Customer Reviews for

Her Royal Spyness (Royal Spyness Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

well crafted Depression Era mystery

The year is 1932 and Great Britain is in the middle of the Depression which is even affecting the aristocracy. Lady Victoria Georgiana ¿Georgie¿ Charlotte Eugenie is ultra feeling the pinch of poverty while living with her brother Binky the Duke of Rannoch at Rannoch C...
The year is 1932 and Great Britain is in the middle of the Depression which is even affecting the aristocracy. Lady Victoria Georgiana ¿Georgie¿ Charlotte Eugenie is ultra feeling the pinch of poverty while living with her brother Binky the Duke of Rannoch at Rannoch Castle in the wilds of Scotland. When she hears him and her sister-in-law trying to marry her off to Prince Siegfried of Romania, who she believes has the Fish-Face of a cod, she bolts for London. --- She works at Harrods for only a few hours before her own mother gets her fired. While learning to live in a house without any servants Binky comes on a business matter. Gaston de Mauxville has proof that her father gambled Rannoch Castle away to him. When Georgie comes back to Rannoch House after leaving on an errand she finds de Mauxville dead in the bathtub and Binky nowhere to be found. When Scotland Yard arrests him for the murder of de Mauxville Georgie tries to find out who the really killer is because Binky is too wishy-washy to even contemplate murder. A series of accidents any one of which could have killed Georgie has her wondering if someone close to her is the killer --- Rhys Bowen has two successful historical mystery series to her credit and this book starts a fresh one that will succeed as well. It is very different in tone and scope from her other words as she takes reader into the lives of the aristocracy at a time when poverty is beginning to take root. Readers will adore Georgie who finds that life is better when she ignores her thirty something line to the crown so she can live life her way. HER ROYAL SPYNESS is a well crafted Depression Era mystery with an interesting pool of suspects. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed what I could read of it...

I bought this as a nook book and it only came with the first 7 chapters. What happened?

posted by beniciar on January 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Cute Storyline

    I found this book to be a quick read, easy to follow and an enjoyable way to pass time in an airport or at home. The lead character, Georgie, is sweet, easy to like, and a person you want to get to know better. Her immediate family is just eccentric enough to hope Georgie always gets the last word in. And of course her royal relatives seem fairly true to form. Rhys Bowen uses some real people and places, but not quite enough for my tastes. Hopefully they will play a bigger part in her coming novels. I also hope in the next novels in this series Georgie has a little more spunk. All and all I do recommend reading this novel.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    This was a really wonderful, light-hearted mystery. Georgie is a

    This was a really wonderful, light-hearted mystery. Georgie is an endearing, if somewhat silly, heroine, and the mystery was engaging without taxing one's brain cells too much. The historical details lent it a nice feel, and overall, it was a fun, quick, and cheerful read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from missprint.wordpress.com

    Her Royal Spyness (2007) is the first is Rhys Bowen's new Royal Spyness mystery series, as the complete title, Her Royal Spyness Solves Her First Case, suggests. The year is 1932 and, like many others, the Rannoch family is in monetary distress thanks to the stock market crash of 1929. Unlike most people, the Rannoch's problems stem from finding money to maintain a scary, draft castle in the Scottish highlands when the family estate has, for all intents and purposes, run dry.

    Younger sister to the new Duke of Antholt and Rannoch, Lady Victoria Georgiana Charlotte Eugenie (Georgie to most everyone) knows that she is on the cusp of a great change. What Georgie does not expect is to leave her home in Scotland for the hustle and bustle of England to seek her fortunes, which will hopefully amount to more than the non-existent allowance from her family. Thirty-fourth in line to the English thrown on one side, daughter of a stunningly beautiful and unreliable actress on the other, Georgie is ill-equipped for life alone in a big city. She is even less equipped when it comes to finding a job to continue living in said city--Swiss Finishing Schools do not pride themselves on their resume building courses after all.

    With limited options are her disposal, Georgie has no choice but to find a job. As if that isn't complicated enough she also has to spy on the Queen's playboy son to see if he is really involved with an American and deal with a beastly Frenchman who claims he owns the Rannoch family estate. When said Frenchman turns up dead in said family's home, well, things only get worse as Georgie is thrown headfirst into a murder investigation.

    Her Royal Spyness is a fun, light read by a critically-acclaimed mystery writer. Fan's of Bowen's Molly Murpy Mysteries (starting with Murphy's Law) will definitely enjoy this book and realize that the similarities between the series do not stop at their strong-willed heroines. Bowen also once again include a bad-boy Irish love interest in the form of one Darcy O'Meara--a more likable character than Molly's Detective Daniel O'Sullivan if not perhaps as original a character. Fans of historical, humorous mysteries will also enjoy this title.

    That said, the story does often run thin on mystery. The narrative also verges toward the pretentious though, to be fair, that might be a necessary fault when the narrator is practically royalty. (And, on a completely personal level, I found Georgie's best-friend Belinda completely insufferable but that might be me.) In the world of mysteries, Georgie is a relatively young narrator at twenty-two years of age. As a result off-the-case chatter often involves youthful topics like suitors and (excessively) bedroom matters (nothing bawdy though of course). If you want a true mystery this might not be your book, if you want a quick and fun mystery Her Royal Spyness is just the ticket.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Fun read

    Read the abridged version from Readers Digest partners for sight. This story had me from page one. The insigt of a minor royal, not such a royal life. It was not very hard to figure out who the bad guy was here but delightful enough for me to purchase number two in this series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    Great Read for any historical/mystery fans

    Plot a trifle hackneyed, but charming well-drawn characters blended with a detailed historical background makes a delightful 'can't-put-it-down' read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    A Royal Dissapointment!

    This was my first Rhys Bowen novel to read and I was a bit dissapointed. Nice story idea, but action was dull and other characters were not very convincing. Easy book to put down. Will try the second book and see if its any better. I took a chance and read the first of Ms. Bowen's Molly Murphy Series and it was fantastic. Highly recommend "Murphy's Law". Hopefully Georgianna will get a little more personality and spunk and the "Royal Mystery" series will improve.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    Clever

    Delightful little mystery to read. It's clever and entertaining. Can't wait for the next one to be released.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2015

    Fun Read!

    Love anything that involves real historic character. Great Series. Believable Heroine. Now reading the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Get this book

    This is a fun book to read and enjoy. It will keep you guessing to the last page. It is well written and I look forward to reading more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Even thought the mystery part got off to a slow start I wasn't a

    Even thought the mystery part got off to a slow start I wasn't annoyed because the story was so engaging and the Georgie's personality was so spunky. I enjoyed her interactions with the other characters, I liked the setting of 1930s England, and also how the author weaved in historical characters such as Edward VIII and Wallis Simpson. This was the first book I read in the Royal Spyness mysteries but I'm definitely going to check out the others.
    * I received a complimentary copy from the publisher via netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Funny and so a keeper.

    Light cozy mystery. Not great literature but I caught myself laughing at times. If a book makes me laugh it is a keeper. Already bought the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Enjoyed.

    This was a light mystery with some romance. No graphic sex scenes. Good for any age group. Loved the british history. Many twists and turnes. Will be reading the next in series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3