BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Her Scottish Groom

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    I wasn't impressed by this book. I thought it had great potenti

    I wasn't impressed by this book. I thought it had great potential but it just never made it there. I enjoyed it only half the time and I only finished half the book. I tought I might come back to it when I put it down that first night but now that Im looking at it again, I really don't want to. The main female character had no real debth, very immature, and just down right childish. I hated that all the dialog was the main two characters arguing or fighting, afterwards whenever they would make up or when they actually had civilized conversation it was always just described as happening but you don't actually read those conversations. There was nothing that draws you in to the story or the characters. As of right now I'm not going to be picking up the book again, and normally when that happens I never do again. Who knows tho.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    An absolute fun read.. Yes, he's a womanizer who just doesn't ge

    An absolute fun read.. Yes, he's a womanizer who just doesn't get it but she's no wimp.  When he finally figures it all out, it's magic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Good Read

    This book was very good, I didn't think I would like it, but enjoyed it very much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    THIS BOOK WOULD BE AN EXCELLENT MOVIE!!!!!!

    This book was so good you could just feel the emotions of the main characters!!!! I was so mad when Kieran outwardly flirted and openly escorted women about!!! But Diantha gave him a dose of his own!!!! Excellent read!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    The horror fan stayed up all night reading this one!

    I am not normally a romance reader. In fact, you'll usually find me curled up with a great Joe Hill book, or something equally squirm-inducing, but Ann Stephen's "Her Scottish Groom," hooked me. I ended up staying up all night until I finished this one. I can't think of any higher praise. Clean, crisp writing and a compelling story line combined with characters who I rooted for, cheered on, and loved to hate. PS. That cover is oh-so hot, and fits the characters perfectly!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    You must check it out!

    Check this book out if you like romances with a good story and well crafted romantic scenes. The characters develop into their own full bodied personaltiies in this good read. No fluff here!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Marriage of Romance, Heart, and Humor!

    Dear Readers:

    Diantha Quinn is beyond annoyed, angry, and seriously sick of her parents. It is 1875 in the fantastically rich world of New York City, yet Diantha is trapped in her bedroom with a guard posted outside her door so that she can't flee the house in the middle of the night and embarrass her wealthy merchant father. On his orders, Diantha is to be married off to a somewhat complete stranger so that her father can enter the inner circle of New York City society by adding a Lord to their family tree. His name is Kieran Rossburn and he's a "peer of the realm" - a Scottish Lord whose very presence will allow the Quinn family invitations to the coveted world of the Astor family.

    Kieran feels very much the same as Diantha. He has no desire to marry her, but the deal he's struck with her rich father will allow him the ability to keep his estate and feed his people back in Scotland. Although he's met Diantha a few times, he has no feeling for the young woman who keeps her head down and her mouth shut - barely revealing any interesting characteristics about herself. Until.

    The night before the wedding Diantha sneaks downstairs to her father's study and begins to drink his brandy. She's never had a drop of alcohol before, but being as that she has to stand in a wedding dress tomorrow and give her life to someone she truly can't stand, the warm brandy feels really good going down. Although sheltered, Diantha is absolutely passionate about life. Her one true love is architecture, and she wants more than anything to be free to live a life filled with humor, fun, and true love.

    When Kieran walks into the den and starts listening to the inebriated girl who's about to become his wife, his opinion begins to change about the once quiet, boring female. Slowly, as they walk through life together and are met with some truly hideous issues, Kieran and Diantha become a team, facing each and every 'cross to bear' head-on. Kieran soon finds that mistresses are unnecessary to him now that he has a wife with a fiery temper and an inquisitive nature for everything.including the marriage bed. Although their temperaments clash and jealousy ensues, the relationship between man and wife becomes stronger and stronger as they work to save each other.

    The romance is lovely and, although the story is a bit slow at times and the plot a bit weak, the characters are fun and the reader will truly want the outcome to be just as it is. Enjoy!

    Until Next Time,
    Amy Lignor, Reviewer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    AN ENGAGING SCOTTISH HISTORICAL ROMANCE! A MUST READ! HER SCOTTISH GROOM BY ANN STEPHENS

    HER SCOTTISH GROOM by Ann Stephens is an Scottish historical romance set in 1875 America and Scotland. It is well written with depth,details,twists and turns. It has romance,love, passion,sweet sensuality,secrets,betrayal, marriage of convenience, family issues,family struggles, truths will be revealed,seduction,perseverance,finding true love and happiness. The storyline is deep,believable,with honest feelings toward the hero and heroine,and makes a fascinating romantic tale of love,honor and happiness. The characters are engaging,enchanting,with a hero,Kieran, who is a proud Scottish lord with little to no money to keep his estate and tenants going. He is handsome,sexy,and about to marry for convenience.The heroine, Diantha, has domineering parents,who are cruel,her brothers are just as cruel,locked away until she consents to do their bidding.Which is to marry Kieran.Her father,has no title,but is a wealthy sea merchant who wants to climb society ladder.Together,Kieran and Diantha embark on their married life with the intent not to fall in love,but as fate would have it not will not happen.After,Kieran has a few mishaps,a secret will be revealed and their lives is threatened.Kieran and Diantha soon learn that love can find you in strange places.This is an engaging historical romance full of adventure,and love.I you highly recommend this book to all you love historical,romance,a bit of mystery, finding happiness,family and love. More details can be found at Zebra Books,published by Kensington Publishing Corp. and My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a refreshing Victorian romance

    Scottish Laird Kieran Rossburn understands that his crofters rely on him to earn a living. However, he does not have the money to keep his dependents living a reasonable lifestyle. To do this Kieran needs to marry money.

    He wants an obedient affluent mouse as a spouse. As such, he selects visiting American Diantha Quinn, daughter of a crude, rude wealthy shipping magnate because she seems extremely docile having been raised by authoritative parents who kept her under their thumbs. She proves anything but timid as she offers him a marriage in name only. Kieran seduces his bride as they fall in love but family issues interfere with their relationship.

    Her Scottish groom is a refreshing Victorian romance that deploys the overly used especially in this time period marriage of convenience. Readers get deeply inside the heads of the lead couple as each has mountainous doubts that at times supersede their needs for this marriage. Although the internal musings are fascinating, they also turn the pace passive as action is limited. Fans, who enjoy a reflective historical drama, will relish Ann Stephens' character-driven late nineteenth century tale.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3