Customer Reviews for

Here (On the Otherside #1)

Average Rating 4
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Here

I have noticed that lately dystopian books are spreading like wildfire in the young adult world, but this book is entirely different from any of those books. Not only does it have a unique and fast moving plot, it also has some of the best characters I have ever had the...
I have noticed that lately dystopian books are spreading like wildfire in the young adult world, but this book is entirely different from any of those books. Not only does it have a unique and fast moving plot, it also has some of the best characters I have ever had the pleasure of reading before- Julia, Reese, and Evan (I challenge you to pick between Reese and Evan, I personally believe it is impossible). It saddens me that Denise has not received the recognition that she deserves- this book is one of the best that I have read this year- much better than any traditionally published book. You can not go wrong in buying this book and reading it. I look forward to book 2 of this series

posted by MeganShorty on December 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Story is good; Editing is horrid.

This novel has a well-developed premise, interesting characters, and good pacing. The editing, however, is incredibly distracting. Missing words, duplicate words, poor grammar, and more all caused me to lose the rhythm of my reading and the flow of the prose. Would bene...
This novel has a well-developed premise, interesting characters, and good pacing. The editing, however, is incredibly distracting. Missing words, duplicate words, poor grammar, and more all caused me to lose the rhythm of my reading and the flow of the prose. Would benefit greatly from a re-edited edition.

posted by 7634637 on December 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Wow

    I got tothe middle if the book and everything changed completely. I didnt like where it was going what so ever once i gof to the middld if the book. It was unrealistic talking about a completely different world. It caught me off guard! This was a really good book untill the author out of no where bam, its like taking about a new book i didnt like it and couldnt even finish it.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Dissapointment.... huge

    I really was dissapointed by this book. I loved it until Denise made the book into a sciece fiction novel. I wish she would have kept with the romance. I honestly felt like i was reading two completely different books. Hopefully when i read the next one she will keep with the story line. I dont want to be dissapointed. I usually love any book i can get my hands on but this book was honestly one of the worst books i have read in my life. I really do wish it could have been better. I wish the author would have kept the romance through out the whole entire book or the science fiction through out the whole entire book. Not the first part all romancy, kissy goo goo then half way through, sci fi. Thats just me and i hope that when and if you read this you are not as dissapointed as i was.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Interesting plot but poor writing

    The author tries too hard to use analogies and descriptors, which fall short. Made it hard to get into the book which could have been so much better if another author had written it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Not so great

    It started off really good and intresting at the begining then towards the middle, ending the store line started to get a little stupid. I take it there's a part 2 ?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Ugh

    I wrote something like this in highschool, and my command of the english language far exceeded usages here. The ideas for this novel were great. The writing is amature.
    I've never read a book that made so many men cry so often.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    dumb

    who wants to read about a paralle universe? not me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Stupid

    I can see how this would have been a great book, the plot had great potential. However, Julia was (is) so annoying and selfish. She needs to choose! Listen, she really doesn't love Evan because he thinks she is someone different. She only 'loves' him because he seems to love her. But then there's Reece! She loves him when Evan is not around, and honestly, Reece deserves better and Evan and Julia are stupid and blind. I can't get past how pathetic they are. And (DO NOT READ THIS PART IF YOU HAVE NIT READ THE BOOK YET) all she wanted was to go back home, which she was going to do, when she decides to screw things up and stay. For another universe she has no part in. I am so sorry I bought this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Hmmmmm

    The writing had me confused a few times. Needs to be edited better. I would have to stop reading because I would read something that didn't make any sense. The book started one way and then took a turn into something totally diff that I am not really into reading. It was a little too sci-fi for my taste! I'm not sure if I will purchase the next book when it comes out or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Not so good

    Thought this would be interesting. Started out good...became trite. Not recomending

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1