Customer Reviews for

Her Vampire Husband

Average Rating 4
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

If you have it... Rock it!

The main character Blu gives new meaning to the term punk princess! A kick butt attitude, a bad girl persona, and a secret to tell all make Blu Masterson an engaging character, wrap that in the trial of being a Werewolf princess and the poor girl deserves to find her pr...
The main character Blu gives new meaning to the term punk princess! A kick butt attitude, a bad girl persona, and a secret to tell all make Blu Masterson an engaging character, wrap that in the trial of being a Werewolf princess and the poor girl deserves to find her prince charming . In this tale of an arranged marriage to promote peace between the warring Vampire tribes and Werewolf packs you have Blu (a Werewolf) and Creed (a Vampire). They meet for the first time at their own wedding and much intrigue and plotting later they actually, to their own surprise, fall in love. This plot will pull you in and make you read until the end. Some parts were a little slow going, but the wait was well worth it. Magic, feuds, love, politics, and the things that go bump in the night. all mix to create an interesting new world for readers of the paranormal romance genre. The only problem I had with the book was the lack of background information on some points. For example, at one point the Devil shows up to thwart the efforts of the characters as they try to save the day. The author (due to either a lack of attention on my part somewhere along the way, or a genuine over site on the authors part) didn't actually explain why the Devil had any reason to show up to the shindig. Perhaps I've missed a previous book in this series? It kind of gave me the impression that in this world the Devil was supposed to have created the supernatural beings. I promptly ignored that feeling and moved on with reading since old Scratch only made a quick and not really focused on appearance. Dont let that concept take away from your interest. All that aside, I recommend this book.

posted by Pagan on April 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Vampire-Werewolf fixed marriage

Her Vampire Husband has a promosing start. Starts off with an arranged marriage between a Vampire and a Werewolf Princess just so they can prove to the Union that these two nations can actually get along after centuries of violence with one another. Blue Masterson, our ...
Her Vampire Husband has a promosing start. Starts off with an arranged marriage between a Vampire and a Werewolf Princess just so they can prove to the Union that these two nations can actually get along after centuries of violence with one another. Blue Masterson, our Princess Werewolf have spunk and a smart mouth to complete the ensemble. She sported a green wig on her wedding night and the thme of her wedding is black, way to express the mood huh? Our resident Vamp is named Creed Saint-Pierre, 900++ year old vampire with magics stolen from witches. Good looking and extremely proper. Despite the obvious difference of nations, these two actually got along pretty good. They almost immediately called out a Truce and fell in love. Blu and Creed found out that the peace talks and their marriage are just a decoy for both parties while they plan the attack on each other. Upon knowing this Blu and Creed against the world happened.

I had issues with Creed at the beginning, the way he talks, so proper, so old school, so 19th century. I find it hard to conjure a mental image of how he looks like. He is described as this hot 30 year old looking vampire but every time I read his dialogue I keep picturing an old man plus he keeps saying that he's old. But not to worry that did not stay as an issue. Blu on the other hand lacks finesse, her slang and modern language is just too cackling and those outfits. Togehter, they are so damn entertaining. As far as taking care of the problem, I don't like most of the decisions they did. But it all worked out for the best so my complaint stops right there. LOL

Blu's father is a horrible man / animal. All the lies and situations that he put Blu on was just despicable, and that's what I like about this story, it shows that traumatizing part on our heroine, it makes her vulnerable sure but it also made sense on why she's the way she is. I also like how Hauf played the Vampire - Werewolf marriage, it was quite unconventional. The knowledge that they posses about each others race was all based on rumor until they get to live in together. And the love scene, that was intense the first time Blu spent the full moon with Creed. A bit creepy but totally appropriate for the whole plot. I am a first time Michele Hauf reader and I must say I like her style.

posted by peaceloveandpat on February 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you have it... Rock it!

    The main character Blu gives new meaning to the term punk princess! A kick butt attitude, a bad girl persona, and a secret to tell all make Blu Masterson an engaging character, wrap that in the trial of being a Werewolf princess and the poor girl deserves to find her prince charming . In this tale of an arranged marriage to promote peace between the warring Vampire tribes and Werewolf packs you have Blu (a Werewolf) and Creed (a Vampire). They meet for the first time at their own wedding and much intrigue and plotting later they actually, to their own surprise, fall in love. This plot will pull you in and make you read until the end. Some parts were a little slow going, but the wait was well worth it. Magic, feuds, love, politics, and the things that go bump in the night. all mix to create an interesting new world for readers of the paranormal romance genre. The only problem I had with the book was the lack of background information on some points. For example, at one point the Devil shows up to thwart the efforts of the characters as they try to save the day. The author (due to either a lack of attention on my part somewhere along the way, or a genuine over site on the authors part) didn't actually explain why the Devil had any reason to show up to the shindig. Perhaps I've missed a previous book in this series? It kind of gave me the impression that in this world the Devil was supposed to have created the supernatural beings. I promptly ignored that feeling and moved on with reading since old Scratch only made a quick and not really focused on appearance. Dont let that concept take away from your interest. All that aside, I recommend this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    I had been searching and searching for this book in all my local

    I had been searching and searching for this book in all my local bookstores because I read an excerpt at the end of seducing the vampire and it sounded like a great read but hadn't been able to find it so I tried abebooks but even when i purchased it from there i had trouble so i ended up giving up. Then BAM out of nowhere i found it while randomly looking. After all that searching I was so excited but felt a little bummed once I finished it.
    Don't let the 3 stars fool you I did like it I like I had just hoped for abit more considering the trouble i went to to get my hot little hands on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Loved it! Great book.

    Really liked Blu and how strong she was until she met her match.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Had potential

    I was excited for this. The first few pages made the characters seem interested and the plot promising. unfortunately the characters are never developed and the plot takes several ridiculously predictable and naive turns.I had to put the book down more than once in disappointment. I'm usually very pleased with even mediocre writing but the characters and the situations they get into are to sad to be funny and to predictable to entertain. Don't waste your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Okay Read!

    An arranged marriage between a werewolf and a vampire. There will be blood. She may resist his bite, but she can't resist his charms... Werewolf princess Blu Masterson won't allow her seductive vampire husband to consummate their marriage with his bite, marking her forever. Alone in a secluded estate with her sworn enemy, Blu curses the marriage arranged to bring their rival nations together, especially since Creed Saint-Pierre calls out to her most feral desires. When Blu uncovers her pack's secret plot to destroy the vampire nation—and Creed—she is forced to confront her growing feelings for her sexy undead husband. Will she choose the only life she's ever known or accept his vampire bite?

    In hopes of creating a peace pact between two enemy nations, a wedding is arranged for Blu, an eccentric princess werewolf who has a passion for colorful wigs, and Creed, a 900 year old French vampire who cannot say no to a challenge. Neither is fully willing to jump into a "farce" marriage, but eventually they both begin to forget their past prejudices and learn that their playful bickering has somehow developed into a friendship/trust/love that is their own. Yet, just because their feelings have changed doesn't mean their own nations will.

    This was my first time reading Michele Hauf and, honestly, I'm not familiar with any of her past works either. I did enjoy her development of the characters and how she gave Blu & Creed time to get over their reluctance and work on their relationship as a newly married couple before throwing in too many side tangents. I was worried starting this book (as the third of a series) that I may have been a bit behind or lost, but I was 'good to go' the whole read through, so it's a great stand alone tale. I'm now tempted to check out Creed's Michelob beer drinking vampire friend Alexandre Renard's story next - Vampire's Tango.

    Likes: The food references from Chili Chocolate to Count Chocula.

    Dislikes: Blu's ditsy attitude at the beginning and that there didn't seem to be too many decent & respectful werewolves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    A Great Read

    This is a great read for vampire and werewolf lovers alike. This book is sort of a twist on "Romeo and Juliet". Can a weding between two rival clans really prevent a ssupernatural war? You will just have to read this book to find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Great read for a boring day!

    Read this book to pass the time and i wasn't disappointed !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Great story entertaing and fun

    Loved this book i have always loved oppisaite attract stories ad the vampire/ werewolf thing and its even more fun

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Not as good as it sounds

    I have read many paranormal books, and this one doesnt measure up to any of them. Save your money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    What the Hey!

    The book was as always from Michele Hauf, excellent. But either take the leap and just buy the book or cower in the corner and wait for a freebie, because the sample was worthless. Only got 7 pages that did not give me any story to sample. But hey I fell in love with MH's style of writting from Nicholas Drake's story. Now I find myself seeking out all her borderline truths....read them and see. Mitzie B. Williams

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    AWSOME!!!!!

    TOTALLY LOVE THIS LOVE STORY ITS ONE OF THE BEST VAMPIRE LOVE STORIES IV READ YET AND I HAVE READ A LOT I TOTALLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Totally awesome

    It was cool in the beginning,funny in the middle,and thrilling in the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "Her Vampire Husband" by Michelle Hauf

    I cannot say that I am the fastest reader, but I do love to sit and enjoy a good paranormal romance book. Michelle Hauf's book, "Her Vampire Husband" was exactly that.

    In this story, Vampires have tribes and Werewolves, packs. Each is bloodthirsty and has had centuries to wage war against the other. Both nations have laid claim to numerous losses between them. In an attempt to bring peace between the rival nations, a Council comprised of both Vampires and Werewolves agree to an arranged marriage between Blu Masterson, Princess of the Werewolf nation and Creed Saint-Pierre, elder of the Vampire nation.

    Peace is the overtone to this marriage but as you read through you find that nobody believes this marriage will bring peace at all. Blu insists that she will never allow her new husband the opportunity to mark her with his bite. Creed insists he could never love a werewolf, but would keep up appearance for the sake of peace. As the story unfolds, both Creed and Blu fall in love with each other and find they do not understand why there was so much hatred between them. With their new found love for each other, they work together to bring peace to their nations. This was not an easy task.

    Overall, I found this to be a fascinating story. I must admit that at first I had my doubts about the storyline. However, it completely maintained its "page-turner" status with me. I looked forward to returning to it each night to find out what would or could happen next.

    Michele Hauf develops her characters very well, which makes them easy to fall in love with. I found myself completely enamored with both Blu and Creed as they fell head over heels in love with each other. I love books that grab your emotions and pull you in. This story is has its dark undertones and is deliciously sexy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Huge Letdown

    I really shouldn't have had such high hopes for this novel. I mean the entire premise of the book is about a werewolf princess who marries and elder vampire in hopes that their people would stop killing each other. Really? An entire novel about that? Honey, that is the subplot in half of the other paranormal romance novels I read. What makes you think you can write an entire novel about it and expect it to impress anyone.

    First off, there is nothing more annoying than a female protagonists who hides her problems behind a mask of fake strength and apathy. Seriously, they are only hurting themself, making a relationship with any good man impossible, and just annoying the hell out of me. How about they go take care of their problem? No one ever thinks of that solution? Really writers, you need to stop with these type of characters.

    I thought that because they were enemies and of different races would actually make this book interesting. How wrong I was. The main couple lacked chemistry even during their playful bantering and when they were checking each other out. I felt that they were just two people forced to live with each (which they essentially are) instead of two people thrown together who eventually fall in love. Actually, it was one of those novels where, all of sudden, the two love each other.

    Oh disappointment, how you leave a bitter taste in my mouth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    not my cup of tea....

    i bought this book because of the genre and was incredibly disappointed. I found the heroine to a whiny brat and had to force myself to finish this book. Luckily this book was lent to me, so i was spared having to pay for this crap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read!

    I cannot say that I am the fastest reader of book reviewers, but I do love to sit and enjoy a good paranormal romance book. Michelle Hauf's book, "Her Vampire Husband" was exactly that. In this story, Vampires have tribes and Werewolves, packs. Each is bloodthirsty and has had centuries to wage war against the other. Both nations have laid claim to numerous losses between them. In an attempt to bring peace between the rival nations, a Council comprised of both Vampires and Werewolves agree to an arranged marriage between Blu Masterson, Princess of the Werewolf nation and Creed Saint-Pierre, elder of the Vampire nation. Peace is the overtone to this marriage but as you read through you find that nobody believes this marriage will bring peace at all. Blu insists that she will never allow her new husband the opportunity to mark her with his bite. Creed insists he could never love a werewolf, but would keep up appearance for the sake of peace. As the story unfolds, both Creed and Blu fall in love with each other and find they do not understand why there was so much hatred between them. With their new found love for each other, they work together to bring peace to their nations. This was not an easy task. Overall, I found this to be a fascinating story. I must admit that at first I had my doubts about the storyline. However, it completely maintained its "page-turner" status with me. I looked forward to returning to it each night to find out what would or could happen next. Michele Hauf develops her characters very well, which makes them easy to fall in love with. I found myself completely enamored with both Blu and Creed as they fell head over heels in love with each other. I love books that grab your emotions and pull you in. This story is has its dark undertones and is deliciously sexy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2010

    Not with the money

    Terrible writing style. Characters unremarkable and stock in trade for this genre. So disgusted with "love scenes" which were nothing but graphic descriptions of body parts. No finnese in this book. Last one of this genre I'll read. Two bad in a row and several others of similar writing style skirt the line at soft porn. No more of this type in my library. Don't waste your money or time if you are above reading in the gutter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good weekend read!

    This was the first book I read on my nook. Not one of my typical book purchases but glad I did. Really pulled me in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome!

    I LOVED this book! The characters are great, especially Creed and Blu. I really liked the balance of romance, comedy and action as well. I read this entire book in one sitting, i just couldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Really Good Read....

    I recently bought this book and enjoyed reading it... It's one that will stay in my library... Although I wish they had of showed their feelings ealier in the book and on through it ... it's still a good one. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8