Customer Reviews for

Her Sudden Groom

Average Rating 4
( 151 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

The Bride Experiment

If you enjoy your books in series and want the whole picture you will want to read the first three books in the Scandalous Sisters Series by Rose. You will meet Alex and Olivia in those books and understand better who they are and what they are like. Book 1: Her Sudden ...
If you enjoy your books in series and want the whole picture you will want to read the first three books in the Scandalous Sisters Series by Rose. You will meet Alex and Olivia in those books and understand better who they are and what they are like. Book 1: Her Sudden Groom by Rose Gordon Groom Series Edward Banks, now on his death bed, tell his eldest son Alex, about a betrothal agreement he made with his best friend when his daughter was born on the same day as Alex eight years later, Lady Olivia Sinclair. Later on they added a statement saying that if either of them married before his 30th birthday, the agreement would be null and void. Alex has thirty days to find a bride, Alex who is brilliant when it comes to science but not so much when it comes to woman. He does know he could never tolerate life with Olivia, if it were bad enough that she unattractive, dressed poorly and smelled bad but her disposition was even worse! Marcus Sinclair agrees that if Alex can find a bride within thirty days he won't hold him to marrying Olivia, after all Marcus likes Alex. Marcus suggests that Alex treats finding a bride as an experiment. When Caroline Sinclair overhears that word she wants to join in and help with what she thinks is a scientific experiment, she missed the first part of the conversation. Alex finds her lovely and distracting but as smart as he is it takes Marcus to point out how perfect they would match up. Caroline was adopted by her Uncle's family when she was seven. Her mother was dead and her father a addict. She had to put up with her cruel cousin Olivia all these years. Caroline was jealous of her cousin who would marry the handsome man. It was Caroline who was getting to spend time with him though. She was busy writing up notes for experiments, playing lawn games and spending time with him. And finding out it was true, Alex seemed to only be able to converse about science. This book continues where the Scandalous Sisters left off. Alex Banks is their cousin who we meet in the other books. He is always being scientific. We get to see our old friends from the first three books and meet some new ones as well who will be in the next books. The earlier books will prepare you for Olivia as well, she is quite irritating! **Sexual situations within marriage.

posted by JutzieDV on December 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

unlikeable characters and that's the besr i can say

The writing was ameteurish and the story was dull. I skimmed through many passages hoping to get to something interesting. It was a struggle to finish and I have no interest in reading anything else by this author.

posted by andy11 on September 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted December 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Bride Experiment

    If you enjoy your books in series and want the whole picture you will want to read the first three books in the Scandalous Sisters Series by Rose. You will meet Alex and Olivia in those books and understand better who they are and what they are like. Book 1: Her Sudden Groom by Rose Gordon Groom Series Edward Banks, now on his death bed, tell his eldest son Alex, about a betrothal agreement he made with his best friend when his daughter was born on the same day as Alex eight years later, Lady Olivia Sinclair. Later on they added a statement saying that if either of them married before his 30th birthday, the agreement would be null and void. Alex has thirty days to find a bride, Alex who is brilliant when it comes to science but not so much when it comes to woman. He does know he could never tolerate life with Olivia, if it were bad enough that she unattractive, dressed poorly and smelled bad but her disposition was even worse! Marcus Sinclair agrees that if Alex can find a bride within thirty days he won't hold him to marrying Olivia, after all Marcus likes Alex. Marcus suggests that Alex treats finding a bride as an experiment. When Caroline Sinclair overhears that word she wants to join in and help with what she thinks is a scientific experiment, she missed the first part of the conversation. Alex finds her lovely and distracting but as smart as he is it takes Marcus to point out how perfect they would match up. Caroline was adopted by her Uncle's family when she was seven. Her mother was dead and her father a addict. She had to put up with her cruel cousin Olivia all these years. Caroline was jealous of her cousin who would marry the handsome man. It was Caroline who was getting to spend time with him though. She was busy writing up notes for experiments, playing lawn games and spending time with him. And finding out it was true, Alex seemed to only be able to converse about science. This book continues where the Scandalous Sisters left off. Alex Banks is their cousin who we meet in the other books. He is always being scientific. We get to see our old friends from the first three books and meet some new ones as well who will be in the next books. The earlier books will prepare you for Olivia as well, she is quite irritating! **Sexual situations within marriage.

    24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Loved the book

    This is a series that started back with the bride series and I have loved every book so far. I like that in every one of series she draws you into the newest character introduced so that when you finish the current book you want to read the next book to find out how that character that was introduced in the book you are reading turns out. Very smart writing on her part, which of course has kept me interested enough to keep buying her books considering the first one was a free book!
    PS: Although it has been a few days since I have read this book (I usually try and review sooner) I can't remember how many pages it was. I believe in the 300 range. I always like to let the next person know how long the book is because I hate reading short books as I am rather a fast reader.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    Perfect Weekend Read!

    "Her Sudden Groom" is one of the best I've read in a long time. Once I started, I couldn't set it down! It is a great combination of romance and mystery. Rose Gordon has become one of my favorite authors and I am looking forward to reading all of her books in the very near future!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Great book

    I loved this book and have now bought every book available do Wish I had known to read sister series first but it was great on its. own can't wait to read more about this family

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Sweet!

    I really enjoyed Rose Gordon's Sisters Series and was looking foward to the Groom's collection. I happy to say I loved it!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Great Historical Read

    Loved this book! Just enough description, great writing, very sexy in parts. The heroine made you want to be her!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    ;0)

    3.5 star

    BRIEF SUMMARY
    Alex loves science as he eats and breaths it. So, when his father informs him he is and has been betrothal to Lady Olivia since birth, he is not too happy. Lady Olivia is known for temper and Alex is not looking forward to being married to her. He is to be married in a matter of weeks, however, Alex¿s father also informs him that there is a loophole that might not let him married Lady Olivia, and that loophole could be Caroline, Lady Olivia¿s cousin.

    THOUGHTS

    I found this to be an interesting reading. I love what the basis of the story was. Also, the moment the story started it went right to what the plot was about, Alex finding out that he is betrothal to Lady Olivia. Alex¿s character definitely seemed awkward at times as his love for science is shown but also lovable. Caroline has been comfortable in her role in the Sinclair household. She also has a love for science and never forgot the day four years ago when Alex turn her away from his Society club. Now that it was pointed out that Alex¿s problems could be solved with marriage to Caroline, he needs to fall in her good grace. As I found the story to my liking, a few scenes dipped in and out for me when it came to holding my interest.
    Storyline: FAIR
    Enjoyment: FAIR to GOOD

    Romance Novel Junkies

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Just ok

    Not great. Alex is too dull. Caroline too forgiving to everyone. Their romance did nothing for me. Hopefully the next book will be better.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    unlikeable characters and that's the besr i can say

    The writing was ameteurish and the story was dull. I skimmed through many passages hoping to get to something interesting. It was a struggle to finish and I have no interest in reading anything else by this author.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Bless You

    Thank you so much for the donation. It will help so many people. I haven't read the book yet. The donation is why I bought the book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Refreshing read

    Finally a romance more than skin deep. There was actually substance to the characters and the story. I fully recommend this refreshing read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Romantic and sigh worthy.

    I bought this book after it was recommended on a blog I read. I'm so glad I did! Romantic and sweet. I wanted Alex for my very own. I can't wait to read Marcus' story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    Delightful and Entertaining

    I loved this book. I loved the humorous and off-beat characters. It was a free book, but I enjoyed it so much I bought all off Rose Gordon's Nook books! I hope you enjoy them as well!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    worth it

    this book was well written and has a good plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Heartwarming

    Loved every page, enjoyable read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Sweet story

    I read it in a few hours, im lookong forward to read the next book in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Wonderful read

    This is the first book I've read by this author, but it definitely won't be my last! It was interesting from page 1 and I couldn't put it down. Can't wait to start the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Sweet and fun.

    This was fun read. The hero in this story is not your typical hero, which made it fun. This book had me laughing outloud one moment and shedding tears a while later.
    I highly recommend reading The Scandalous Sisters series before this one so you can get to know some of the characters better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Great Book

    This was a great book. It was a quick read, and the characters were engaging.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Fantastic

    This was a great balance of great characters, a little steam and a lot of love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 151 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8