way we think and this book exemplifies this. I couldn't put this book down and look forward to the sequel. Hopefully, Francine Rivers will have other books coming as well!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Very good book but bad ending

    Nice read but hated that the ending was so abrupt and left too many questions unanswered, too many issues unresolved. I know, I know...it's a series, but come on! The next books are more than I would pay so I'll just have to deal with it. Review by CherishD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book, I could barely put it down to go to sleep at ni

    Loved this book, I could barely put it down to go to sleep at night. I can't wait for the second book to come out...I hope soon! This is a beautifully told story with very well-developed characters that I felt I knew. Francine Rivers is my all-time favorite author for that reason, I feel a part of her books as I'm reading them. Highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Excellent

    This book helped me with my relationship with my mother.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    OMG

    This book was fabulous. It spans over years and years, but I just felt like I was right there in the story. The characters were so well defined and the story line was awesome. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    An incredible book

    What an incredible book. The story spanned many wars and generations. Shows what God can do in our lives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended

    Story of family disfunction spanning several generations. If you have family issues - this could be an eye opener to perhaps give your own family members another chance. If only this family could have communicated better - but lots family members might make the same mistake.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 418 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21