Customer Reviews for

Hercule Poirot's Christmas: A BBC Full-Cast Radio Drama

Average Rating 4.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding Book - a must read!

I LOVED this book! I couldn't put it down... it's one of those books that makes you WANT to figure it out, and you'll LOVE the ending... shhh. It's a secret, and I can't tell you anything else or the book wouldn't be as FUN! You'll adore Hercule Poirot for his strategy ...
I LOVED this book! I couldn't put it down... it's one of those books that makes you WANT to figure it out, and you'll LOVE the ending... shhh. It's a secret, and I can't tell you anything else or the book wouldn't be as FUN! You'll adore Hercule Poirot for his strategy and thinking style. The beginning is at first DIFFERENT, but it all ties in! A TERRIFIC BOOK! Good job, Miss Christie!

posted by Anonymous on January 30, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fair

I purchased this becasue I wanted a Christmas story. Although a good Poirot mystery, it could have been set at the beach in August!

posted by 9660262 on January 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2000

    Outstanding Book - a must read!

    I LOVED this book! I couldn't put it down... it's one of those books that makes you WANT to figure it out, and you'll LOVE the ending... shhh. It's a secret, and I can't tell you anything else or the book wouldn't be as FUN! You'll adore Hercule Poirot for his strategy and thinking style. The beginning is at first DIFFERENT, but it all ties in! A TERRIFIC BOOK! Good job, Miss Christie!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    excellent!!!

    agatha strikes gold again

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    A Fine Example of Agatha Christie's Work

    This book is classic Agatha Christie. The characters are detailed and natural, the family is relatively dysfunctional, and the reveal is shocking and entertaining. There are the expected clues, the kind that most only see in retrospect. This book plays on the theme of Christmas being a time for family, and family murder, brilliantly. All in all, this is a believable and gripping story. My only complaint is spoiler-related, and doesn't take anything from the story, instead only making it more realistic. I fully recommend this book for anyone who enjoys Agatha Christie.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    This is a classy "who-done-it" by the master, Agatha Christie.

    <HTML><FONT SIZE=2 PTSIZE=10 FAMILY="SANSSERIF" FACE="Arial" LANG="0">This is a classy "who-done-it" by the master, Agatha Christie. Well written, to say the least, I can enthusiastically recommend this fine book. The ending is a whopper of a surprise, for me at least. There are perhaps a bit too many characters to keep track of, but it didn't deter from the enjoyment of the book. Go get it!<BR>
    <BR>
    This reviewer is 80 years old, which may help you in evaluating my review.</FONT></HTML>

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2012

    A closed room murder, a family gathering at Christmas, and Poiro

    A closed room murder, a family gathering at Christmas, and Poirot's little gray cells at work, what more is needed for a good Christmas mystery!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    Hercule Poirot's Christmas

    Christie is at her best keeping the reader guessing as to who done it! It always manages to be the least likely. A good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2000

    too good to miss !

    i absolutely loved this book.it is one of my ever favourites.a heart thumping, brain racing, extra+extrordinary novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2000

    H.P.'s Christmas

    Poirot must have had a great hoilday. Pure genius

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2013

    Must Read for Mystery Fans

    I have yet to read an Agatha Christie book that I don't really like. Agatha Christie has a way of taking you into the minds and psyche of her characters without giving us full reign. You also get a look at English culture. Her detectives are fabulous observers and clever in winkling information out of suspects without them realizing what they are doing. In this book, Hercule Poirot is the detective and he finds himself helping solve the murder of Mr. Simeon Lee. He finds two people pretending to be someone they are not (how Shakespearean) and two of Mr. Lee's offspring from the "other side of the blanket." Plus he solves the crime. The Belgian detective is highly intuitive and most he meets find him peculiar. Not I. He's sharp. If you like mystery and haven't tried Agatha Christie yet, you really should. She is the cream of the crop. The inspiration to many of today's mystery novelists. Heck, there is a writing award named after her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    To Kate T from Anna K ?

    As you would say, "HA-RUMPH!" (However u spell that!) You did indeed beat me. And, this book does sound good but i still need a little break on Agatha Christie books 'cuz i'm obsessed and after reading like a gazillion of them in a row, they all began to sound alike to me! But, when i start up again i think i'll read this one! :) -Anna K. PS.reply @ artemis fowl result 1! Code is #

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Fair

    I purchased this becasue I wanted a Christmas story. Although a good Poirot mystery, it could have been set at the beach in August!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    xmas

    Not great, the movies are better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Huh

    That 80 year old is way to young i dont even think hes 80 hes more 70 ( dog years)

    This reviewer is stanley the dog i live in pasadina and have my own blog

    DONT HAVE TO BE HERCULE POIROT TO KNOW WHO I AM
    IF YOU DONT HERES A HINT DDDDDDDDOOOOOOOOOOOOOGGGGGGGGGGGG WWWWWWWWWWWIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIITTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA BBBBBBBBBBBBBBBLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLOOOOOOOOOOOGGGGGGGGGGG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!?!!!!????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!&!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!+!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!+(!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)(!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)+?"!!!???"!?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    One of Agatha Christie's best books. The clues are there but on

    One of Agatha Christie's best books. The clues are there but only in hindsight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    I am a big fan of Agatha Christie and Hercule Poirot.
    So I only have good and positive praise for the mysteries
    which include Mr. Poirot. The only disappointing thing is that it was
    rather short. I like reading long stories and prolonging the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Really enjoyed.

    Very entertaining mystery. Easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Defintely recommend

    If you are an Agatha Christie fan, you will enjoy this one. Always fun to read her books. Lots of turns and twists, as usual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Slightly Different Christie

    The style is not typical Christie, but it's a good story and well written. I made the mistake of watching the Masterpiece Mystery version on Netflix while reading the book so I already knew "who dunnit" but it was still worth it to continue reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    excellent

    I enjoy Hercule Poirit"s mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Always clever.

    Christmas just wouldn't be Christmas without a little family drama... and murder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6