Customer Reviews for

Her Royal Spyness (Royal Spyness Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 128 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

well crafted Depression Era mystery

The year is 1932 and Great Britain is in the middle of the Depression which is even affecting the aristocracy. Lady Victoria Georgiana ¿Georgie¿ Charlotte Eugenie is ultra feeling the pinch of poverty while living with her brother Binky the Duke of Rannoch at Rannoch C...
The year is 1932 and Great Britain is in the middle of the Depression which is even affecting the aristocracy. Lady Victoria Georgiana ¿Georgie¿ Charlotte Eugenie is ultra feeling the pinch of poverty while living with her brother Binky the Duke of Rannoch at Rannoch Castle in the wilds of Scotland. When she hears him and her sister-in-law trying to marry her off to Prince Siegfried of Romania, who she believes has the Fish-Face of a cod, she bolts for London. --- She works at Harrods for only a few hours before her own mother gets her fired. While learning to live in a house without any servants Binky comes on a business matter. Gaston de Mauxville has proof that her father gambled Rannoch Castle away to him. When Georgie comes back to Rannoch House after leaving on an errand she finds de Mauxville dead in the bathtub and Binky nowhere to be found. When Scotland Yard arrests him for the murder of de Mauxville Georgie tries to find out who the really killer is because Binky is too wishy-washy to even contemplate murder. A series of accidents any one of which could have killed Georgie has her wondering if someone close to her is the killer --- Rhys Bowen has two successful historical mystery series to her credit and this book starts a fresh one that will succeed as well. It is very different in tone and scope from her other words as she takes reader into the lives of the aristocracy at a time when poverty is beginning to take root. Readers will adore Georgie who finds that life is better when she ignores her thirty something line to the crown so she can live life her way. HER ROYAL SPYNESS is a well crafted Depression Era mystery with an interesting pool of suspects. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed what I could read of it...

I bought this as a nook book and it only came with the first 7 chapters. What happened?

posted by beniciar on January 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    well crafted Depression Era mystery

    The year is 1932 and Great Britain is in the middle of the Depression which is even affecting the aristocracy. Lady Victoria Georgiana ¿Georgie¿ Charlotte Eugenie is ultra feeling the pinch of poverty while living with her brother Binky the Duke of Rannoch at Rannoch Castle in the wilds of Scotland. When she hears him and her sister-in-law trying to marry her off to Prince Siegfried of Romania, who she believes has the Fish-Face of a cod, she bolts for London. --- She works at Harrods for only a few hours before her own mother gets her fired. While learning to live in a house without any servants Binky comes on a business matter. Gaston de Mauxville has proof that her father gambled Rannoch Castle away to him. When Georgie comes back to Rannoch House after leaving on an errand she finds de Mauxville dead in the bathtub and Binky nowhere to be found. When Scotland Yard arrests him for the murder of de Mauxville Georgie tries to find out who the really killer is because Binky is too wishy-washy to even contemplate murder. A series of accidents any one of which could have killed Georgie has her wondering if someone close to her is the killer --- Rhys Bowen has two successful historical mystery series to her credit and this book starts a fresh one that will succeed as well. It is very different in tone and scope from her other words as she takes reader into the lives of the aristocracy at a time when poverty is beginning to take root. Readers will adore Georgie who finds that life is better when she ignores her thirty something line to the crown so she can live life her way. HER ROYAL SPYNESS is a well crafted Depression Era mystery with an interesting pool of suspects. --- Harriet Klausner

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Her Royal Spyness

    Georgie is a fun, engaging character that not only do you enjoy reading her story but you almost want her to jump off the page and hang out for a day. I rarely ever fall for a character this quickly but Georgie is just so much fun. She has a sense of self that you rarely find in fiction or in real life for that matter. She knows who she is, it's that simple. There is no illusion or pretense to her.


    As far as the story goes, it quick and fun. I managed to read the book in one sitting simply because I didn't want to stop reading it. It had me engaged from the start. Once Georgie arrives in London, she finds herself unemployed with no money and a big old house that she doesn't know how to run. She has no servants to clean or take care of her so she ends up boiling water and giving herself sponge baths to clean up and eats as little as she can get away with.


    The rest of the books is a fast paced whirlwind. She meets Mr. Darcy O'Mara, a penniless Irish Peer who she can't help but be attracted to even when she thinks he may be the bad guy and runs into her old school friend Belinda Warburton-Stoke, a budding fashion designer who is living way beyond her means. Both of these characters are well written and you find yourself wishing they could join Georgie in jumping out of the story. They and the other supporting characters add to the book. There is not badly written or un-needed character which is a refreshing change.


    The mystery itself, the whole point of the book, is cleverly done and well mapped out. After finding the dead man in her bathtub, Georgie does what she can to protect her brother, who has come under suspicion, and find the real murderer. After several near death experiences, including a near drowning, a fall down the stairs, and a falling statue; Georgie uses her brain and quite a bit of luck to solve the case.


    Now this is were my real only problem with the mystery aspect of it appears. I figured out who the killer was way, way before Georgie did. Normally, this would ruin the story for me as I like a book that surprises me by the killer's identity but I will forgive this book and this author for that. The villain is so much fun and whiny at the end that you can't help but get a chuckle out of it.


    The is a light, quick read that is so well done that I almost wished there was more to it. I didn't want to the book to stop and I'm really looking forward to the rest of the books in the series.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Historical Mystery

    This was one of the most fantastic historical mysteries that I have read in a while. I honestly could not put it down. The main character, Georgie, is an extremely likable heroine. I liked the author's decision to write in the first person, which made each scene very vivid and intriguing. I got to see the inner workings of her mind, as she searched to unravel the mystery. I would highly recommend this book, and I can hardly wait to start book #2, A Royal Pain.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    JUST AMAZING

    I can't even describe how amazing these books are. I end up reading them in a day or two because i can't put them down... i just wished Bowen came out with the new books FASTER!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    Enjoyed this fun spoof of intigue and the British noble ckass

    I had quite a few laughs in this book. The author did a delightful job of showing higher class vs. Lower class lifestyles and why never the twain shooukd meet. Read this, it is an hilarious spoof and fun read. Bright heroine and courageous too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Love this book

    Great characters and a lot of fun to read! This book contains a nice touch of social history as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    I truly enjoyed this read. I was absolutely hooked I was after t

    I truly enjoyed this read. I was absolutely hooked I was after the first page. That is rare these days. A clever author. I am eager to read more. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    To austin

    Wanna chat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Austin

    Yeah:( why did u tell himbu had to go and ure still on?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Brook

    Its ok so will you go out with me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Jake

    Sorry bout me and stacy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Love these books!

    Takes you to a different world. Thank you Rhys Bowen...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    Great

    If you love period pieces and mysteries, you will love this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    A fun read!

    A fun read with a bit of romance and mystery combined with a whole lot of comedy! It's a great book for relaxing and escaping to another tome and place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Loved this book!

    From the first paragraph, I fell in love with this book. It is a great cozy mystery, with what seem to be some real insights into how the life of a minor royal might work. I also liked the clever tributes to Dorothy Sayers' Lord Peter Whimsey.

    Grab this book and curl up with a cup of tea (definitely not coffee!) and some scones!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Daddybaby@yhaoo.com

    Friend me im cute im funny i got swagg and i need a nook friend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Blah

    Blah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Sunshine-carson@yahoo.com

    Name sunshine emily carson
    Age 10
    Long brown hair
    Live in conneticut
    Friend me

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    What an enjoyable story!

    Georgie is a cute little heroine. She seems to create as much trouble as she accidentally falls into. And Josephine Winspear keeps on the edge of your seat until the last few chapters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3