BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Her Royal Spyness (Royal Spyness Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

well crafted Depression Era mystery

The year is 1932 and Great Britain is in the middle of the Depression which is even affecting the aristocracy. Lady Victoria Georgiana ¿Georgie¿ Charlotte Eugenie is ultra feeling the pinch of poverty while living with her brother Binky the Duke of Rannoch at Rannoch C...
The year is 1932 and Great Britain is in the middle of the Depression which is even affecting the aristocracy. Lady Victoria Georgiana ¿Georgie¿ Charlotte Eugenie is ultra feeling the pinch of poverty while living with her brother Binky the Duke of Rannoch at Rannoch Castle in the wilds of Scotland. When she hears him and her sister-in-law trying to marry her off to Prince Siegfried of Romania, who she believes has the Fish-Face of a cod, she bolts for London. --- She works at Harrods for only a few hours before her own mother gets her fired. While learning to live in a house without any servants Binky comes on a business matter. Gaston de Mauxville has proof that her father gambled Rannoch Castle away to him. When Georgie comes back to Rannoch House after leaving on an errand she finds de Mauxville dead in the bathtub and Binky nowhere to be found. When Scotland Yard arrests him for the murder of de Mauxville Georgie tries to find out who the really killer is because Binky is too wishy-washy to even contemplate murder. A series of accidents any one of which could have killed Georgie has her wondering if someone close to her is the killer --- Rhys Bowen has two successful historical mystery series to her credit and this book starts a fresh one that will succeed as well. It is very different in tone and scope from her other words as she takes reader into the lives of the aristocracy at a time when poverty is beginning to take root. Readers will adore Georgie who finds that life is better when she ignores her thirty something line to the crown so she can live life her way. HER ROYAL SPYNESS is a well crafted Depression Era mystery with an interesting pool of suspects. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed what I could read of it...

I bought this as a nook book and it only came with the first 7 chapters. What happened?

posted by beniciar on January 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Jake

    Sorry bout me and stacy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Love these books!

    Takes you to a different world. Thank you Rhys Bowen...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Pretty stupid story.

    What can I say..... a pretty stupid story and the writing wasn't much better. A waste of my time and $. Maybe it is meant for a preteen?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Great

    If you love period pieces and mysteries, you will love this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Good book for a quick read

    Fun book to read. It was predictable, but kept me entertained. I would read more books from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    A fun read!

    A fun read with a bit of romance and mystery combined with a whole lot of comedy! It's a great book for relaxing and escaping to another tome and place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Loved this book!

    From the first paragraph, I fell in love with this book. It is a great cozy mystery, with what seem to be some real insights into how the life of a minor royal might work. I also liked the clever tributes to Dorothy Sayers' Lord Peter Whimsey.

    Grab this book and curl up with a cup of tea (definitely not coffee!) and some scones!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Get this book

    This is a fun book to read and enjoy. It will keep you guessing to the last page. It is well written and I look forward to reading more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Even thought the mystery part got off to a slow start I wasn't a

    Even thought the mystery part got off to a slow start I wasn't annoyed because the story was so engaging and the Georgie's personality was so spunky. I enjoyed her interactions with the other characters, I liked the setting of 1930s England, and also how the author weaved in historical characters such as Edward VIII and Wallis Simpson. This was the first book I read in the Royal Spyness mysteries but I'm definitely going to check out the others.
    * I received a complimentary copy from the publisher via netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Cute

    Light reading indeed tho entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Funny and so a keeper.

    Light cozy mystery. Not great literature but I caught myself laughing at times. If a book makes me laugh it is a keeper. Already bought the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Daddybaby@yhaoo.com

    Friend me im cute im funny i got swagg and i need a nook friend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Blah

    Blah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Sunshine-carson@yahoo.com

    Name sunshine emily carson
    Age 10
    Long brown hair
    Live in conneticut
    Friend me

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    O

    Too many plot spoilers and the worst of tge bunch is harriet kkausner. Come on, bn. Can you PLEASE get rid of this obnoxious egotistical, overbearing poster? She cannot just review a book without ruining it, she instigates other posters to ruin books for readers as well. Please bn,delete this posters reviews and other plot spoilers posts, ban them from ruining books for readers. It isnt fair to readers who would like to read a book and not have it already spoiled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    This is a bargain?

    This is a bargain?

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    What an enjoyable story!

    Georgie is a cute little heroine. She seems to create as much trouble as she accidentally falls into. And Josephine Winspear keeps on the edge of your seat until the last few chapters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Enjoyed.

    This was a light mystery with some romance. No graphic sex scenes. Good for any age group. Loved the british history. Many twists and turnes. Will be reading the next in series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Was an enjoyable easy read.

    I look forward to reading the next book in the series.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    A Charming Beginning

    I love when I find a new series that hooks me from the beginning. Georgie is a delightful character that I will enjoy getting to know. I will definitely be picking up installment #2 of the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 130 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7